We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the town. ..”
Review of Festoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Festoon Hotel
Ranked #50 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the town. ..”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in the Festoon Hotel twice while we were in Nepal, first we stayed 6 night here and then again we stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our trip. Festoon hotel stay was reallybperfect to explore Kathmandu, in a great location on the edge of Thamel ,The staff are amazing and very friendly ( babu and gokul, Rh to name a few) A special mention for toshi who answered our emails promptly & in a friendly manner and took care of everything in a real professional manner. efficient and close to the tourist areas in Thamel The rooms are very clean, there's a beautiful roof garden, the breakfast is good, and all for a very cheap price! Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    28
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
46
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was Amazing and excellent service. Neat and clean. 24 hours hot Shower. It is in centre of Thamel. My stay in this hotel is unforgettable. My next vacation will be in this hotel again. Festoon is the best.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durgapur, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked a standard room in this hotel. The room was OK considering the price at which it was offered. The Area of the room was however quite huge. The problem was however climbing those countless number of stairs every-time you had to climb up or down and of course the electricity which seems to be a problem all around in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs or else no need for morning jogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arp_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a most enjoyable two-night stay at the Festoon Hotel. The staff and owner were great. They re-confirmed our onward flight reservations quickly and efficiently. They were friendly and polite. The room was very comfortable and clean and everything worked, including internet, hot shower and TV. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harryshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading traveller reviews on this site we felt confident that Hotel Festoon would more than meet our basic requirements for a 4 night stay in Kathmandu. How wrong we were....
We had confirmed our booking and were relieved and gratefulnto see our airport pickup awaiting on our arrival.
We were warmly greeted by the charismatic owner Babu who offered us a cold drink on arrival. Within minutes Babu's "brother" materialised who happened to run a travel business and quizzed us of our Kathmandu plans.
We were shown our room and the shock hit immediately..... The room was filthy......white towels resembled dirty cleaning rags and the toilet bowl hadn't seen a toilet brush in months....not to mention the shower was covered in mould that we could scrape off with a bare hand.
Walking in bare feet on the carpe left us with grubby feet.
Our towels were changed daily but always resembled cleaning rags.
I wonder if travellers are too afraid to review a room honestly and instead make a deal out of the great "service" provided...
Maybe its just me, but I want others to have an honest opinion of all aspects of a room and not be afraid to voice honest experiences for fear of offending.
We did not discuss this with management as we looked in other rooms and they were all yhe same
Without a doubt the service was friendly Hotel was safe but for US$16 I am sure there are feel better deals around Thamel.

Room Tip: Check room before commiting a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
festoon414, Owner at Festoon Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Nomadicnevs
Thank you so much for providing feedback on your stay at Festoon Hotel.

I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to the carpet, toilet and about my brother. We generally receive positive feedback from our guests about how comfortable our beds are or how nice staff are or what a fantastic information from management, but its open page, guest can write what they want or what they fell however our intention was not quizzing you about your trip just intention was like you can do this or you cannt do this or u can go there or u cant go there because 100 of people are lost here with out guiding ( especially in mountain ).
And one more thing you can get a hotel room in $16 but I am sure that u cant get free bottle of beer, free pick up from airport, free breakfast for 2 people, free bottle of water in $16.

At last, thank you once again for providing feedback. We appreciate all guest feedback as this is a valuable tool which allows us to continually evaluate ourselves and find room for improvement on the services we provide and pride ourselves on.

Babu thapa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great value for money at this budget hotel in the Thamel district of Kathmandu. Clean rooms by budget standards. Bathroom facility was clean and functional. Very hot water most of the time. The power is very bad at this time in Nepal and they rely on boilers to heat their water.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful for any needs.

In terms of the location I think your experience will differ from room to room. I was in a small corner room with a double bed at first. It was adequate but not much light esp. when there isn't any power. The rooms facing the front of the hotel have large windows and are definitely superior. There's a bit more noise in these rooms due to the fact that they face the street and some construction on the other side.

Room Tip: The rooms facing out the front of the hotel are larger and better lit. If you can take a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilanewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Overall, it was a good place to stay but we discovered many comparable hotels just few meters from Festoon for half the price. Sadly, Festoon did not offer the premium value which would justify its premium price. Sheets, although washed, were stained. The only light and socket working during power cut down (a plus that they were working at all during power cut downs) were both hidden behind the wardrobe so of limited usage. We had a direct view on the private flat (which was 1,5m away from our window) and so its inhabitants had a direct view into our room. Normally, we would not pay attention to such drawbacks in a budget hotel, but since it turned out to be 2x more expensive, we expected more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NasiGorengPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#69 of 198 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#132 of 198 in Kathmandu
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#114 of 198 in Kathmandu
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florid Nepal
Hotel Florid Nepal
#55 of 198 in Kathmandu
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festoon Hotel

Property: Festoon Hotel
Address: Thamel-16, Z-Street, Kathmandu, Nepal | G.P.O Box 6711,, Kathmandu 6711, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Festoon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Festoon Hotel is "Where Luxury Meets Affordability." We sure haven’t been to Hotel California but Eagles would certainly love this hotel as much for, despite that we do not have the Stars, we have bountiful of flowers to offer every of our prized customers with warm smile and welcoming embrace. In a world where luxury is often directly proportionally to the amount of green loads in your pockets, two of us young entrepreneurs undertook this sprightly onset with one objective of offering quality service in modest price. Hence our tagline: Where luxury meets affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing