We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel The Great Wall
Ranked #13 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Good hotel and service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel service is good. Rooms are nice and clean.
The location is good, near the Main Street but not noise.
They also provide free storage service.

Boss is very enthusiasm and helpful on the travel planning.

We are very happy to stay here and Highly recommended you to come here if you visit Nepal with yr family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    41
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
32
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eersel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in April. Loved this place for its simple but clean and comfortable rooms: best matress (thick and soft) and hot shower (high pressure and always hot) during my stay in Nepal. Located in a quiet backstreet in the heart of thamel it is close to everything you need while quiet enough at night. Staff is extremely polite ( a bit too much in my opion) and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Rob K,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel has everything for a stay in Thamel. It is close to the centre but far removed enough to avoid the noise. It is also close to a lot of local restaurants. The rooms are big, have good quality TV's, clean and hot showers. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and helped us to have a great stay in Nepal. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the hotels trip planning service if you have a short stay in Nepal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have had a truly fantastic stay in Nepal and most of the thanks must go to Hotel Great Wall!

Not only was the hotel clean, comfortable and in a perfect location to explore and access Kathmandu but the friendly and helpful hotel staff were paramount in making our holiday an excellent one.

Dependre, the hotel owner, single handedly organised the rest of the trip for us including everything we wanted to do for an exceptional price. The package he arranged included flights to Pokhara, paragliding, sightseeing, pick ups and drop offs and hotel stay. Thanks to this we had a hassle free holiday where we could enjoy all Nepal had to offer.

I would wholeheartedly recommend The Hotel Great Wall to anybody who wants to visit Kathmandu and would advise people to take advantage of the downstairs travel office, without it out it we would not have had the same awesome experience.

Thank you Hotel Great Wall

Room Tip: Hotel is situated just off the Main Street so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Great Wall Hotel is a nice, clean and affordable hotel in central Thamel. It is not on a main road, so it's really quiet and you don't get annoyed by car horns and road mess, especially at night.
The rooms are quite large, clean, with hot water and free wifi. Fair enough.
The staff is really kind and friendly, and can satisfy every sort of request, from an extra blanket for cold nights to arranging a rafting day in 24h.
I had a great time in Nepal and I want to thank the owners of the hotel for helping me with a big problem (lost baggage) that could have ruined my whole vacation.
I definitely know where to go when I'll going back to Nepal because of course I will.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hello Andrea G,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Thank you for liking our hotel, rooms, free wifi, hot shower, staffs, location and we are thankful to you for recommending our hotel and staying in our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to Nepal earlier this year (Jan 2014) and stayed at Hotel Great Wall. I couldn't say anything bad about the management here. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Furthermore, Dipendra, the hotel owner, helped us plan our trip well. He organised all the sites that we could visit while in Kathmandu and arranged our transportation (i suggest you hire your own car rather than haggling with taxi drivers every site you visit). Also, he gives the best dollar exchange rate and you know you are not being fooled.

Room Tip: There are no fitness centre or swimming pool in this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaCM356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Maria,

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions.I have forwarded your review to all our hotel team, specially to Mr. Dipendra and they all are proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night with 15dollars which was cheaper than public rate. Considering some tiny problems of facilities, this was a fare rate. No escalator might be problem when I was tired or carrying heavy bags. Wifi was available but not working properly. The building seemed getting old.
Even though the location was good with quiet surrounding and the room was wide and clean enough. Hot shower worked well. Manager and receptionists were nice. In my conclusion, this hotel is well acceptable for those require average quality without very high costs in Kathmandu.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear W K,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really great to know that our team have rendered a great hospitality to you.We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 198 in Kathmandu
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 439 in Kathmandu
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Great Wall

Property: Hotel The Great Wall
Address: Thamel Marg | Next to Hotel Backyard, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Great Wall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Wall is just 25 minutes away from Tribhuvan International Airport which is located centrally in Thamel. Guests can expect simple and clean room with personalized service here. There are lots of shops, eateries, entertainment hubs and malls around. 24 hours ATM lounges are few walks away from the hotel. In addition, it caters to the people around the world and assist with tours, trekking, expeditions, sight seeing and more. Hotel has more repeated guests and walk in clients everyday. Prior booking is must to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing