We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Great Wall
Ranked #13 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy experience!”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have spent two nights at the hotel. I have found the experience well deserving of a good review! A taxi was waiting for me at the airport (pick up was free). The managers of the hotel are brothers and look after the guests well. Throughout my stay all of the staff were professional and friendly. There was a calm and peaceful atmosphere inside the hotel considering it was in excellent location (the heart of Thamel). The room was spacious and there was free WiFi available.

We wanted to go to Chitwan to Safari. Everything was arranged for us which included my journey there and pick up at Chitwan as well as the hotel stay. We did not have any hassle getting to Chitwan. I felt the staff went out of their way to organise this for me.

We were also given good tips of the places to visit in Kathmandu as well as what to look out for in Chitwan. We were also given local advice on the area while we stayed and useful local customs.

Down side - there isn't one... but I feel I must mention this as it can be a shock coming from Europe.. there are scheduled power cuts (however, the hotel does have a generator) and the streets are not as well lite; however it was safe, we felt safe and there were police around.. the area is alive 24 hours.

I would come back to this place again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    41
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
32
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel had a very clear bias towards foreign guests and we, as Indians, felt a little unwelcome. The rooms were decent. There was no restaurant attached to the hotel and the morning breakfast of toast and tea was atrocious. The hotel tried to cheat on little things like airport drop, breakfast inclusion etc. Location was ok as the hotel is in Thamel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vineet_bhuwania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Unfortunately, we don't remember a great deal about this place. It's down the street from where we stayed previously at Hotel Silver Home (closer to the main road in Thamel). We do remember that our room was clean, and had good lighting and a slightly better bed than at Silver Home for around the same price (around 1000 rupees a night). We had issues with the hot water the whole time we were there, and each day talked about how we'd look for a new guest house to stay in. Each day I'd also ask the nice boy at the reception if there was any hot water, and he'd reply that yes there was. Of couse there wasn't, and this became a running joke between the two of us. Can't remember about working wi-fi, but I believe that there wasn't any, or there was supposed to be and it didn't work. Can't say for sure. Overall, an unmemorable place, maybe slightly better than Hotel Silver Home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PostcardPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I and my friend stayed in ‘Hotel The Greatwall’ for 3 night and everything was great, the people running it were some of the nicest people I have ever met.
It's a good place with good people.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank roit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greatwallnepal, Manager at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear roit s,

We are glad that you enjoy your stay at our hotel and thank you for such a nice write up. Really appreciate it and looking forward welcoming you again.

Warm Regards.
Hotel The Greatwall Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

As soon as I arrived at the Kathmandu airport I found Great Wall int'l hotel airport representative and he took me to their hotel. I was really impressed on arrival after Thailand it seemed so different! Compare to Thailand. Tour/travel desk was really helpful and gave us great information for jungle safari and hiking trip to Annapurna ghoripani (poonhill) . Mahendra is really trying to build good reputation and he is doing renovations during off season. Staff has good experience and understanding with English. I would advocate this hotel especially for everythings.
Robert
MD
USA

Room Tip: Front room is recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greatwallnepal, Manager at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Robert-it,

Thanks very much for your candid comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor Page. Great to hear that you had wonderful time here at HOTEL THE GREAT WALL. I will thanks to all my staff in hotel for making your holiday wonderful & Travel tour/travel agent desk. We look forward to welcome to hotel great wall in near future.

Best Regards,
Hotel Great wall Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 439 in Kathmandu
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Great Wall

Property: Hotel The Great Wall
Address: Thamel Marg | Next to Hotel Backyard, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Great Wall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Wall is just 25 minutes away from Tribhuvan International Airport which is located centrally in Thamel. Guests can expect simple and clean room with personalized service here. There are lots of shops, eateries, entertainment hubs and malls around. 24 hours ATM lounges are few walks away from the hotel. In addition, it caters to the people around the world and assist with tours, trekking, expeditions, sight seeing and more. Hotel has more repeated guests and walk in clients everyday. Prior booking is must to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing