We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice n cheap hotel in Thamel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Discovery Inn
Ranked #118 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice n cheap hotel in Thamel”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel discovery inn is located in the heart of the beautiful city of Kathmandu .it lies withen 20 minutes drive from the airport .hotel is very nice .they provide me comfortable accommodation ,but also friendly service and cheap room for me .
Thanks you Discovery family

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    25
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
32
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

When I was looking hotel in Kathmandu, encounterly I find this hotel . I very impressed good behaviours of the hotel staff and chillout with the local people in yards .all people whom I meet in the sunny garden infrond of the hotel they were quit friendly and open minded.we share tea, coffee with interesting conversation such as culture, politics about Nepal.
Nice n clean clean room, fast room service, lovely hot shower, free wi- fi are quite significant .I like to recommendation staying there .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhan33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siofok, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I booked 2 night hotel in Kathmandu Nepal at Hotel discovery inn. I had great time there with helpful and hospitality staff. They provide free information about Nepal tours, cultural places of Kathmandu and other places.Bhim was very funny and pleasing person who have very tolerance and helpful nature and very informative knowledge. Finally we booked chitwan, pokhara tours from the travel desk of the hotel very reasonable prices. Even cold season we feel warm by their service , specially they provide the hot water in the room. Thanks very much and see you again in our next trip in Nepal.
Namaste!!

Room Tip: Best and quiet location in heart of the Thamel city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel has certainly seen it's better days as it is in need of renovation - bath pipes, dirty carpet, etc. However, they are helpful and the outside garden area with small cafe is a great place to unwind and get away from the hustle & bustle of Thamel. The garden area is well worth the stay. They have free WiFi, and if needed, a computer you are welcome to use. Prices are negotiable if you are staying awhile. No screens, so the mosquitoes are hell at night! Good thing there are ceiling fans.

Room Tip: I always like the corner rooms as there are windows on 2 sides and it was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udailady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

this is the 3rd time i stay at discovery. I came here through the recommendations of some friends who stayed here before. The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet court away from the busy and noisy streets, quite a plus. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite big w/ hot water. There's free wifi. Other plus, there a nice garden to chill and have breakfast/lunch. Next time i come to Kathmandu i'll definitely come back here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank bashanti_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I found this by accident . The rooms on the front have sunshine all day which makes them feel warm even at night . The staff were always friendly and helpful. The hot water ran despite the government 12 hours a day power cuts I stayed here 3 weeks after trekking and thought the price was very good compared with many other places . I have visited Nepal many times and will certainly stay here next time .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

i was stay at discovery inn 1 week on july 5- 12.In that time i found their hotel staffs are friendly.every time i get hot water.Free internate,local phone call,wi-fi. some people was write fulse about hotel but what they write i never found .all staff are helpful .hotel manager also give good suggestion n help every thing .hotel is very quite for good sleep. so every people who will go Nepal you try this hotel one chance.
noure

Room Tip: nice hotel .quite area,cleanliness room,free wi-fi and internate,good friendly staffs.if u will go N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#81 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Friendly Home
Kathmandu Friendly Home
#99 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#50 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#89 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Mantra Home
Kathmandu Mantra Home
#100 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Discovery Inn

Property: Hotel Discovery Inn
Address: Thamel | Chibhal , Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Discovery Inn is a nice hotel in Thamel for stay. It is conveniently located at Thamel, which is the main tourist attraction center of Kathmandu. We are here to provide you the best accommodations when you come to visit Hotel Discovery Inn and its scenic natural beauty. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Our services include in room wireless high speed internet, cable color TV with remote control, car or bike parking area, to name a few. Please come to stay in our excellent rooms. Your choice is simple - just try out our hotel and we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are here to make your stay as convenient as it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing