We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax before/after a trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax before/after a trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found Hotel Nepalaya on Booking.com and gave it a shot based on favorable reviews. I'm glad I did! The airport pickup was right on time and easy to locate. The staff is very courteous. The included breakfast is delicious, and the rooftop restaurant is a nice place to hang out, especially in the clear, cool mornings. Our room and bathroom were both clean and comfortable. The WiFi was adequate for Skype voice calls and never cut out (it's backed up with battery during typical Kathmandu power cuts). It's not the very cheapest place in Thamel but I feel like we had a good value for the money.

We ended up checking in and out of the hotel 4 times due to our flight to Lukla getting cancelled. They were more than happy to accommodate us and held on to our belongings securely in the time we were gone. They also helped us navigate our options for getting to the airport under the threat of a transportation strike.

The location is a bit out of the center of Thamel, but I actually appreciated being tucked away from the noise and stink of the center of town. It's just a quick 5 minute walk to the main tourist restaurants, "supermarket," etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbrelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    140
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
124
152
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is central located hotel in thamel we stayed here several time it has provided us fully money valued service, good location free wifi all room good breakfast most beautiful things is rooftop garden resturant becsuse of we enjoyed best valley view with langtang himalayan region overall good hotel for domestic and international standard tourist we will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiip_sth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel purely because of the good reviews I read from here. But apart from the location and the rooftop restaurant/bar I will never stay here again nor recommend it to my friends. My experience at this hotel was uncomfortable and there were times I felt unsafe. I was travelling alone and on my first night I was touted to buy a tour/trek from them while I was having dinner at the rooftop. It was the manager and he was being rather pushy about it. The following morning at breakfast I was approached again but this time by his brother. This went on for days until I finally ran out of time and caved in. I bought a short trekking trip from them and the manager ripped me off hard. Lesson learnt. But if you are a female and travelling alone, beware. There are a few of them working together. They'd even watch and comment on your activities on the internet and Facebook. As for the room I found it outdated, damp and I even had a stained linen! And the walls are thin. On the second night I didn't sleep well because of noisy neighbours coming home drunk banging doors and talking loudly. Although my review is not a nice one, some of the staff are nice and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank L0stInWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a pleasant stay at this hotel! I booked on the reference of my friend for two nights in this hotel which is located on central tourist hub of Thamel. The room was clean and comfortable and the best part of this hotel was buffet breakfasts with over 20 items at roof top.

I especially enjoyed the whole Kathmandu valley view from the roof top with beer. I found the impressive hospitality from all staff and boss of the hotel. They give me entire feelings of home. I felt like my home during my stay. Only one thing I regret that I didn't had enough nights to enjoy in Kathmandu.

Client caring style, friendly respectful beehive and smiling staff are the main worth of this hotel. There is no any complain from pick up to drop services. I highly recommend this place to any one visiting Kathmandu. I bet, you will have comfortable, peaceful stay and memorable time.

Good luck!

Room Tip: Choose above rooms of 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RabindraKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

the manager / tour organizer is quite pushy and will make u review the hotel in front of him before you check out!

overall the hotel is quite nice - clean, hot water showers, air conditioning (electricity is always cutting out but that's everywhere in Nepal), staff are friendly and helpful. There was construction in the lobby when i was there but that must be complete by now.

Great sunsets from the rooftop bar.

The place is a bit hard to find but once found, is in quite a convenient location - away from the hustle and bustle but right in the heart of Thamel and the shopping streets

Room Tip: the two rooms we stayed in - regular and suite - both smelled quite damp but were there just after t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My son and I stayed in Hotel Nepalaya for three nights, it was really nice not only because of the really great rooftop restaurant but also because the staff was nice and very helpful! We lost our photo camera in one of the thousands taxis in Kathmandu, we got it back with their help! The rooms are clean and it is very good placed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaV2924JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We ended up at the Hotel Nepalaya by accident. While on my way to Kathmandu I found out that the hotel I was booked at had overbooked and I no longer had a room. We were advised to try to find accommodations at the Nepalaya. The staff at the Nepalaya were so helpful. They found rooms for us and even contacted our tour company to tell them where we were. We had a hot shower, western toilets, and comfortable beds. Breakfast at the rooftop restaurant was a perfect way to start our day. We were able to store luggage there while leaving for a trek. I wound definitely choose the Nepalaya again if/when I return to Kathmandu.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#21 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#60 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#116 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing