We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved this hotel and all of the staff. We were greeted with tea and warm towels upon check in which was especially wonderful after a week trekking in Tibet. Our room was clean and charming. The hotel is in a quiet location yet well situated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrowAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Its pleasure to hear that we were able to make your stay at Hotel Tibet International a memorable experience and your enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to service you again in near future.

Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tibet International
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Tibet International at Boudhanath is a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu - a peaceful escape from the dirt and pollution of the streets. The staff were courteous and professional. Each anticipated my needs. When I sought information about tours, complete information was provided including advice about whether what I sought was feasible. Rooms are modern and clean. The food is tasty and varied. The small touches such as the welcome drink and hot towel made a difference but, overall, I was made to feel welcome adn nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Neil,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that we were able to make your stay at Hotel Tibet International, a memorable experience and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would love to have you back at HTI in near future.

Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is my third time in Kathmandu and this time i needed to stay in a different place than Radisson Hotel. I was surprised to be greeted with a fresh cup of tea (i think it was lemongrass) and a nicely presented washcloth to refresh my face and hands as i arrived at the frontdesk. Staff is dressed in traditional Tibetan outfit and i could hear Tibetan music in the background. Decoration is awesome and impeccable and im a visual person. Staff was always available and prompt at all times of day or evening. I have nothing to complain about but i may suggest to get a room away from front street , Kathmandu is a very noisy and dusty city even at night. Would definitely recommend u to stay there. Hotel is 5 minutes walk away from Stupa Bodhanath

Room Tip: away from front street if u want quietness.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helene o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Helene,
Thank you for taking your time out to write such detailed review about us. Its pleasure to hear that our, utmost effort to make our guest stay a memorable experience has been notice and appreciated. Thank you.
We will keep thriving.
We look forward to having you back in near future.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I recommend Hotel Tibet, I stayed there as part of a study abroad trip in June. The hotel staff greets you with a hot towel and drink when you arrive and never ceases to be helpful. They always greet you when you arrive and always provide helpful service. The restaurant serves excellent food and is very hygienic, which was a great relief for us Westerners. The rooms were always very clean and the beds very comfortable. There was always a cookie and a bottle of water waiting for us when we came back in the evening. My favorite part of Hotel Tibet is the staff, everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaning staff are always dressed nicely and very friendly. When I asked the front desk staff to swap some rupees for nice ones as gifts, they took great care to find me the nicest ones they could and even explained all the people and symbols on the bills. I also loved waking up early in the morning and walk to the stupa, which is a very short walk from the hotel and then eating breakfast on the rooftop afterwards. I recommend this hotel and would love to would love to return for another stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center section overlook the city, but any room overlooking the courtyard has a nice vie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Mathew,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us. It’s always a pleasure to hear that we once again succeeded in making our guest stay at Hotel Tibet International, a memorable experience. We will keep thriving.
We hope to have you back in near future.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Each waiter is hand picked for his or her courtesy. This is the level of detail at Hotel Tibet International. I am a group leader of pilgrimages to India and Nepal. Once we reach Bouda and I place the care of my pilgrims into the hands of the staff of Hotel Tibet, I know that I can completely relax, knowing that they will be completely taken care of. The food in the restaurant is world class. The atmosphere is relaxed, the decor beautiful and inspiring. Really the whole experience is like a work of fine art. I so appreciate the existence of Hotel Tibet, it makes my work so much easier. I know that each of my pilgrims felt the same way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anahatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We are delighted to hear that our food pleased your pallet and you were satisfied with our standard of service.
Kindly feel free to drop by with your group any time. It’s our pleasure to service you and your groups.
Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Conveniently located in Kathmandu. From the second you arrive you are warmly welcomed and amazingly treated. The hotel is quiet, clean and well maintained. It was a treat to come back to the hotel at the end of each busy day. They are accommodating and warm and friendly here, everything you could want and more. I enjoyed the Tibetan cookies every night at my bedside :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank speerstra_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Katheryn,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that our effort to make our guest stay at HTI a memorable experience has been notice and appreciated. We would love to have you back at Hotel Tibet International in near future.

Best regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April at the beginning, and two in May at the end of our trip. I had stayed in Kathmandu four years ago in Dwarika's, and this is similar but not as upmarket. I would return here if I was ever back in Kathmandu.
We had a cold towel and welcome drink on arrival, and received a white scarf on leaving for the airport at the end of our trip.
We had a large room in B wing with a sofa and chairs and a desk. Very comfortable beds with colourful appliqued bed spreads in red with a cushion to match. The first night we found the pillows too firm, but there was no problem in changing them to softer ones the next night. Dark wood furniture and flooring and a tiled bathroom with shower and bath. We asked for a hairdryer and one was brought to our room. Nice touches like a cookie on our pillow at night! There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a 'fridge with mini bar. Bottles of water were provided, and there was a safe in the room.
The rooftop breakfast restaurant had a good view of Boudha stupa which was just down the road and very convenient for alternative restaurants. We loved the breakfasts with a good variety of fruits and breads, and eggs made to order. We also came here one afternoon for tea and cake.
We had the buffet in the "Kashmiri Kitchen" on our first night - a large group had arrived unexpectedly at the hotel as their flight to Bhutan had been diverted, so the place was very busy.
We had our "welcome" cocktail on our second visit, in the Yak bar, and they honoured our voucher which we had from our first visit which we had not used - so we had a second cocktail!.
We sat in the garden of the spa, just outside the back door, which was a haven of peace from the dust and pollution of the street outside. We did not try the spa.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and we had no problems with our bill.
There is a code you can get for WIFI.
This hotel is quite near to the airport, so is easy to access, and convenient for trips outside. The road outside is very busy but you can always get across it to the stupa where there is plenty to see and do. Your entrance ticket can be reused for subsequent visits.

Room Tip: Both times we were in B wing and had rooms 311 and 409
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such detailed review about us.
Its a pleasure to hear that our utmost effort to make our guest stay at HTI a memorable experience has been notice and appreciated. Your words of encouragement have booted us to keep thriving.
We hope to welcome you back at HTI in near future.

Best Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
446 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,573 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £54 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing