We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, good place to meet new people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, good place to meet new people”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice location next to monkey temple. Staff is very helpfull with organizing your trek after your stay in Kathmandu. Honest people, good food, nice place to meet other trekkers and team up for a trek. Quiet neighbourhood, however quite close to Thamel and other places of interest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    34
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
21
98
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is located 7 km away from Tribhuvan International Airport and just 1 km from Swayambhunath Temple, The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel features cozy rooms and free Wi-Fi in public areas.

It is 4 km away from Gangapur Bus Stand and just 200-metres from Buddha Park. Pashupatinath Temple is just 6 km away.
Which is not a matter when you travell.

The hotel has luggage storage facilities. You can seek travel related assistance at the tour desk. Parking is available.

Chillout Café serves local, regional and continental dishes. Room service options are available as well.

Rooms have attached bathrooms with shower facilities. Nice...

Room Tip: Be early in the seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 794hotels794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My friends and I got transferred to the Sparkling Turtle due to over-bookings at the hostel we had reserved in Thamel. Apart from the inconvenience of the move (squeezed 6 people into a small car and drove 20 minutes away from the area we had wanted to stay in), the Sparkling Turtle was pretty substandard.

After some confusion as to where we would stay (frustrating, but understandable given the peak tourist season/bad weather that had canceled many flights), we were put in a room that had obviously not been cleaned since the last visitors. The mattresses were on top of wicker constructions that passed for bed frames, but everything seemed dirty. We had access to a bathroom on the hall, but the sink was full of vomit. When I pointed this out to the manager, I was told that someone had been drunk the night before. It was only after I pointed out this was 24 hours earlier that someone cleaned it up. At one point a stray dog from the neighborhood walked in and pooped on the floor near our bedroom door. It was still there when we left the next morning.

There are very few restaurants near the hostel, so we had to eat there. Most items were unavailable, though the few things were were able to order were quite good. They have beer a plenty. They also have a book pile and many lodgers socialized in the dining/lounge area. They are located near the Monkey Temple which was a fun site to see. The employees were pleasant overall.

Looking at the other reviews, I'm not sure why my group had such a different experience. It was peak tourist season, and the end of a Nepali festival which might explain them being short-handed, but some of the cleanliness issues were very disconcerting.

It was cheap, but you can find much better lodging for just a few more rupees a night. I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatOre12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a fantastic stay here, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with everything. Although the hostel is not located in the central tourist area it is in a quieter residential area that's great for visiting the monkey temple and buddha park and it's nice to be away from the noise and chaos of thamel (although its still only a 30 minute walk away). A great social place to meet other backpackers, ideal for people travelling alone! The hostel is also brilliant value for money, I would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The place is everything you need. Good location out of the busy Thamel with good clean rooms, a great communial area and kitchen. The staff are extremely friendly and you can book all your treks, flights etc with them for a good price. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbeardy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathhmanndu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hostel was very good.
I came to Nepal for making a trekking towards the Mount Everest base camp. I didn’t was prepared to arrive in a city which is this busy and hectic. This hostel was a great base to escape from the for me way too busy Thamel.
The personnel gave me a warm welcome and was friendly during all days I’ve stayed here. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food which was served was good as well.

Unless I didn’t like Kathmandu that much, it was a great choice to pick this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly; was greeted with a Buff Burger and a Nepal Ice Beer when I arrived late at night; clean rooms with cleaning every day; Raj is a very friendly host, organized Everest flight and rafting tour for me; a bit hard to find at first; next to Monkey Temple; otherwise everything was really great;

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FRQNTTRVLRFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
3.5 mi away
Dormitory Nepal
Dormitory Nepal
#7 of 134 in Kathmandu
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostel Fireflies
Hostel Fireflies
#9 of 134 in Kathmandu
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Famous House Kathmandu Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elbrus Home
Elbrus Home
#4 of 134 in Kathmandu
356 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andes House
Andes House
#2 of 134 in Kathmandu
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Happily Ever After Hostel
The Happily Ever After Hostel
#14 of 134 in Kathmandu
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel

Property: The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel
Address: Swoyambhu -15 | Buddha Park, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sparkling Turtle Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing