We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountain Homestay
Ranked #6 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
“A home away from Home”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had lodged at Blue mountain for a period of 13 nights with my family.We were buried between our exams and we had to make a last minute settlement some where in kathmandu.The correspondence with Mr.Buddhi was prompt & he made sure abt our booking.I had heard abt this home stay from my senior who had lodged there a year ago,saw the website and when i reached there it was genuine.the rooms were well maintained with all facilities.24 hr inverter back up,with hot and cold water facility,clean terrace garden and lavatories,ideally suited for a perfect break.they offered good english breakfast with choice of eggs the way we wanted.Unlimited nepali tea/coffee & mineral water unlimited wifi which was complimentary.Three young lads,Kushi,Raj & Milan & Mr.Buddhi and his own family were just a whisper away.Mr.Buddhi was courteous enuf to drop my wife for her exams helping me to focus on my studies.They even invited us for a farewell dinner on the eve of our departure.I strongly recommend this place to any one who r looking for a calm and peaceful environment.I am planning on a second visit again to ktm this time for a holiday preferably for the dussain and i hv already made my booking beforehand with Mr.Buddhi.Mr.Buddhi is also coming up with a similar homestay so he said he wont be short of rooms any time of the year.The place is very near to all renowned landmarks.We were only walk able distance from Thamel.Mr.Buddhi is also good guide and an ideal tour operator who wud help us by not falling into some money mongers.I wud also like to wish him & Blue mountain never ending success in the futre.Keep up ur good work and kind hospitality.

DRAWBACK - I had trouble finding the location,in the end mr.Buddhi himself had to come over to receive us as phonversations between our taxi driver and Mr.Buddhi didnt materialize.

Advice - I feel it wud be ideal if Mr.Buddhi could arrange for pick up and drop facility (as per normal taxi rates existing in ktm) for all the coming guests.

Room Tip: If u r a person looking for gud wifi access,then opt for the floor where the router/modem is install...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Som S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    35
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
130
134
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Mountain Homestay because of the friendly, personal service we received. Located just out of the main Thamel area in a quiet backstreet but within easy walking distance of the action. Clean with adequate hot water. We had the top room with a pleasant garden terrace area where we enjoyed our breakfast on sunny days overlooking the town. Filling complimentary breakfasts, free daily newspaper in English, tea whenever we wanted and a complimentary evening meal added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: Top room very nice though Wi-Fi not strong there-had to go downstairs to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Buddhi made the experience of staying at Blue Mountain homestay very pleasant and hassle-free. Room was clean, comfortable and had fast, free WiFi. The only issue was it is quite dark, so I'd suggest adding one more electric light to use in the case of frequent blackouts. Bathroom was shared, but very clean and well-maintained. Generous breakfast and Buddhi invited me to eat with his family one evening, which was lovely. Staff were very friendly and honest. A 10-min walk to Thamel centre. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveller288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Blue Mountain homestay is a very nice place to stay in Kathmandu. Both the owner Mr Buddhi and his staffs are very friendly and helpful. The place is very quiet, so you can enjoy your breakfast, reading newspaper every morning in the garden sitting area in front of your room. The front gate is always locked and their staffs are always around to open it when you arrive. So I feel that it is very safe to leave your valuable inside your room while you are out and about.
I stayed there on 3 occasions during my time in Nepal, and would not even consider looking elsewhere. It is a very relaxing and comfortable place, and is excellent value for your money. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are the best. there are only 2 rooms there and has a very nice garden and sitting ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Like a second home! Cozy place, great views, clean rooms, great breakfast.
Great location, close to the main tourist area but without all the noice and traffic.

Milan, Kusiman and his brother are the best guys, so warm and loving persons, and they take good care of the place!
The friendly owner Budiman will help out with anything you need, info, transport etc.

We will come back again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishikesh, India
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We travelled with 10month baby.
So we wanted avoid any kindOf trouble and hassle.
This is a place for us. About less than 10min walk from center .
Quiet and residential area.
There are many plant and flowers which the staff looking after very well.
This staffs are very lovey. There are always smile and try to make us comfortable .
The owner buddi also always smile. And looking after guest very well.
He owns travel agency , so he can help to organize short trip by taxi.

And great thing is bottler of water , tea and coffee is free . We can ask for it any time.
I will be choice here again, when I back to kathmandu.
Thank you


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hetangata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at blue mountain for a couple of nights at the beginning of our time in nepal and at the end, we trekked in between. It was comfortable, clean, great breakfast, unlimited tea and coffee (not just instant but the boys working there made a cuppa fresh each time) and just a friendly atmosphere. My buddhi is very friendly and helpful, including when he has no vested interest, and the staff who live and work there are chatty and easy going. Its a great price for how close you are to the main eating and shopping districts but just far out enough to be quiet and still feel like you are in nepal and not a tourist town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seira h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel
#4 of 439 in Kathmandu
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pilgrims Guest House
Pilgrims Guest House
#9 of 439 in Kathmandu
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Homestay

Property: Blue Mountain Homestay
Address: Galkopakah 29 | Thamel Galkopaka, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountain Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All are quite room, free breakfast, free wifi, 24 hour hot and cold water, pick up from Kathmandu airport for a fee, families environmental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Mountain Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing