We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great getaway from Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Little House in the Ricefields
Ranked #74 of 476 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2012

It is a great getaway from the busy, noisy Kathmandu. We were 5 adults, a 5 year old and a baby, and the house was a perfect size - 3 bedrooms: one matrimonial, and two double bed rooms. The food was excellent, and Gopal really goes out of the way to cook a delicious meal that is suitable for everyone (and we have enough food allergies in our group that would drive any cook crazy). During the day we took walks in the rice paddies, and to the nearby village.
We visited in December - and it is cold at night (but we had enough blankets to be comfortably warm), and hot during the day. So pack everything from t-shirts to hats and big jackets.
A very relaxing weekend!!!!
p.s. there is a kiddie pool that can be filled during summer time - great for entertaining the little ones

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griottte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

I love this place! I now live in Kathmandu and The Little House in the Rice Fields is the perfect place to escape to when I need some peace and quiet! We just had a team retreat there all weekend and I could not have asked for better accommodations! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was amazing - Gopal is a wonderful cook! The views were spectacular - even in the winter after the harvest. I wish I could keep this place all to myself but Gopal was so wonderful to us all that I want everyone to know! He was kind, attentive, paid attention to detail, catered to our every needs and was just all around a fun person to be around. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a nice time staying there in company of Gopal and his excellent cooking! The atmosphere and surroundings were fantastic. Very accessible nature trails (even possible for children to follow) around the house up to the closest villages. Possible to attend with or without Gopal as a guide. The children could relax and run around without any fear of cars after a long day in the big city of Kathmandu. A real big recommendation from us to whether you go there with or without children.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

What a nice and perfectly quite place at the doorstep of Kathmandu. I went with my little daughter, the house and the environments are perfect for adults and children. We got the same comfort regarding beds and bathrooms faculties as the best rooms in Summit Hotel!!
We loved it and we will be back soon. -And, a big thank you to Gopal that took so good care of us.
As this was not enough, the house generates money for the Childrens Home next door! A good place to support a good case.

thank you! Guro and Klara

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheruy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pierrotbercap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Famille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,689 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,258 reviews
5.1 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,295 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#54 of 210 in Kathmandu
716 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little House in the Ricefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little House in the Ricefields

Address: Khokana | Sanokhokana, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: £18 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House is run by a non-profit organization in order to generate local sustainable resources to help poor children in Nepal.The house has been conceived as a peaceful nest in the countryside not so far from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Little House in the Ricefields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing