We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Backyard Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time at Backyard Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was happily surprised by this Nice Hotel located in the city center. I emailed them really late for the airport pickup and they managed to send someone. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room are clean and you feel like home. Breakfast is good. I had the budget room which is really worth the price. the bathroom is outside but you dont share it with anyone. Its really easy to walk around and there are restaurant at few meters. I needed the wifi to work and it was really fast and reliable. I totally recommend this place. I hope it helped you in your decision..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniusMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    124
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
33
131
139
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virum, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at "Backyard Hotel"! All in all the hotel is nice, clean and well kept. It is located in the very center of Thamel, but just off the main streets so you are not disturbed at all.
But the thing that sets "Backyard" apart form the rest of the hotels I've stayed at; is the service!
The people working at Backyard are by far some of the most helpful and nice people I met during my stay in Nepal. It far exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

From my first emails to Sunil, enquiring about availability and cost of accommodation, less than a week in advance, I felt welcomed.
Sunsil answered all my questions, was very prompt with his replies and very professional.
I work within the travel industry, and these qualities had reassured me I was booking with a hotel that cared for their customers. I was right.
My first time visiting Nepal, female, traveling alone, I was picked up from Kathmandu airport, then welcomed by the warm friendly and professional staff at Backyard Hotel. My first request was to find out where I could purchase a local SIM card for my phone. They didn't just give directions, which is all I had expected, Sunsil (also the breakfast chef) escorted me up streets around a block then down a side street. He spoke to the gent at NCELL and I was looked after. Sunsil also recommended places for me to dine. All this without any expectations of tipping.
Chandon, organized his driver Subas, to take me to all the highlights in and around Kathmandu. The tour in his a/c clean jeep, was well worth the money spent. Subas, was extremely informative, patient, pleasant and very professional. Chandon also organized my next 2 nights accommodation as a package deal at Chitwan.
Nothing was too much trouble. All staff including Raj could not do enough for me. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and have not experienced this hospitality by some.
My room was clean, fresh sheets, I had my own bathroom and a little balcony. Air conditioner (that I didn't use), TV and wifi. They are in the process of purchasing their own generator for the hotel. It didn't inconvenience me at all, that they didn't have one at present.
I enjoyed staying there so much the first 2 nights in Kathmandu, after traveling around Nepal, I made sure I booked my last night at Backyard Hotel prior to leaving the country.
Generally, my 'principle' is once I have visited a place/country to move on to the next one.
I can honestly say, the people I met in Nepal throughout my journey,starting with all the staff and management at Backyard Hotel, I will return. THANKYOU for making me feel safe and part of your 'family'.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LifeBeInIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Fairly central if you want to stay in Thamel/tourist area of Kathmandu. Not expensive but if you're on a budget you can do slightly better if you're determined. The owner/manager is a bit full of himself and best avoided, although he has some nice staff who speak English well and are quite helpful. Standard of cleanliness and things working is about the same as you get anywhere at this level of pricing. Fine, but don't come if you want Western standards.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are looking for a great, clean, and convenient place to stay in Thamel, your best bet is the Backyard Hotel. I needed to stay in Thamel for two weeks to get a an Indian visa extension, and the staff and service of Backyard was by far my most positive experience there. If I wanted 10 bottles of water, they brought it to my room, if I wanted to go out at 5 am to jog, they would wake up and open the door for me. Every way in which I needed to be accommodated Backyard complied with and beyond. The rooms are always clean (thanks to the amazing Didi's that work there) and there is always hot water. At only approximately 15 USD per night, I was comfortable and well taken care of the whole time. Absolutely no complaints here, Backyard is the place to stay in Thamel. And again, what makes it so great are the people that work there, from the friendly reception guys to the Didis!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I like the environment in this hotel. It is at central location in Kathmandu. People were friendly and the prices are Ok. The terrace had a very nice view. I stayed for 1 week and felt very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a great time staying at the backyard as it's name it's not in chaotic road but still in central Thamel clean room very friendly staffs great service in a budget that's what I liked totally recommended

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Issamkhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 190 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#10 of 190 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 190 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 190 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing