We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal hotel for shot stay”
Review of Hotel Northfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Northfield
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good accomodation, not high price, in room there are everything you need. Just old and not cleaned good (dust on TV and shelves). But for stay 1-3 nights in Tamel rather recommended. Staff is quit friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SvetaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Last month I with my friends had been to Kathmandu. Before planning our trip, we were a bit confused regarding where to stay. Then, while searching on the internet, I came across mytrip2nepal.com which provides hotel booking services in Nepal. Here, I found a list of hotels in Kathmandu. Then after a long search, I booked this hotel at affordable rates. The hotel room in which we stayed was spacious and well equipped with the modern amenities. During our stay in the hotel, we found the hotel staff very well behaved and cooperative. The hotel is very near to the Pashupatinath Temple, Garden of dreams, King's Palace and Taleju Temple which added an extra point to the hotel. The breakfast, meal were amazing. Summing up all, we had a nice stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very good. The management is also very good. The hotel is located in a very good location right in front of Mandela Street! The rooms are beautiful and very neat and clean. The hospitality is also good! The price is very reasonable comparing the rooms!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sanjida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April for 3 nights. Great location, standard level of accommodation in Katmandu, great service, nothing is a problem. The restaurant 'Northfield cafe' is next door and it is safe and excellent. Good value & lovely food! We came back few days after we checked out as we needed to print e- ticket and the manager helped us straight away. Lovely people! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania32poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you're looking for luxury, then its not the place for you. But if the idea is to find a nice, cozy place in the center of the city, then Hotel Northfield is definitely a good bet. Don't expect much in terms of room service, but on the other hand the small but extremely cooperative staff makes you overlook minor glitches. All those guys in and around the reception area and lobby were always willing to help out. We got a deluxe room. It was cozy, the mattresses were comfortable and bathroom, though small, had all utilities including hot shower. Wifi worked fine. Plus, if you have booked a deal including breakfast, enjoy the food at Northfield Cafe. There is, by the way, a 10% discount on all meals at Northfield Cafe as well as Cafe Forever if you're staying at Hotel Northfield. Overall, a satisfying experience. (Faisal & Zeba)

Room Tip: If you're booking for 3 persons, make sure you ask for a third bed/mattress beforehand. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in Northfield Hotel for a few days last october. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the friendly staff and the restaurant. Can be noisy in the evenings which was no problem for us but is good to know if you care :)

Our first days there were in a package and we were stupid enough not to negotiate price before we decided to stay a few more days: Result: Heavily overpriced rooms for the last 4 days. We asked the final bill and the attendant had to call the tourcompany we used to get it? What? How?

Disappointing end to a pleasant stay. But if you negotiate your price before you check in: Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hallobrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great for budget hotel:rooms small but clean, central location so can be loud but noise seems to stop around 11pm. Close to many shops and restaurants, some of which are discounted by a card the hotel gives you,

Wifi is free and of a good speed. room features fan, TV and small wardrobe. By no means an international hotel, but fine for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Everest Mount Holiday
Hotel Everest Mount Holiday
#128 of 207 in Kathmandu
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#161 of 207 in Kathmandu
20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shivam Plaza
Hotel Shivam Plaza
#177 of 207 in Kathmandu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Astoria Hotel
Royal Astoria Hotel
#165 of 207 in Kathmandu
21 reviews
1.7 mi away
Namaste Nepal Hotels and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northfield

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 1764, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £15 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Northfield 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Northfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing