We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful option, walking distance to Thamel but still quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kathmandu Garden House
Ranked #42 of 455 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I've stayed here multiple times. Paknajol is a good option if you want to be close to central area/Thamel but away from the madness! Garden House have a nice garden and rooftop for some quiet downtime and it's away from the street noise and chaos of Thamel.

The staff are great - relaxed, friendly and helpful with booking flights, changing money, getting around etc. They are very honest and straight - for example they were very up front and will tell you it's cheaper for you to get your laundry done elsewhere!

The rooms are clean and cheap and the overall room standard is just ok. i.e expect clean rooms and bathrooms but it could probably use a new paint job kind of thing! Actually over the time I have stayed there (I come to Kathmandu twice a year for 2-3 years) it has got cleaner I think. They won't clean your room every day unless you ask.

The curd, muesli, fruit breakfast is good! But food wise I'd tend to eat out for lunch dinner unless I was very comfortable reading in the garden. You'll probably find cheaper "local" restaurants but generally food prices are ok and cheaper than tourist orientated restaurants though with less selection.

So in summary if you are on a budget and looking for something near Thamel that is well priced, this is a good pick.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms will have less shower pressure.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilc168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Kathmandu Garden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights off-season. We got a very good room rate and the staff kindly helped us book many of the taxis and bus tickets we needed. We ate the food and found it very delicious, particularly the pancakes and thai red curry. Rooms are clean and have bathrooms and a fan, everything you need to rest your legs and head after exploring Kathmandu and the surrounding valley. Highly recommended for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed for a few days here..I highly recommend to eat outside of this place for starters the food is not good,and it is well overpriced compared to what restaurants charge elsewhere in thamel.
I found the men there have a huge attitude problem, the mosquitoes are bad at nite.
The rooms are a decent size, but cleanliness sub par..WIFI was very bad-to non existent at all..
Garden is nice-thats about the best thing but what good is it if one cant enjoy a nice breakfast or lunch out there?? yet another guesthouse that lacks initiative to improve its standard.

Room Tip: probably the second or 3rd floor best, bottom would be bit noisier.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tjgnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hotel is well situated and fairly quite and the garden and rooftop are nice places to relax. Staff was friendly enough. The sheets and blankets could definitely stand to be replaced as they were grungy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel did not quite match Lonely Planet's description and was therefore a bit of a disappointment. Staff was friendly but the rooms were a bit scruffy, although we didn't take the cheapest. The bathroom was dirty, its door didn't shut, the tapwater was brownish and the shower gave almost no water. The bed was of extremely poor quality: the mattress was very thin and shaped like a hammock, so impossible to sleep in with two persons. Also, there was a lot of noise coming in from a freeway close by. The ambiance downstairs was nice but the food served was not.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Br0cc0li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place met both needs just fine. We in fact moved to this hotel and it was a huge step up for us. It was clean. The bathroom wasn't the most modern, but it was clean enough. The bed was comfortable. The staff was nice. There wasn't AC or a fan, and it could be a bit stuffy, especially at night. We never really had hot water, but I'm not sure if it was advertised...as I said, this was still better than the last place.

The location is a bit out of Thamel, but it is good...just a few minute walk into the main area. The area of Thamel can be overly touristy and annoying. There is a great garden with lots of tables to use. There is also a dining area with plenty of tables for just hanging out at.

The wifi was not working over half the time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The place was quiet, as is is set a bit apart from the action. Still very close to the heart of Thamel. But rooms very pretty dirty, not really cleaned when we arrived. Bathroom was rotten. Price agreed upfront was suddenly increased. Not at all what we expected when reading the description in LP. Staff was desinterested and not helpful. We think, this is a place to be avoided and moved after returning from our treck to a much better place next door.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 207 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Mountain Homestay
Blue Mountain Homestay
#6 of 455 in Kathmandu
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Garden House
Kathmandu Garden House
#29 of 151 in Kathmandu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirvana Peace Home
Nirvana Peace Home
#66 of 455 in Kathmandu
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karma Travellers Home
Karma Travellers Home
#47 of 455 in Kathmandu
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Garden House

Address: Northern Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 455 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £10 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kathmandu Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing