We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are Bad but You can actually win@Casino :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #51 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms are Bad but You can actually win@Casino :)”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This ws my first visit and I had a great experience. We spent 5 nights at the hotel on a
tour arranged at great prices & luxury from Nepalonsale.com ( famous Agent fr Nepal)
From the first day until the last day everything was perfect. I was very happy with the
location and the sceneries around. Brand new luxury and pristine resort and is offerd
to providing all visitors an authentically lavish journey of the very premium on offer in
Soaltee hotel.
Staff was quite caring, and somehow manages to emerge seemingly out of the blue
when you need assistance and blend back in to the surroundings when you want peace
and privacy.

The breakfast and the super at night all were fabulous and amazing and I enjoyed it a
lot. Here in the restaurants you can taste the genuine Chinese, Indian and continental
and Thai food it provides you memorable dinner ever.
The only problem is with rooms. The rooms were big, not clean and were poorly
decorated and lacks all the basic features the AC was not good. The bed was not at all
comfortable and the corridors outside are not so clean as it should be. There are not too
many television channels, and nothing for entertainment in the room.
Pools are great and beautifully maintained and gymming facilities are also given and
a fabulous casino I love to play the money games it was a good time pass for me. The
weather at night is fabulous and I enjoyed evening walk under the clear black sky, with
fresh air.

I would have no hesitation in proposing this hotel. It is the sort luxurious place only
problems with the room ant it will become a must visit place with your family and friends
if they focus on their defects.

Room Tip: room s r not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, we do apologize for your experience with the allocated room and the discomfort you faced during your stay.
We have noted your observations and are addressing the same. Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards. At the mean time we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our other facilities and food in our outlets.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    410
    128
    28
    12
See reviews for
135
212
65
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
409 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

if you arrive Kathmandu late at night, this is a good choice. otherwise, there are other better ones in town which you may consider.

but I think it's a good place to stay overall...the bed is clean, the breakfast is decent.
Though the toilet in my friends' room didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geminican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. At the mean time time we have noted down your feedback on bathroom of your friend's room and are addressing the same.It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I travelled to Kathmandu for a workshop, which was organised in this hotel.
It was a a great one week there!

The rooms are good (but ask for a mountain view room).
Service is excellent!
Break fast spread was exhaustive and most of the items were prepared very well.
They serve a variety of fruits and juices.

Not great stuff: The gym is small. The sauna experience was ok. The pool was not heated.

The best part of the stay in this hotel was the service and the food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sejuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Many of the hotels in Kathmandu are a little tired and the same has to be said of the Crowne Plaza Soaltee

The rooms are large but old fashioned. The shower over the bath with discoloured grouting and plastic shower curtain finishes off the outdated look. The club lounge was also only open from 6pm to 7.30pm

The staff were very very good, the food was also good.

The location was also good given that taxi's were easy to get and unless you stayed in the very centre of Thamel you have to get used to the congestion and the enormous pot holes.

If I were to go to Kathmandu again, I would recommend Dwarika Hotel but it is significantly more expensive in all areas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

While we always strive to deliver a perfect experience, I do apologize for your experience with the allocated room and the discomfort you faced during your stay.
We have noted your observations and are addressing the same. Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards. On the separate note, please be informed that we are carrying out an ongoing product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our guest.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
253 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

First, the service from assistance at the cab stand, security at the door, bar service, meal service and room attendants was amazing. Truly amazing. Kuddos to the staff.

The rooms are large, and do provide you the open for some fresh air. Given the breezy conditions, I found the fresh air very nice in the evening. That combined with air con that was less than ideal made the window operation that much more appealing.

Room condition was good; they were a bit dated, but the mounted flat panel tv was a nice touch. Beds were very comfortable and selection of pillows was excellent. Internet however, both for charging 500 rupees per hour PER DEVICE along with power outages that occurred constantly, make utilizing the internet worthless at the hotel. That was very, very disappointing for a Crowne Plaza. Download speeds were far higher at restaurants such as Fire and Ice where wifi was free.

Food was good at all locations. My colleagues and I ate all restaurants on the property during our 10 day stay. Breakfast buffet really was amazing.

Also, make sure you ask for Mr. Sanjay as your taxi driver. He was both respectful, used the horn very little (trust me that comment will make sense when you arrive), and was a very courteous/safe driver.

All in all I would recommend the Crowne Plaza. Nice distance from Thamel (thankfully), and great property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the court yard and pool. Quite and great views of the sunset each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to write about it . Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu -a leader in excellence.
We have noted your feedback on the internet service and the same has been taken up with the team. We assure you that we will give this feedback the seriousness it deserves and will work on it.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager




















We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I reserved a 'club' room since the ad invited me to enjoy browsing the Internet in the exclusive club lounge. In fact, I had to pay extra, and the connection was painfully slow, even slower than at most other hotels in town. I had to argue with the front desk in order to ensure my breakfast was included.

On the positive side, it is one of the few hotels in town with an exercise room (not a priority for trekkers, but perhaps a requirement for some business travellers). I also had a QUIET, comfortable room.

Most of the guests seemed stressed by this hotel - but maybe I'm just projecting. The service is pretentious and overdone. It's a burden just to track down your luggage to get the porter to carry it to your room. Then, just try to get someone to collect your collect your luggage when you check out!

This is all very strange to me, since I know Nepal very well and its people are so charming! So, don't judge this wonderful country based on your experience at the Soaltee.

Room Tip: Don't believe the description of the rooms and services. This is a quiet location, far from ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lepapedemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thanks so much for pointing out the disappointing aspects of our product and services. We are indeed very grateful to you because it is feedback like yours that allows us to evaluate the systems set in place and take corrective action where necessary. However, we are pleased to know that you found the room comfortable.
We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We were choose the right choice to stay in Crowne Plaza Hotel, Kathmandu. Nice and clean hotel. Far away from the busy town,Tamel. ( only 10-15 minutes away ). Service here was good. Staff is helpful. House keeping was provided a good clean in our room during our stay. Breakfast here is the top with variety choices. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayEkkathattanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are very happy to know that you are delighted with our infrastructure. Our property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.
Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#71 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing