We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Kathmandu.”
Review of Tasi Dhargey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasi Dhargey Inn
Ranked #51 of 443 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Kathmandu.”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was in Nepal for 4 days with my family (19th Feb-22nd Feb 2013). We came to know about this hotel when we landed in Kathmandu. The hotel has great location (it is in Thamel which is like tourist center of Kathmandu, but it is quite inside so you get the privacy!) And whats good about the hotel are it's people. The manager booked a car for our sightseeing and even our flight tickets to Bhadrapur (on 22nd) for a real cheap rate. The other staff is also very kind and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious.

The hotel has its own restaurant and it's taste is good. The veg curry I ate there was so good, that I ordered it's recipe when I met one of the staff on Facebook later :)

Over all it is a well maintained hotel for a good and reasonable rate. Kathmandu and this particular hotel are the two reasons I would love to visit Nepal again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anish_Khd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    28
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
17
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I was recommended this hotel by a local friend who said it was centrally located, comfortable and excellent value for money. They were right! Tasi Dhargey Inn has lovely and accommodating staff who will help you prepare for anything you need. The food in the kitchen was great and well priced. It is so easy to make yourself at home and the staff are extremely easy to get along with! Room was spacious, always hot water, load shedding occurs however they have generators where you can still charge your electronics. It is open 24/7 so you can stay out as long as you like if that's you're thing. Would recommend this to anyone. Ive stayed at plenty of places in thamel and this is definitely a stand out.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harryyy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at the Tasi Dhargey Inn for a few nights in Novemer 2012. It was a fantastic experience, the staff were so helpful and friendly. I felt safe, despite being in the middle of chaotic Thamel. I reccomend that any travellers on a mild budget visit the Tasi Dhargey for a while. It was affordable, and one night we came back too late (doors were locked) but they still got up to let us in with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odowdpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We, me and my wife have been in this hotel for 3 nights in Nov 12. This is a fantactic hotel with very well behaved people. The cordial stuffs will never make you feel living outside home. This is also a very clean hotel.

The internet connectivity is above average, i am quite happy with the wifi service.

Rooms are decently decorated and cable TV have all required channels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuvo581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanberis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Honest, reliable, friendly with competitive prices. The hotel is situated in the heart of Thamel and is clean with excellent service. The Hotel has its own bar and restaurant and the staff go out of the way to help with your stay in Nepal. Tasi Dhargey Inn definitely has my vote and repeat custom. They provide transfers from Kathmandu airport have an on-sight trekking guide associated with Sir Edmund Hillary and have always lived up to my high expectations. Cheers guys (Sam- Wales)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Tasi Dhargey inn is a very good budget hotel with a great location in the center of Thamel. The rooms are big and clean, equipped with older furnishers. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can find also a very good travel agency in the hotel, which can help you to arrange necessities for treking or traveling. Hotel facilities include WiFi, restaurant with good food and laundry service. The hotel is very good choice for its friendly atmosphere and the costs. But if you are looking for a quiet place, try another one hotel outside the center of Thamel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The electric outlet for the AC wouldn't work. The room had only one other outlet, so if you tried to plug in a laptop, you had to have an extension cord/set of plugs, but the TV has only an unnecessarily large plug (as for heavy-duty appliances) that won't fit in the extension cord. They have an adapter, but it has loose plugs and sparks shoot out of it. The carpet is new in one room, everything worn and old in another. The wifi doesn't work as you get higher up in the hotel.

The people are nice and prices are low, but the hotel's in bad shape. I stayed here two years ago, had forgotten why I hadn't returned. Now I remember.

Room Tip: Buildings are close together. If you want to get past looking across the alley into another room, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithHruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamaprakash, Owner at Tasi Dhargey Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste and Greetings from Tasi Dhargey Inn!

We apologize for delayed response to your review. Also sorry for your inconvenience stay at our hotel. We always trying our best to keep our rooms well maintained. Yes, that day AC was not working due to load-shedding even we have Generator for back up lights AC is heavy for it.
Extension codes are in every room in good condition. We noticed an adopter in your room was plug out. We really sorry for it.

Keeping in our mind that full satisfactions and value of every guest's money and holidays of our every future guests, we have always put on eyes to our property to keep well maintained.

Things that you have beard will not repeat again so please visit us while you are in Nepal!

With best regards,
Tasi Dhargey Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#32 of 204 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.1 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 204 in Kathmandu
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 204 in Kathmandu
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#2 of 204 in Kathmandu
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasi Dhargey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasi Dhargey Inn

Property: Tasi Dhargey Inn
Address: Bhagawoti Marga | Thamel, Kathmandu 0977, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tasi Dhargey Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasi Dhargey Inn Pvt.Ltd. offers value-for-money rooms in Thamel, Kathmandu. Free Wi-Fi in public areas and free local calls are provided. There is also a rooftop garden with views of the Himalayas and Kathmandu City. Carpet and parquet floor furnished, rooms come with air conditioning and with ceiling fan, a sofa and a TV. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower. In-room dining is possible with room service. Tasi Dhargey Inn Pvt.Ltd. is 3 km from the city centre. Tribhuvan International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. Free parking is available. Day trips and car rentals can be arranged at the tour desk. The hotel also provides laundry services, luggage storage and a 24-hour front desk. The on-site restaurant serves Nepali, Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes. Snacks can also be enjoyed at the rooftop garden.Free transfer from airport to hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tasi Dhargey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing