We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option, hard to find”
Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shakti
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good option, hard to find”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here as a part of a tour, my rooms were clean and tidy, though the promised hot water never arrived.Saving grace was the wonderful people on the reception desk who were always willing to help day or night. Was quite hard to find - take a hotel card!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRunner168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    59
    16
    9
See reviews for
6
31
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Close to the heart of Thamel, Hotel Shakti is a decent place but not the flashiest. They have in-room phones, luggage storage, safe deposit boxes, wifi, and a restaurant. Breakfast and internet access are not complimentary, but the staff were helpful and took care of sending post cards for me.
Only stayed here because of a tour I was doing, and would prefer to stay elsewhere if I return to Kathmandu.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 196jeremyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of our trip through Nepal and India. It was a fine place in a good location. The rooster in the morning was annoying and like anywhere in Kathmandu, power and hot water are not consistent. The staff were friendly and most things were near by or within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Hotel is fine but a bit too pricy for what they offer. Breakfast was included in the stay and included hot beverages which is a plus. Note that there is no heating or cooling in the rooms, basically whatever temperature is outside, that's the temperature. Hot water is available 24 hours a day but electricity runs in 6 hr shifts and varies everyday of the week. There is a generator that powers lights when the electricity is out but the hotel only runs it when it is dark out and the power outlets will not work during this time. You can ask them to turn the generator on in certain instances but they will only turn it on for a short period of time.

Current electricity outages in Thamel region for January 2014:
Sunday: 9:00-15:00 and 18:00-23:00
Monday: 8:00-14:00 and 18:00-23:00
Tuesday: 6:00-13:00 and 17:00-22:00
Wednesday: 5;00-11:00 and 15:00-21:00
Thursday: 4:00-10:00 and 14:00-19:00
Friday: 3:00-9:00 and 13:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-17:00 and 19:00-24:00

Remember that this is a 3rd world country and expectations on accommodations should be adjusted because of this!

Room Tip: If the electricity is on when you check in: Check all power outlets to see which ones work. Some c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Shakti at the beginning and the end of my trip. The hotel is really well located in the centre of Thamel and is easy walking distance of the main shopping area. The rooms are nice and the showers are hot. They have a back up generator which is great as it means you always have lights even during the power cuts.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, and they let me store luggage there when I went traveling around Nepal for 6 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess_Woodsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A group of 4 of us stayed one night as our other hotel was already booked. It is quite similar to many other hotels in Thamel and for the price I think it is over-rated. Everything about the hotel I would rate average and there was nothing out of the ordinary that would make me want to come back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very good hotel. Quiet place, free wi-fi, 3 floors. Been there before and after Annapurna trekking. Location - Thamel, very convinient. Personnel is very kind. Maybe it's not the cheepest hotel, but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peace N Park
Hotel Peace N Park
#12 of 440 in Kathmandu
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing