We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Horizon
Ranked #81 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Set back away from the busy streets of Thamel (although still in a great central location) Hotel Horizon offers a peaceful and friendly place to stay. The rooms are well priced, relatively clean and comfortable. The free breakfast is basic but just what you need and the staff will do their best to make whatever you want, from muesli to omelettes.
All members of staff are friendly and always willing to help. On arrival to Kathmandu our flight was delayed and our bags got lost so we thought our free airport pick up arranged with the hotel would have left but actually they waited for us for over an hour which was a huge relief after 2 days on non stop travelling! We would definitely stay here again in a heart beat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine220886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Hotel is at a 10+ location in Thamel Square. The staff is more than nice and always willing to help. Clean and fair priced is for me te best hotel in town for backpackers! Hot shower, good AC (believe me is something you need up there in August) and room was clean and nice. For the Nepalese standards Horizon is over average. We had also WiFi and could use a computer all times. It has been a very nice stay and we will definetelly go back there next time we visit beautiful Nepal. Go there guys you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMassague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A great place to make your first stop. From the airport most Taxi drivers know where this place is and it is a nice quiet spot with a beautiful courtyard and very friendly staff, Yummy breakfasts at a very reasonable price, This place is close to the action but off the street and away from noise. Rooms were clean and tidy. The best part about this place is the warm hospitality of the staff. We will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashmoanadutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stayed at hotel horizon for a week, 8 to 16 August 2013.
The welcome and friendliness of the staff were perfect and after two weeks traveling around India for a little bit of relaxing was necessary. It is the right place to recharge.
We felt like our home and whenever required staff has always responded with a smile and a real help. Rooms were clean and the quality-price ratio is very good, also the location is great for getting to many of the interesting places of Kathnmandu.
For trekking or other activities the hotel also offers a good service agency that organizes tours with or without a guide throughout Nepal.
Thank you for your Nepali hospitality.
Giovanni e Roberta from Treviso Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was happely surprised when we arrived in hotel Horizon. The room and bathroom was very clean and spacious. I had the impression that the noises of the city stopped at the frontdoor, inside it's very peacefull. The staff is super friendly and helpfull, the service is fantastic!!
I can also recommend the tourist office, attached to the hotel. Good service, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel Horizon is very good situated in the center of Thamel. The staff is friendly and the rooms are modern, with everything you need. Food is ok. The staff cal also advice you, and help with arranging citytours, trekking and other activities. If free ask foor the rooftop rooms!

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was my first visit to Nepal and i had an excellent stay in hotel horizon. the rooms are spacious and clean, bathrooms arer well equipped and the garden is a little pleace of heaven in the busy centre of kathmandu. Staff are extremely friendly and helpfull, night and day.
Nearby tourist office is attached to the hotel and also has very friendly staff who makes the best deals for visits. i can recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a safe and peaceful place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon H, Owner at Hotel Horizon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear sir/ Madam Thanks you so much for spending your valuable time to review hotel horizon kathmandu (p) with great words. we wish every tourist enjoy their stay with us, Devaraj Dhakal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#17 of 210 in Kathmandu
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yala Peak
Hotel Yala Peak
#50 of 210 in Kathmandu
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#135 of 210 in Kathmandu
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizon

Address: 16 J.P. Road Chaksibarimarga | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Horizon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Horizon Kathmandu, a name that strongly evokes a rich cultural past, a treasure trove of magnificent temples,resplendent art and architecture, historical and cultural landmarks, and a tradition that has been carefully preserved to this day.'The Hotel Horizon is conveniently located in center of Thamel's .While you are in Kathmandu, the Hotel Horizon is a home away from home. Warm and friendly service, well appointed and comfortable guest rooms, excellent wining and dining, with an enchanting garden, and panoramic views from the rooftop. The location is within easy reach of Kathmandu's major tourist attractions, magnificent temples and business quarters, making it one of the best addresses in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing