We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Friendly hotel in the Heart of Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karma Travellers Home
Ranked #56 of 432 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable Friendly hotel in the Heart of Thamel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at Karma Hotel for nearly a month whilst in Thamel on business. The rooms are basic but comfortable. There is plentiful hot water whilst/after the power is on. The staff go above and beyond to help you out and make your stay a pleasant one, they really are fantastic. The room on the fourth floor (404 i think!) with the balcony is great in winter as the sun streams in through the windows and keeps it warm, and it is far up enough to filter out some of the chaos below on the streets of Thamel. The hotel adn staff are happy to arrange bus tickets etc for you and will kindly store your luggage if you go trekking or elsewhere. The hotel is in a great location, round the corner from the (big posh) Vaishali hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel for good value accommodation in Thamel. (Visit the little convenience cold store on the corner near the entrance for drinks and treats, the owner is a lovely guy who fed our diet coke and mars bar habit throughout our stay!)

Room Tip: Rooms with big windows are warmer in winter, go higher for less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainbowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    63
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
45
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent 1 week in Karma and it was a really enjoyable and warm welcoming place to be. We stayed in a standard double room on the top floor and the outside spaces on every floor really add to the stay as there are tables and chairs and it's generally very quiet.

The staff we're lovely, they made us feel very at home here, their customer focussed manner is great and they are always keen to chat and share stories and help where they can. We felt like we were part of the family.

There was always hot water in the evenings for showers and the facilities in the room, although basic are clean and tidy and all you need in kathmandu as you should spend most of your days exploring the city and surrounding mountain area roads.

Strong and reliable internet up to the 3rd floor, bottled water is always available at reception as the shops in kathmandu do tend to close very early so this is welcomed.

Its a great location being just on the edge of Thamel you can avoid the dayitme hustle and noise whilst still being close eneough to everything to explore on foot or by mountain bike or scooter.

Great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor is lovely, they have an extra floor you can get up onto with some fairly nice views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iankane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Karma Travelers home sits directly in the heart of Thamel. It is a lovely building with kind and gracious staff. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and have very hot water. The location gives you very easy access to many good dining establishments and shopping. It also is a great spot to stay if you want to check out the rest of Kathmandu. Each floor has wonderful balconies so you can take a moment to just relax. The prices are great and they provide all of the right amenities, clean towels, toilet paper, ect. Would recommend over and over!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blakeb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhaktapur, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My week long stay at Karma Travellers Home was a great one. The rooms are brightly lit, extremely clean and comfortable and have some of the hottest showers in the whole of Nepal. The guesthouse itself has a few really nice balconies and roof tops where you can sit and enjoy the day peacefully while still being in the center of Thamel. The staff was very helpful and kind, making us feel at home. I will stay here again if I return to Kathmandu and highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass_Aunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here with friends for several nights before and after a trek; the staff was very friendly and even acquainted us with a travel agent who was able to help us plan our trek. Rooms were clean, wifi consistent, and food was average. They provide a safe taxi to and from the airport. I would definitely stay here again when in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malloryw718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Karma, also known as Karma Travellers Home. Travelling back and forth from Kathmandu to other locations, I stayed three times at Hotel Karma, in three separate rooms. The beds were always comfortable, the shower always hot, and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

During load shedding, there is always at least one light on in the room, so the lack of constant electricity, which is part of the Kathmandu experience, is not particularly inconvenient. I enjoyed being right in the heart of Thamel, and yes, there is noise, but did you really come to the east for a western experience? Why not stay where you are surrounded by colour, light, activity and some of the friendliest people on the planet?

If you are a shopper, you're right in the midst of retail paradise, and if you're looking for the best food, you're literally around the corner from the best eateries in Kathmandu.

A big thank you to Keshab, owner of Hotel Karma, for being so accommodating during my travels, and for a warm welcome from the moment I booked with you. A special thank you to Jayanti, Kumar and Gokul for always a kind welcome and for making my stay so very comfortable. It's the folks at Hotel Karma who kept me coming back time and again.

This is my go-to location for a stay in Kathmandu. Namaste!

Room Tip: Everyone has use of the terraces, so it really doesn't matter what room you take. I enjoyed all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here twice (before and after a trek) in October so heading into the high season. I booked at short notice and they still managed to accommodate me. When we returned from our trek, the guesthouse was full and they put us in a hotel across the road which was just as comfortable.
Most staff are super friendly and chatty. Decent sized bedrooms, good shower pressure and lots of hot water. My room was on the 3rd floor with a balcony above the street so it got a bit noisy. My friend had a room without a balcony (window only) that was at the back of the guesthouse. It was quieter.
Hot sunny rooftop balcony and covered balcony's on every level - good to get some fresh air. Wifi doesn't work on the top balcony but works everywhere else (except when the power goes off like everywhere!!!)
Located on the northern side of Thamel so easy walking to shops, restaurants etc
We left some gear here that we didn't need to take trekking (valuables were put in a safe and general stuff in a locked room). All our gear was safe and returned to us.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony over the street are noisier but lighter. Rooms at the back have windows and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrysalisMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zen Bed & Breakfast
Zen Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 432 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Mountain Homestay
Blue Mountain Homestay
#6 of 432 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Travellers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Travellers Home

Property: Karma Travellers Home
Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 432 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karma Travellers Home 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karma Travellers Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing