We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyed stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shakti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shakti
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Arrived in Kathmandu on Thursday without any luggage (lost in transit) hotel manager was excellent in helping me to get my bag back. (Sunday night at 10pm) He rang a friend at the airport daily to find out if it had arrived and organise done of his staff to go to the airport with me to collect it. I wear contact lenses and had no solution on arrival. Manager sent one of his staff to buy some for me. Power failures were a bit of a nuisance but something that happens in Nepal and India regularly. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Restaurant food was good. Location was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wattle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    28
    56
    16
    9
See reviews for
6
30
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room was nice but quite basic but the shower was scalding. As others mention, the power cuts are frustrating and their backup generator will only power one light in the room and one in the bathroom.There is no supply to power points so we were unable to recharge batteries during outages. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good but we preferred to eat other meals out in Thamel which is close walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrior11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, Wa.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first Nepalese experience so we were not quite in 3rd-world mode yet and surprised by no electricity (it's scheduled) and water problems. We were not happy with the room we got (very late at night and fully booked) but we asked for a change and were given a much nicer room the next morning. Any time we had a problem or request, the staff was happy to take care of it if possible. We were here 5 nights and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If unhappy with anything, let the staff know. They want you to be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Located a minute away from the heart of Thamel, this hotel offers comfort at an affordable price. It may be expensive for shoe-string backpackers but if you’re looking for a little bit more comfort it’s a great choice. Although rooms do have a TV you’ll only be able to watch when the power according to Kathmandu’s load-shedding is on. It offers 24hr hot showers, as well as wi-fi and use of a computer at 50 NPR for half an hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parinaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights before out Gorepani trek and then another night after the trek. Rooms are average, but variable (best to check room first). Room 002 and 102 were nice. Matresses are fairly thin (about 3 to 4 inches) so the beds can be somewhat hard. The restaurant was nice. The wifi was a bit spotty. Like all of Nepal, there is power out periods - generally for 12 hrs/day. Hotel has a small back generator for a couple of lights in the room, but not for wall plugs. From what we gather, the larger, more expensive, hotels have bigger generators that can keep power on 24/7.

Room Tip: We liked 002 and 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoliver0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hot water but tiny bathroom, most power points worked, kitchen was good and staff very helpful. In the heart of thamel so loud but thats the trade off for prime location. Breakfast cost 500 rps. I would stay there again at the cost it was adequate.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Onesteptwostep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pokhara, Nepal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came here as part of a tour and discovered that there's no running water after 11pm until the next morning ( when muddy water comes out of the tap), the single room had a damp mouldy smell, and most of the time the wifi doesn't work. Yet this place charges a whopping $35USD for what should be $5 at similar quality places. Total rip-off!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wthdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#28 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#13 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#2 of 114 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shakti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shakti

Property: Hotel Shakti
Address: Amrit Marg, Bhagwan Bahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Shakti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing