We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Nepalaya
Ranked #47 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

-The staff are good. Very Helpful.(Kumar & Ramesh in particular)
-The rooftop restaurant is good. Nice view.

-Power cuts are annoying and stop the elevators sometimes.
-Thamel is a conjusted location. Small roads and lots of traffic.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avinashpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    137
    45
    19
    17
See reviews for
56
123
147
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

A comfortable stay. definitely get the air con option!

The deluxe rooms aren't exactly 'UK deluxe' but still nice and very much worth the £14 a night we paid. A bargain!

The customer service was excellent. I lost my purse when I was leaving, a quick phone to them and they'd found it and kept it safe for me to collect on my return to Kathmandu.

The food was nice and the views from the rooftop restaurant were amazing! A good choice for when you first arrive.

I'd recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: If you've booked a room the mountain views just double check that's what you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friend and I stayed in Hotel Nepalaya before and after our trekking experience and had a great time! The staff was courteous, and the rooms were clean and include comfortable beds, hot showers, and free wifi. The wifi was not super fast, but no wifi is super fast in Nepal - overall it was good enough to use skype. We enjoyed sitting in the rooftop restaurant, especially for the complimentary breakfast that is included in the meal. The breakfast includes eggs, toast, tea/coffee, porridge or yogurt, and fruit (all of which are safe for tourist tummies). I am gluten intolerant, and they were even willing to switch out my toast for more yogurt!

The location of this hotel is great - they are right off one of the main roads in Thamel, but in the middle of everything so you can have some peace and quiet. Guests can easily walk to shops, a supermarket, restaurants, and travel companies, or find a taxi to see other Kathmandu attractions. Hotel Nepalaya has a travel desk, although I will say it was more expensive than the other options we found in Thamel. The staff was very professional at the front desk - our flight to start our trek was cancelled multiple times, however the staff worked with us to save a room and hold our extra belongings in their store room while we were gone.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place and would certainly stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank blackbeltsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Family friendly hotel nice room clean good room rooftop garden restaurant free wi fi delicious breakfast overall good hotel with good location we arrange adventure tour here with good price got traditional fare well departure hope to see stay at this hotel Again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found Hotel Nepalaya on Booking.com and gave it a shot based on favorable reviews. I'm glad I did! The airport pickup was right on time and easy to locate. The staff is very courteous. The included breakfast is delicious, and the rooftop restaurant is a nice place to hang out, especially in the clear, cool mornings. Our room and bathroom were both clean and comfortable. The WiFi was adequate for Skype voice calls and never cut out (it's backed up with battery during typical Kathmandu power cuts). It's not the very cheapest place in Thamel but I feel like we had a good value for the money.

We ended up checking in and out of the hotel 4 times due to our flight to Lukla getting cancelled. They were more than happy to accommodate us and held on to our belongings securely in the time we were gone. They also helped us navigate our options for getting to the airport under the threat of a transportation strike.

The location is a bit out of the center of Thamel, but I actually appreciated being tucked away from the noise and stink of the center of town. It's just a quick 5 minute walk to the main tourist restaurants, "supermarket," etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbrelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is central located hotel in thamel we stayed here several time it has provided us fully money valued service, good location free wifi all room good breakfast most beautiful things is rooftop garden resturant becsuse of we enjoyed best valley view with langtang himalayan region overall good hotel for domestic and international standard tourist we will stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiip_sth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel purely because of the good reviews I read from here. But apart from the location and the rooftop restaurant/bar I will never stay here again nor recommend it to my friends. My experience at this hotel was uncomfortable and there were times I felt unsafe. I was travelling alone and on my first night I was touted to buy a tour/trek from them while I was having dinner at the rooftop. It was the manager and he was being rather pushy about it. The following morning at breakfast I was approached again but this time by his brother. This went on for days until I finally ran out of time and caved in. I bought a short trekking trip from them and the manager ripped me off hard. Lesson learnt. But if you are a female and travelling alone, beware. There are a few of them working together. They'd even watch and comment on your activities on the internet and Facebook. As for the room I found it outdated, damp and I even had a stained linen! And the walls are thin. On the second night I didn't sleep well because of noisy neighbours coming home drunk banging doors and talking loudly. Although my review is not a nice one, some of the staff are nice and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank L0stInWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#20 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tayoma
Hotel Tayoma
#112 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#43 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Property: Hotel Nepalaya
Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu 21292, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing