We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Great location, great staff, great place””
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Great location, great staff, great place””
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in October month , it was so busy time although i have got Nice care and provided good service . I stayed here 3 Night, Feel like my second home because of warm welcoming and friendly staff, The hotel is located in central of thamel where you can go shopping and restaurant, i got nice facilities as they Picked up free from airport to Hotel, Free wi-fi , really clean and comfortable Room , It has peaceful environment and great rooftop garden with panoramic mountain view over all it is Good Hotel i will definitely stay here in future and highly recommended other travelers too..... Thank you for my wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosse1598733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    140
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
124
152
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Lots of very hot water. Flush toilets which work. Nice sunny roof-top restaurant. Clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Big screen TV in the lobby. Small TVs in the rooms. Free internet [when the power is working!]. Quiet side-alley.
What more can you ask for?
Sam
Canada

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, as the elevator does not run when the city power is off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remscheid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel two times, when arriving in Kathmandu and after the trekking before leaving. We booked the standard room through booking com. Very good service was included pick up at the airport, right in time and friendly welcome. Storage of luggage was no problem and safe. The rooms are clean and in 6th floor you have more daylight. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel is a quiet place in south Thamel not far to walk to Durbar Square. Sun and very good view from roof top restaurant, good simple breakfast included.
S & S

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel several times during our stay in Nepal, in between treks and flights in/out. We booked through booking.com and got the deluxe room for USD$38 (dingy and on the 2nd floor) The second time we got the basic room for USD$29 and found it far superior - on the 6th floor with plenty of natural light, a double bed (rarity in Nepal) and almost no difference in room size!
Contrary to other reviews here, we found the staff to be unhelpful and incompetent. On several occasions they 'forgot' requests and often would be more interested in chatting to each other/playing on their laptops than responding to guests.
As previously mentioned the side street to the hotel is a bit dodgy so bring a torch - blackouts are very common.
Otherwise we found this hotel to be basic and satisfactory, the showers are always hot, there are lots of channels on TV (including English ones) - when there are no power outages of course!!

Room Tip: 6th floor as there is more natural light and is quieter than street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had 4 night in this hotel with my family we booked family suite room it is really good room with interconnected , always hotshower nice bath tub we paid 5300Rs including breakfast i can say it good bali to compare room and service with facilities .Nice Rooftop garden restaurent good breakfast, friendly staff and family environment. So verall we are very happy we will atau here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Agree with dingey alleyway to hotel but this is Kathmandu! Great to be picked up- 3 of us with rucksacks into their van- great service. Friendly staff- as anticipated had over booked the rooms[ Apparently many guests dont turn up or miss their flights so most KTM hotels over book ]. Offered 3 beds in connected rooms wih thoroughfare to bathroom which didnt suit us but they kindly found another room in a local hotel[ not a great room ] for 1 of us.
Staff very helpful though. Booking thro booking.com probably ensured they had to find us something !
Large room 6th floor so views over KTM. other rooms below the 6th floor tend to be dull- avoid an inside room with no external windows except to corridor. Breakfast on rooftop- lovely, coffee, omelette, juice and toast.. Free Wifi and computers in entrance. Would stay again but ask for 6th floor with outside window.

Room Tip: 6th floor, outside window, airport pickup. earplugs if early kitchen noise on 7th floor annoys you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank possmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were a bit taken aback when we got to the hotel. We knew it was a relatively basic and cheap place, but still, we were expecting it to be slightly nicer / more charming after having seen the hotel pictures and having read the reviews. I also had to write and call the hotel several times before arriving in order to confirm that they had our flight details - again, I understand it was high season, but since people keep commenting on the excellent customer service, I was a bit surprised. All in all, the stay was good, we slept well, the room was a bit depressing but clean, and the rooftop terrace was very nice. Please note though that this hotel overbooks customers on a regular basis. when we got there, the receptionist told us that everyday they had over a dozen over-bookings, and were diverting people to their "sister hotel", which from what I understand from others' reviews is not as nice. I understand that overbooking can accidentally happen from time to time, but I think it is dishonest to be doing this as company policy on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Higher floors, corner rooms (more light)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EF82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 193 in Kathmandu
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#116 of 193 in Kathmandu
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 193 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing