We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hotel service ever at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Great Wall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel The Great Wall
Ranked #16 of 436 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“best hotel service ever at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for one month and we felt so blessed that we chose it. The room is neat and clean. Most importantly, the boss and the staff are very friendly and helpful. You won't need to worry about the tour arrangement inside and outside Kathmandu. Nearby you can find good food and supermarket which suit your need. Highly recommend the hotel if you gonna stay in Thamel.

Room Tip: single room maybe hotter in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Winky !

Thank you for writing such a detailed response about your stay on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team.Of course, it does not come easy. Customer Service is our focus and the guiding light in all our actions. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    39
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
32
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staff at this hotel were so kind and helpful and as a solo, female traveller it felt like a safe place to return to each night. The rooms were clean and comfortable and fairly quiet since it is a little bit back from the main road. Extremely walkable to many good locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Jessicajulia,

We are very glad to hear your review during your stay with us and thank you so much for rating us on Trip Advisor. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The great wall was perfect after two weeks of trekking. Clean, with hot powerful shower and nice beds. Great location, quiet, very nice staff. It was a good place to recover! I was given a very nice discount, and was treated really nicely by all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is very clean and this is what you need when traveling. Also the boss is very helpful and staff are friendly. I traveled with my family and they help arrange the tour and booking with good advice. I would recommend you stay here if you are in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaCcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've stayed 3 days in the hotel and it was a wonderful experience! Dipendra was like a father to us! He helped us to plan our days in the city, booking everything that we wanted to do, like a trip to Everest, a driver and one night on Nagarkot to see sunrise and sunset. He also indicated good restaurants, night clubs, and good places to buy nice stuff. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful. Sometimes you get out of energy in whole Kathmandu, but they have generators and help you to charge your things like cellphones or cameras. I strongly recommend the hotel, it was a great experience in the city. Also, a great location and not noisy, even that is near downtown. Thank you very much! Namaste!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hello Samira,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel service is good. Rooms are nice and clean.
The location is good, near the Main Street but not noise.
They also provide free storage service.

Boss is very enthusiasm and helpful on the travel planning.

We are very happy to stay here and Highly recommended you to come here if you visit Nepal with yr family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eersel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in April. Loved this place for its simple but clean and comfortable rooms: best matress (thick and soft) and hot shower (high pressure and always hot) during my stay in Nepal. Located in a quiet backstreet in the heart of thamel it is close to everything you need while quiet enough at night. Staff is extremely polite ( a bit too much in my opion) and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra Kumar M, Owner at Hotel The Great Wall, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Rob K,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your words are extremely encouraging for our team. I have forwarded your review to all those concerned and they all are so proud to hear about your review.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us & we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel The Great Wall
Kathmandu, Nepal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Great Wall

Property: Hotel The Great Wall
Address: Thamel Marg | Next to Hotel Backyard, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel The Great Wall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Great Wall is just 25 minutes away from Tribhuvan International Airport which is located centrally in Thamel. Guests can expect simple and clean room with personalized service here. There are lots of shops, eateries, entertainment hubs and malls around. 24 hours ATM lounges are few walks away from the hotel. In addition, it caters to the people around the world and assist with tours, trekking, expeditions, sight seeing and more. Hotel has more repeated guests and walk in clients everyday. Prior booking is must to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing