We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shakti
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of our trip through Nepal and India. It was a fine place in a good location. The rooster in the morning was annoying and like anywhere in Kathmandu, power and hot water are not consistent. The staff were friendly and most things were near by or within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
6
31
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel is fine but a bit too pricy for what they offer. Breakfast was included in the stay and included hot beverages which is a plus. Note that there is no heating or cooling in the rooms, basically whatever temperature is outside, that's the temperature. Hot water is available 24 hours a day but electricity runs in 6 hr shifts and varies everyday of the week. There is a generator that powers lights when the electricity is out but the hotel only runs it when it is dark out and the power outlets will not work during this time. You can ask them to turn the generator on in certain instances but they will only turn it on for a short period of time.

Current electricity outages in Thamel region for January 2014:
Sunday: 9:00-15:00 and 18:00-23:00
Monday: 8:00-14:00 and 18:00-23:00
Tuesday: 6:00-13:00 and 17:00-22:00
Wednesday: 5;00-11:00 and 15:00-21:00
Thursday: 4:00-10:00 and 14:00-19:00
Friday: 3:00-9:00 and 13:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-17:00 and 19:00-24:00

Remember that this is a 3rd world country and expectations on accommodations should be adjusted because of this!

Room Tip: If the electricity is on when you check in: Check all power outlets to see which ones work. Some c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Shakti at the beginning and the end of my trip. The hotel is really well located in the centre of Thamel and is easy walking distance of the main shopping area. The rooms are nice and the showers are hot. They have a back up generator which is great as it means you always have lights even during the power cuts.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, and they let me store luggage there when I went traveling around Nepal for 6 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_Woodsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed one night as our other hotel was already booked. It is quite similar to many other hotels in Thamel and for the price I think it is over-rated. Everything about the hotel I would rate average and there was nothing out of the ordinary that would make me want to come back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very good hotel. Quiet place, free wi-fi, 3 floors. Been there before and after Annapurna trekking. Location - Thamel, very convinient. Personnel is very kind. Maybe it's not the cheepest hotel, but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

to start off with I was very disappointed and saddened that I ended up with a box room due to me being a single traveller . the bed was full of bed bugs , handy I was due for a trek and sleeping bag handy . bathroom was very average , at least there was a toilet . room was more like a storage room . on ending the trek I was prepared to pay for a different hotel and had stayed in the hotel next door last year which was lovely and clean . Thankfully the manager did offer a better room over looking the garden , room was clean and hot shower .would recommend only if on a budget , most trek companies do stay here . the advantage is it is near and central to the Thamel district .

Room Tip: shouldn't be put in box room just because your a single traveller. quiet side both sides , due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesingletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel Shakti as part of a trekking package, before and after our trip to Everest region. Afterwards, we stayed a few extra days under our own steam. The rooms are plain but clean and comfy enough. The walls are thin, so it's not super quiet, but there is hot water, emergency lighting in case of power cuts, cable tv, and internet in the lobby. The staff are friendly enough, and for a few days in Kathmandu when you will probably be out and about in Thamel most of the time, it's a good option. The hotel is well placed for all of the local tourist shops and restaurants, we never ate anything but breakfast in the hotel, which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#47 of 203 in Kathmandu
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 203 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 203 in Kathmandu
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 203 in Kathmandu
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shakti 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing