We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Discovery Inn
Ranked #117 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Good place to stay, Good location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed there several days on 3 trips back into Katamandu. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. The location is a little difficult to find but it is worth the effort. Because of its location the place is very quiet. The garden out front and the large tree is very nice. It was spring and a little cool. The front side rooms have big windows and face to the south. It warmed the room wonderfully. I'll be back next spring. Wifi works great all day and nite, even though the city has major electrical blackout.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    25
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
33
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I been there and stayed 3 wonderful nights. Feel like my own family home there. located wonderful peaceful places even crowded touristic city. i like there as a view of the simply is the best. visible garden restaurent from the window very beautiful and enjoy. Staff of the hotel were quite understanding and ready for their duty. Nothing to say more than that, i feel happiness. see you

Room Tip: room no304
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

i was in hotel discovery inn on june 2.and stay ist 1 night .Then.i was go pokhara .When.finished pokhara again come back kathmandu and stay in this hotel.
Everything is best for me in Discovery inn.They have small.garden with some trees.Cold and hot shower in the room.They have cable tv who was intrested for up comming world cup.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed Hotel Discovery Inn on may 2014 just for 2nights.I m from China . Discovery Inn is niceso hotel.I stayed with my girl friend in room no 303 .we take hot shower there .if no electricity hot shower is came by solar. Fast wi fi but free.Hotel give
us always hot drinking water .we stayed just 2 nights but we have satisfied .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LingAn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On may 27 i was in kathmandu in first time.Then.i went thamel looking arround .Some Nepali guide took me Hotel discovery Inn.I like very much the hotel because it is cheap for me.But i feel they behavied me like a family member.i m very impressed with them.
Otherside,hotel is my perfect choice i am seeking for a better and peaceful accommodation in this beautiful Thamel area.i meet all my needs that i want to make my journey precious and provide me the excellent services at the besr of thems capacity.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BenMa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hey Discovery Inn family !
How are you all ?
I stayed 3 nights in there.I like there every thing .location is centre of thamel .peaceful environment .Nice garden and restaurent .staff all are very very honest and helpful .if you need something just provide soon likewise nearly 5 minites.They provide me hot drinking water .they have free wi fi in room . Hotel is very resonable price.I take hot shower all the time .so i think this hotel is really excellent .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jame10E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East China, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hey! My English is not so good. I want to write some words about this hotel. How I start to write review.some people wrote good about discovery and some people wrote bad.
Bit I stay 3 nights this hotel I couldn't found any problem. I like this place to stay because they provide hot water for shower. I drinks always hot water so they give me any time hot drinking water. I use the hotel kitchen for cook my noodles.I fell my home. I use WiFi in room. Price of room is very cheap. So when I go China Irrecommend all my friends if they go to Kathmandu go and stay Discovery inn.
ZHU xiao

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zhau939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#48 of 202 in Kathmandu
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#137 of 202 in Kathmandu
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#85 of 202 in Kathmandu
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#70 of 202 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#100 of 202 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Discovery Inn

Property: Hotel Discovery Inn
Address: Thamel | Chibhal , Kathmandu, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Discovery Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Discovery Inn is a nice hotel in Thamel for stay. It is conveniently located at Thamel, which is the main tourist attraction center of Kathmandu. We are here to provide you the best accommodations when you come to visit Hotel Discovery Inn and its scenic natural beauty. We provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Our services include in room wireless high speed internet, cable color TV with remote control, car or bike parking area, to name a few. Please come to stay in our excellent rooms. Your choice is simple - just try out our hotel and we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We are here to make your stay as convenient as it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing