We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can do better for the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shakti
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can do better for the money”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The TV didn't work, the air conditioner didn't work, so we go to call the front desk and the phone doesn't work. There was barely more than a trickle of water coming from the shower head--so it took a very long time to even somewhat cleanup from a long trek. The towels were very scratchy rags--and they smelled like gas. On the plus side, you are steps from Thamel and breakfast, albeit limited, is included.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    28
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
6
30
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

My least favourite place of the five week holiday a part from the overnight train we were on. The 500 rupee buffet breakfast was awful and overpriced, the place was really old always felt dirty. The linen was old, no shower recess, one bathroom stunk, wifi could only be accessed from the foyer. Rooms on the first floor were very noisy, up a few levels is a bit nicer - but still not great. I was very jealous of mates who had accommodation at Kathmandu guest house. Only stayed here because it was where our tour started...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbournespoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I stayed here before and after trekking to Everest Base camp, an experience in itself! had not read great reviews, but recommeded by company and meeting was here pre trip. plus other members of the group were staying here so made sense.
It is definitely in a great location for shopping, and felt safe. Rooms we stayed in were good for what we needed. Hot water was a must after the trek, and comfy beds, so we were easily pleased! didn't have problems with noise like other reviews say... rooms and bathroom were pretty clean, happy enough. Didn't eat in the restaurant, breakfast was expensive so no meals at hotel, but wanted to eat locally anyway. staff were friendly. Electricity was off during day, but again only needed to charge things, so not a big problem.
would definitely recommend for those passing through, will appreciate it post trek!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I would give it a 2 1/2 stars.
I agree with Wolferl. This is a step above a hostel but not much more. Gardens are nice. Breakfast is decent. Service is OK. Shower water is nice and hot.
A lot of electrical outages. WIFI only works within a few meters of the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian_French_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Shakti is a Hotel that is used by trekking operators. The athmosphere is: People are either busy coming or going.It is not a place,where one feels like spending any extra time to relax for example.


Biggest Disadvantage:

They don't have a back-up generator,which is really bad if you want to charge any equipment and of course inconvenient no matter what one is doing-may be with one exception-I mean sleeping.

It also means,that there is no TV and fridge operating during power outages-although you might have paid extra for those amenities!

On the plus side: The breakfast buffet is not great-but ok.

And we were allowed a late check-out at 3pm at no extra cost.

and finally

Friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolferl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder Junction, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Average hotel for Kathmandu. Customer service was excellent. Good buffet breakfast daily. Rolling power outages create challenges in knowing which light switches to use in rooms. As quiet as can be expected in this noisy city.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the top floor as you will have no water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

stayed here for 2 nights: very basic hotel with super old rooms (probably dating back to the 1960's). my room was haunted - things kept moving all over the place at night. shower was broken, paltry breakfast. omg! and it being next to a dance club, it gets extremely noisy every night. but the overall charm of Nepal really compensated for this paltry hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#92 of 193 in Kathmandu
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#31 of 193 in Kathmandu
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#32 of 193 in Kathmandu
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing