We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn from Hell!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Inn

Travellers Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travellers Inn
Ranked #140 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inn from Hell!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

If you are traveling to Kathmandu during the Winter Season, DO NOT stay at this Inn!!! I visited their website and also read the reviews from Trip Advisor but apparently no one stayed at this Inn during the Winter. First of all, no of heating was available for the rooms. If you like your rooms at a chilly 62 degrees Farenheit or 17 degrees Celsius, then this is the perfect place for you. Secondly, there were only 3 outlets in my room of which only 1 worked. Not to mention that the electricity in the Thamel District gets shut off at 8:00 p.m. The staff didn't really speak or understand English. Thirdly, the noise was unbearable from the neighborhood dogs. They just wouldn't shut-up. I couldn't get any sleep at all. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0518present
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

I was actually pleasantly surprised when I found an affordable room that was clean and tidy being right in the centre of a crowded, busy city as Thamel. As it is tucked away there was no noise and I could catch up on some really good sleep, which is a task in itself in Kathmandu.
The beds were clean and comfortable and the toilet facilites were perfect.
The service was great, and the staff were always helpful which is an added bonus.
The location is perfect and I truly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel really has the prefect location, right in the heart of Thamel but off on a street with almost no traffic which means its quiet. The rooms are new, clean, and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kx_driscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

This hotel is in the best location in Kathmandu. At the end of a dead end street, it is so quiet that it is easy to forget that the center of Thamel lies a 1 minute walk away.
The rooms and facilities were kept super clean and the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hick_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Had a great stay at Travellers Inn. Actually stayed in a couple of different rooms there. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was also nice since it was on a dead end street so not as much traffic and noise. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bounmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

This hotel was clean and great to stay in. The people who work here are great. Very friendly and kind. They can help you with pretty much anything you need. The hotel is very peacefuly. Hopefully you can all experience it when you come to Nepal.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northofdhapasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Prince Plaza
Hotel Prince Plaza
#106 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Property: Travellers Inn
Address: Z street. Thamel,, Kathmandu 25580, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers inn is located at the Heart of Thamel- Hub of tourist area, Famed shopping center, major Banks, Restaurant & Bars and a Taxi stands.All the rooms at Travellers Inn are deluxe with modern amenities like satellite Television, Wi- Fi Internet, Room to Room Telephone facility, Tiled attached bathrooms with hot and cold shower round the clock, wall to wall carpeting, Most of the rooms have its own private balcony. Each of our cozy rooms are furnished attractively in individual from Single, Double & triple with en suite bathrooms for your comfort. To summarize, almost all the necessities of a Hotel rooms are available in our rooms. Everything you need is found here - trekking equipment rentals, bicycle rentals, arrangements for treks, rafting, wildlife tours and sightseeing tours. Aside from its convenience, visitors have a chance to meet Nepalese as well as people from every part of the world.From our roof top garden you can enjoy the enchanting scenery of Kathmandu valley along with scenery of the Himalayas in the Back.Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventure, - Just ask!We are sure that your stay at Travellers Inn will be an experience of a lifetime. We are proud that many guest return to us to enjoy more of our traditional hospitality in our ideal, eco friendly environmental and 24 hours service with a smile.The management and staff wish to thank you for choosing Travellers Inn and we hope you have a very comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing