We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the heart of Thamel a very quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“In the heart of Thamel a very quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

In a side alley, but right in the centre of Thamel, this hotel has an excellent location. The reception staff was very nice, and although we arrived rather early, they made our room available to us before check-in time. They have an elevator, as the hotel is some 7 floors high. Breakfast is on the roof, with a nice view if it is clear. The choice of food was good.
We had a deluxe room, with a/c. It was a bit funny to see that we didn't have an outside window, but rather a window opening to a big corridor, which goes up till the roof. Basicly all the rooms open to this corridor, it looks like a patio with many floors. The bathroom had an open 'window' without glass to close it.
For our short stay this all was adequate, but I don't know how peopl feel when it gets cold.
The hotel provides a free airport pick-up, very convenient. The price was reasonable. and for that I'd recommend this hotel. Don't expect much luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    140
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
124
152
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Hotel has very good location. It's clean and peacefull with big rooms. Hotel has also that pick up -service from airport, which is good thing. Wi-fi is very good. Breakfast is very good in this hotel. Staff was very helpfull and friendly. Kamal organized very good and workable different tours in Nepal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hando76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed in Nepalaya twice on my visit to Nepal. First time I have deluxe room and second stay standard room. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast which was included in price was great and you can choose from a lot of different items catering for westerners and also Nepalese.
I best think about this hotel is the staff and owner. Always have smile on their faces and happy to help with any requests. I would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our family of six have spent three nights on the sixth floor in a great room overlooking the city. Clean and very spacious has been perfect. The staff have been always helpful and we have had several meals and breakfast in the restaurant - tasty and good service.

Room Tip: Higher levels have lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

After a terrible experiences at some of the hotels in Kathmandu , I was desperately looking for something better. I found Hotel Nepalaya very good. The employee were very helpful and professional. The room that I stayed with my family was very clean and beautiful (exactly what they have in the pictures). The breakfast buffet was fresh and very good. The front desk agents were very helpful. It is a bit difficult to find this place but the location is great. I would recommend this place to everybody .

Room Tip: The rooms on the 6th floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Nepalaya was a pleasant surprise in Kathmandu. It's not a fancy place. It's comfortable and friendly. In my opinion, the location is perfect. The roof top restaurant , 7th Floor , is a great place to relax, enjoy the view and have a nice meal. Whatever you need, just ask the helpful staff. They will go out of their way to make you happy.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear adequate to me. There's hot water and decent wifi throughout the hotel. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Nepalaya is simple & clean. It is located in thamel, very strategic for shopping! Room is clean, friendly staff & like the roof top restaurant the most with super view of kathmandu city! Love this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feifei80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#1 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#115 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing