We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I simply love this Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Buddha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Buddha
Ranked #8 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I simply love this Hotel.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Nepal has been my favorite country for holidays for so many years. I have been to Nepal with my family, friends and on my own for many times. I love Mountains, it’s truly heaven on earth.

Buddha Hotel is the place where I stay when I am in Kathmandu. I like the location and the garden but above that I am impressed with the improvement on the quality services that the hotel provides in recent days.

Very professional, Great service, friendly Atmosphere in a reasonable price.
I simply love this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    50
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
64
70
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was my fourth trip to Kathmandu city, a city I love to visit. It is in a very ideal location for any kind of tourist. I was amongst my friends this time and simply loved my stay. The staff were very friendly and helped us through out or stay. We did not felt cheated or forced to do anything at any time (I had felt that while staying at other hotels on my previous visits) I am not very keen on local foods but the "western" food they served were really good. My friends who tried the local foods in the hotel were greatly pleased too.
I will definitely be going back to this hotel on my next visit which will be with my family. I am sure they will have similar standard of service for family visitors too.
Thanks for making our stay pleasant.
Ben McKing, Bucks, UK

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMcKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Hotel Buddha is one of the best hotel in Nepal which is locate in the center of thamel, Rooms are so nice and cheap to compare to other star hotels, Peace and nice garden, friendly and helpful staff, Nothing feel les then 5 star hotels we can feel homely stay even if you don't know about nepal, The front manager will give you enough guidence and can ask freely the question what you want . The services are so excellent never can amagine how we get those services in those prices .The price is so les then other normal hotel if you compare,Never disturb to sleeping in the rooms, Need and clean rooms, The emergency things like Doctor, Transport, officelly things to do will be in a time never have to worries, So lets try once you you will be there you never want to go other place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laxman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Wot u need if u staying in hotel, i get it from here its cheaper compare to other, friendly customer service and rooms are clean, and the restaurant is in best place Themal which is really close to shoping centre and bank which make more convenient, which is really kul.. And apart from that we can get free pick up and drop off facilities and if u plan to visit some other asian countries u don't need to bother looking for treval agent u will get it from here..
If i ever visit again i will preffer hotel buddha

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashlama27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We visited hotel in July and room was booked in advance.
Staff were very helpful and alway ready to explain the queries specially front office staff. We did not felt that we were at new place. On top of hotel services we were also provided guidences places to visit and transport without any fuss!

Thank you very much for you all and look forward to seing you soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Worst of four hotels in Kathmandu area that we stayed at. Not surprising, since we needed a room last minute when our flight to Lukla was cancelled at 5pm because it was dark. Decent rooms, but ..

Loud club next door keeps you up at night.
Weak Internet connection only works on one side of hote.

Also, when we were staying there were large groups that thought the hotel was their personal party place .. kept all doors open at night (including to their bathrooms) and morning, serving themselves Masala tea at 5am, talking an walking loudly. Hotel management acknowledged the group was loud, but did not do anything about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night a couple of weeks ago - I'm glad I wasn't there for any longer. The room I had was below standard and smelled stale but the worst thing about it was the nearby club which played very very loud hardcore dance music at from about 6pm until after midnight. It was so loud in my room that I couldn't hear my TV properly even with the volume right up. I have never stayed anywhere as noisy as this. The set breakfast offered no choice and wasn't that great. The one thing I did like about the hotel was the nice garden area where it was pleasant to sit during the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWilberforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha

Property: Hotel Buddha
Address: Chaksabari Marg-29 | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namaste and Welcome to Hotel Buddha for a pleasant stay!Lots of hotels in Thamel are vying for the hospitality business. Which hotel to choose? Which hotel goes one step ahead to make sure your accommodations are as comfortable as you expect, your food is more tasty & your holiday more pleasant in Nepal? We suggest that you need not look further! Hotel Buddha is your perfect choice. Conveniently located in the heart of Thamel,the hotel has easy access to shopping centers, banks and eating and entertainment options in restaurants and friendly pubs. It is just a 10 minute drive from the Central Bus station (Gongabu) and a 20 minute drive from Tribhuvan International Airport.Hotel Buddha is an oasis of tranquility. You can relax in the quiet garden surrounded by different plants and blossoming flowers, and enjoy a sumptuous meal of local delicacies prepared by our expert cooks. Staying in the hotel, you will long remember the genuine Nepalese hospitality from our friendly staff and the welcoming home-like ambiance. Please be sure to experience our rooftop garden as well which offers a magnificent view of the Kathmandu Valley with the panoramic Himalayas as the perfect backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Buddha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing