We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jewel in the rice fields”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Little House in the Ricefields
Ranked #99 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little jewel in the rice fields”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is the kind of place you don't want to write a review of because you want to keep it a secret. But as the proceeds from the house go to the nearby Children's Home, I will give it the stellar review it deserves.
We spent just one night here as an escape from Kathmandu and it was perfect. We were 2 couples and 2 babies and it was an ideal spot for the little ones to get some sunshine, fresh air, and a bit of crawling time.
Gopal is incredibly nice and friendly, and he cooked us a fabulous lunch and dinner. He even brought out his little rabbits for the babies to touch and play with.
The rooms were small but clean and cozy despite the chilly evening & night. The small dining room and living room are perfect for a nice meal and after dinner chat.
Great views and a lovely hike to a nearby village just added to the peacefulness of the place. I've already made a reservation to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in November - a beautiful spot, tasty food, warm cosy, beds, stunning views, great for kids. Gopal is a wonderful host - very friendly. Perfect way to get a dose of fresh air and countryside if you live in Kathmandu - it only took about 15 minutes drive from Patan. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As I walked down the unpaved road leading up to the house I was greeted by the house manager Gopal who walked with me. Passing the girls children's home he explained all proceeds from my stay at the house will go there! If that isn't a great initiative to spend money than I don't know.
My room with a double bed is small but cosy. The room shares a balcony with the king size bedroom. The view over the rice fields and mountains behind there are breathtaking.
You will find hints of Buddhism throughout the house.
Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are extra but well worth the money as the portions are plentiful.
There are extra blanket available plus a hot water bottle should you get cold.
Morning finds me engulfed in a cloudy must as the sun had not found it way above the mountain yet.
Such a lovely place to stay with very friendly staff.
If you want your peace away from busy Kathmandu, this is definitely for you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

i went there with some friends for a yoga weekend. it's the perfect place to get away from the noise of busy Kathmandu, and it's actually only about 20 minutes by bus or taxi.
Gopal and his family are very sweet and they really made a huge effort to make us feel at home. They are so warm-hearted and friendly!
And we did feel at home the minute we walked in. The food was home-cooked, fresh and delicious, and there is a lot of space around the house to just hang out or go for walks, and it proved to be a suitable house for yoga and mediation too. There is a big terrace, a covered area in the garden, and a small but cosy living-room to sit, read and chat.
Part of the proceeds go to to the local children's home, which makes staying in that house an even better and more valuable experience. Absolutely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

It is a great getaway from the busy, noisy Kathmandu. We were 5 adults, a 5 year old and a baby, and the house was a perfect size - 3 bedrooms: one matrimonial, and two double bed rooms. The food was excellent, and Gopal really goes out of the way to cook a delicious meal that is suitable for everyone (and we have enough food allergies in our group that would drive any cook crazy). During the day we took walks in the rice paddies, and to the nearby village.
We visited in December - and it is cold at night (but we had enough blankets to be comfortably warm), and hot during the day. So pack everything from t-shirts to hats and big jackets.
A very relaxing weekend!!!!
p.s. there is a kiddie pool that can be filled during summer time - great for entertaining the little ones

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griottte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I love this place! I now live in Kathmandu and The Little House in the Rice Fields is the perfect place to escape to when I need some peace and quiet! We just had a team retreat there all weekend and I could not have asked for better accommodations! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was amazing - Gopal is a wonderful cook! The views were spectacular - even in the winter after the harvest. I wish I could keep this place all to myself but Gopal was so wonderful to us all that I want everyone to know! He was kind, attentive, paid attention to detail, catered to our every needs and was just all around a fun person to be around. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a nice time staying there in company of Gopal and his excellent cooking! The atmosphere and surroundings were fantastic. Very accessible nature trails (even possible for children to follow) around the house up to the closest villages. Possible to attend with or without Gopal as a guide. The children could relax and run around without any fear of cars after a long day in the big city of Kathmandu. A real big recommendation from us to whether you go there with or without children.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathmandu
2.0 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#6 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chhaimale Resort
Chhaimale Resort
#115 of 433 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
New Dakshinkali Village Resort
New Dakshinkali Village Resort
#267 of 433 in Kathmandu
2.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
Pataleban Vineyard Resort
#203 of 433 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.7 mi away
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
Shivapuri Heights Cottages
#7 of 433 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little House in the Ricefields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little House in the Ricefields

Property: The Little House in the Ricefields
Address: Khokana | Sanokhokana, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House is run by a non-profit organization in order to generate local sustainable resources to help poor children in Nepal.The house has been conceived as a peaceful nest in the countryside not so far from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Little House in the Ricefields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing