We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Mitra is excellent for those who want something different in the centre of Thamel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cafe mitra bed & breakfast
Ranked #104 of 469 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The ambience is terrific and service could not be bettered. The owner Kumal will delight you with stories of people and places in Kathmandu. Take note that very friendly dogs are very much a part of the Cafe Mitra scene.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uksugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lotusmoon, Owner at Cafe mitra bed & breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2015

We are so happy that you both enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your glowing and encouraging words; they mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Café Mitra Rooms Team, and the Dogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

There were four of us, occupying three rooms for two nights, on a missionary visit to Nepal. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, the food good and reasonably priced. The owner, Kabal, could not have been more helpful, particularly when one of our group was taken ill and had to be transported to hospital at 4am.

Our only criticism is that the rooms were not serviced during our stay, which meant returning to a dirty bathroom, but other than that we could not fault it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Walking around Thamel can be a pretty intense, unnerving experience at first and I always looked forward to walking into Cafe Mitra's lovely courtyard. We really enjoyed Debendra's hospitality and resourcefulness throughout our stay. We also left our luggage with them and returning after three weeks of trekking around Nepal, we were greeted by Debendra like old friends. My only caveat is if you're an early sleeper, it gets a bit noisy on some nights because the windows face the courtyards and many enjoy al fresco dining at Cafe Mitra.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Right in the heart of Thamel, a peaceful oasis. The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The owner and staff are wonderful, and it's amazing to find this calm in Thamel. It's upper-mid-range cost for Kath, but worth every penny. The breakfast is great, the dogs are fun and they have a collection of newspapers to while away the morning with a good cup of coffee ...

Also, if you have dinner, the chili chicken wings are awesome!

If I thought I'd be back to Kathmandu frequently, I'd be tempted to keep this gem to myself ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarnaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This little abode is a precious one. . . .few rooms and great great food. Make a reservation to avoid disappointments. Cocktails are great too. Made with love and devotion. Spinach filled pancake and a great caprese salad.

Room Tip: This is in the centre of Thamel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moira-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Beautiful, clean, well-decorated rooms set in a lovely little garden just near Yak Restaurant. It's easy to miss, look for the little red circular sign with a sun on it. The food here is pricey but well worth it, as are the rooms. I have been in Nepal for 3 1/2 months now and I've been staying budget so this was a welcome treat! The owner is so great and takes wonderful care of his business and two dogs. The manager is very helpful and very sweet. Breakfast included was Delish. It's expensive for Kathmandu but I will reiterate, well worth it! I still go there for coffee just to chat with them now that I'm back to my budget hostels!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethmtY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed in cafe Mitra for 4 nights and I really enjoyed it. I had a very nice and clean room, good breakfast and the staf was very helpfull.
They even had a hot shower also when there was no power ( which is a big problem in Nepal).
The only thing is that the bed was really too hard for me, so thats the only reason why I did not return back when I came back from India, I told this honestly to the staf and they told me they would put a top matras which is soft , so probably next time also that ( small ) problem is solved.
The boys who work there are a bit slow( simple breakfast took almost 30 minutes every day to make it and I was the only guest at that time.
Location is also great, in the middle of Thamel but very quiet in night time and safe for female travellers, very important.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleida13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,237 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,271 reviews
2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#59 of 210 in Kathmandu
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe mitra bed & breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe mitra bed & breakfast

Address: 250/13 Thamel Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet landscaped garden in the middle of the vibrant madness of Thamel, Kathmandu's tourist epicentre, Cafe Mitra has confidently assumed the mantle of one of Nepal's most innovative restaurants along with 4 clean and quiet guest rooms with en suite bathrooms with plenty of hot & cold water, ample garden and terrace space. The rooms are a clever combination of colourful Asia anchored by the sophistication of Europe. The cafe, headed by the owner educated in hotel management in Switzerland, and the kitchen and its team trained by a local chef trained in London & New York. Renowned for blending the best of East with the best of West, the cafe is popular with local and foreign residents, as well as with visitors in search of a cuisine which is excitingly foreign yet not too exotic. Cafe Mitra is an unexpected oasis which the modern day discerning travellers have appreciated greatly. And we hope they will continue to do. We are only minutes away from the historical treasures of Kathmandu, such as the Kathmandu Durbar where Kumari, the Living Goddess, resides. You can walk to it via the bustling local market place known as Ason Tole. Swoyambhunath Stupa, aka Monkey Temple, is an easy 30 mins' walk away. The Garden of Dreams is just around the corner, and the Narayanhiti Palace museum, the former residence of the Kings of Nepal, is another easy 10 mins walk away. At first glance, Thamel can seem chaotic, and it is, no doubt. However, the fact that this small centre in the heart of Kathmandu has all the amenities to ensure that visitors can are never far from services they require, such as travel and trekking agencies; supermarkets just in case you forgot to bring your toothbrush, or your anti-allergy pills, or your down jacket! It is easy to get your money out from ATMs; shop for souvenirs; and send them home via air cargo. So, buy your ticket, hop into the aeroplane, and allow us to introduce you to Nepal and its unique hospitality and charms! BREAKING NEWS! We are in the midst of adding 4 more guest rooms, by January 2015, taking the total count of rooms to 8. We look forward to hosting travellers from around the World! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing