We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after going to Everest Base Camp. I had stayed at two hitels prior and this was by far the best. The rooms are modest but good for the price. The staff and location are excellent. Highly recommened.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    127
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
33
135
142
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed for 4 days in this hotel, and it was very good for me. Althought they need to improve a bit the accomodations, the crew was very helpful, their manager Sunil, arranged every activity for me, so i didnt have to worry. The breakfast was very good and the location was awesome. I will repeat my stay anytime.

Luis from Panama

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent a few days here recently on my first trip to Nepal. The staff were helpful friendly and arranged a day tour of temples and a short Trek for me during my stay. They recommended eating places when I asked. The rooms are big and have everything you need. Taking into account this is a budget hotel, it's hard to be critical and the breakfast served on the roof is a great way to start the day. There are 6 floors and no elevator. Not really a problem as the staff carried my bags but I think it's good to know this. Recommend this hotel based on my time there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel Backyard is an excellent choice in Katmandu. Located in the heart of Thamel near restaurants, cafes, shops and everything you need. This budget hotel is clean, comfortable and safe with super friendly and helpful staff. Mr Sunil (manager) and Mr. Durga (owner) are always around to make your stay more pleasant. They can also arrange all your travel needs in other parts of Nepal. This is the only budget hotel in the area with its own clean water supply. I have checked most of the hotels in Thamel area and this is by far the best.

هتل بک یارد یکی از بهترین انتخاب های موجود در کاتماندو است . این هتل در قلب شهر تامِل ، در نزدیکی رستوران ها ، کافه ها ، مراکز خرید و سایر اماکن مورد نیاز برای تفریح ، خرید و سرگرمی واقع شده است . این هتل با مالکیت آقای دورگار و مدیریت آقای سونیل ، مکانی آرام و راحت با فضایی دوستانه و سرویس دهی مناسب ، از قیمت های مناسبی نیز برخوردار است . همچنین این هتل می تواند تمامی سفر شما به نپال را مدیریت و برنامه ریزی کرده و در اختیار شما قرار دهد . من هتل های بسیاری را چک کردم و این هتل با فاصله ی بسیاری ، بهترین هتل آن منطقه است .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just a month ago, I was very pleased with the services provided by the Backyard Hotel. Working staff were so humble and polite. Food was really nice. Nice and clean room which make me feel like my home. I have the best time in Backyard Hotel. Nice view of the capital city from the hotel and budget room really worth the price. Thank you Backyard Hotel for the awesome service.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel last summer. The hotel is very near the main road in Kathmandu Thamel, but in a parallel street so it is quiet.
At the time of my stay there was no generator so blackouts were frequent. The structure is run down. The antenna and the wi-fi had occasional troubles. The personnel has always been very kind. I left because I found a bed bug and was terrified.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jappd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We have no idea how we can respond to this review. This is a clear example of the negative parts of TripAdvisor. We might say this review to be fake because we believe we have had no such issues in the past or, the reviewer is trying to give you a wrong information, but this way we are also creating confusions about the excellent remarks being real. So, it is the duty of TripAdviosr to investigate on this if they are really keen on providing good service to their audience and customers.

On behalf of the hotel...we would say, The review is suspicious. If the review is REAL and is from a REAL EXPERIENCE of our guest, we are shocked to know that one of our guest faced this problem in the past, and sad that, we or any of the review readers got to know this only today via this doubtful review with no contacts, AFTER A long YEAR, and the reviewer took a long time thinking to write this review or not, also visited one of our competitor hotels twice between the interval, reviewing them immediately both the time. We are not sure. If this is our competitor writing this review, they must have had a master plan. They must be a professionals. The reviewer has also posted a picture if the bathroom, but it is really clear, especially to us ,from the evidence in the picture, it to be a recent one, more than 10 months after the reviewer has mentioned to have stayed at our place.

Nepal faces maximum blackouts everyday, which has been a big problem not only for the nation but also for tourists. Being a small budget hotel, we have tried not to use generators not only to make our room prices be on budget but also to avoid the loud noise all day and night. So we have been rather using batteries since the start to provide power for lights to our rooms and keep the Wi-Fi working 24 hours, which kind if very hardly goes off. And there is always this facility to charge batteries for your electronics at the lobby. This is the other reason the review being suspicious.

Until TripAdvisor makes the decision, we are afraid to suffer from this doubtful message and so will our valued customers, THOUGH WE ASSURE YOU FROM THE HOTEL'S SIDE, YOU WILL FACE NO PROBLEM LIKE THIS. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Backyard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was happily surprised by this Nice Hotel located in the city center. I emailed them really late for the airport pickup and they managed to send someone. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room are clean and you feel like home. Breakfast is good. I had the budget room which is really worth the price. the bathroom is outside but you dont share it with anyone. Its really easy to walk around and there are restaurant at few meters. I needed the wifi to work and it was really fast and reliable. I totally recommend this place. I hope it helped you in your decision..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniusMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Osho Home
Hotel Osho Home
#7 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Property: Backyard Hotel
Address: Chibihal Street | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. This 40 roomed hotel offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. Mixed dormitory, budget, standard, deluxe and super deluxe rooms are available for booking. Just 5 km away from the TIA, a free airport pickup is provided by the hotel if requested in advance via e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing