We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - but that's about it”
Review of Summit Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summit Residency
Ranked #165 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent 12 hours in the new airport hotel of Kathmandu while waiting for our evening flight home to Manila after having returned from Bhutan in the morning. The location was great - it was just outside the main entrance gate of the airport complex. BUT - the rooms were shoddy and the service was poor. We already had a reservation but when we got there, they were offering us a room with a broken a/c. Not until we insisted to have a room with a functioning a/c did they relent and give us another room. The room was facing the afternoon sun and the curtains wouldn't cover the whole window! The water in the toilet tap smelled.All the wooden furniture - desk, clothes cabinet, tables, looked like they were bought from salvage stores.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

airport hotel of kathmandu is vary close to airport,[ absolutely walkable] with good standards, good rooms, clean and neat , active room service, girls at reception are slow but helpful, check out time is 12 oclock, but for check in they take 2 --3 hrs, i got room keys at 3. o clock, free breakfast is offered which has number of items like juice, corn flakes, tea, coffee, bread butter, omlet, fruits, salads,dry fruits, couple of veg and chicken items, but the taste is lacking, as more indian tourists come ,breakfast must include menu like batata vada, medu vada, idli, dosa, uttappa, tomato omlet, upma, sheera, batata poha like items. there are no good quality restaurants near the airport hotel, it takes arround rs. 200, one way to go to kathmandu valley for better restaurants, hotels own restaurant is clean but costly,offers chapati as a roti which is even lesser than normal size ,but costs rs.30.each., bur overall airport is reasonably good hotel by nepals standard, tob stay in reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAJESHK914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is hotel is recently opened and trying its level best to establish a name among the tourists. It is nearest tourist class airport hotel, just outside the airport gate across the road. Recently booked room no 5002 (single standard) which is a bit smaller, bathroom was of good size comparing to the room. It has no bathtub. Both the room and bathroom were clean.The room has AC, cable tv, wardrobe etc. Breakfast was included and the rate I was given was very reasonable, I wonder how the other reviewer told the hotel very expensive. Had food (also breakfast ) in the room and was good.The hotel claims a revolving restaurant at the top but I am not sure if it was opened.
Reception is simple with contemporary decor. The staff are helpful and smiley. This hotel has a lot of potentialities if some efforts are given it can be popular among the tourists (though far from Thamel).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiddenpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Unlike the other review, I found the staff at this hotel to be extremely helpful and courteous. They could not do enought to help me and as a woman travelling on her own, I very much appreciated this.The Indian food in the restaurant was very nice, tasty, well- cooked and good portions. I did not try anything but Indian food, but in my experience most Nepalese restaurants do not do European food very well. The airport is only 5 minutes walk away or a taxi is very cheap and will get you there in a minute. It was very convenient as I had to get an early morning flight. It is also cheap to get to the centre of Kathmandu from the hotel. The rooms are basic but mine was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel is new and the rates are high compared to other hotels with similar facilities. They have single rooms located at each corner of the building which are odd shaped. Bathrooms fitting are already falling apart and you will be lucky if there are two cakes of bothing soap. This is not a clean Hotel.

At the reception, do not expect much help nor expect any help with you bagage. The ladies at the reception are very cold.

The worst breakfast in Katmandu is offered in this hotel and I would recommend that you skip it even if it comes free of charge

This hotel has been built with the Indian pilgrims in mind who come to Katmandu to worship the near by Shrine. So I guess it is OK for them to spend a night.

But by no means this is an Airport Hotel for busy traveller.

But the good thing is by being there you could access the airport by walking when the roads at Katmandu become frequently closed due to political demonstrations. So you will not miss your flight because of political distrurbances

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaluarachchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mulote87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RTKFrouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bagmati
Hotel Bagmati
#167 of 209 in Kathmandu
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Temple Inn
Hotel Temple Inn
#69 of 209 in Kathmandu
56 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Palace
Hotel Maharaja Palace
#123 of 209 in Kathmandu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shivam Plaza
Hotel Shivam Plaza
#175 of 209 in Kathmandu
3 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Boudha Inn
The Boudha Inn
#58 of 209 in Kathmandu
61 reviews
1.5 mi away
OYO 102 Alliance Hotel - Pashupatinath Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Residency

Address: Opposite Airport Golden Gate, Sinamangal, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal (Formerly Airport Hotel Kathmandu)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £25 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summit Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location, directly across the Ring Road from the main entrance to Tribhuvan International Airport in Kathmandu, offers the ease of transition from travel to rest. Instantly recognizable due to the ultra-modern dome and overall design, the hotel is in close proximity to several spiritual and recreational sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing