We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property, location a bit off from Thamel and main shopping areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Ranked #47 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good property, location a bit off from Thamel and main shopping areas”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Was travelling with my wife and 1 year old daughter. Soaltee is one of the good star hotels in Nepal.

Pros:
- Great Pool area
- Breakfast Buffet was good
- High service standards (except for one incident)
- Great lawns
- Choice of restaurants - Chinese, Italian and India, apart from the coffe shop. We tried the Chinese, it was good
- Room service is good

Cons:
- Far from Thamel area (main mkt and night life). Trip to Thamel costs NR 300 one side
- It's an old property. Don't compare this property to other new and swanky Crown Plaza's.
- Dinner buffet at the coffee shop was pricey and didn't have great variety

2 incidents that I would like to mention:

- My daughter fell ill with very high fever. At 3 am in the night we had to ruch her to the hospital. The hotel staff was very helpful in arranging the cab, calling the hospital and giving heads up to the duty doctor and sending a hotel guard with us. We really appreciate such high stds.

- The lady taking room service orders was exceptionally rude in taking orders. She even answered back to my wife in a rude manner saying she is very busy taking orders, hence can't be polite - never heard such excuse from any one at any hotel. Next day we raised this concern with the F&B Manager of the hotel, hopefully, she won't repeat it with other guests.

To end, I would like to say, if u don't mind the location must stay here.

Room Tip: Try the room in the new wing, which have the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    418
    131
    29
    14
See reviews for
140
219
69
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very nice, great staff, super clean and awesome food. I had an awesome stay, even though it was short. I did eat dinner on site and had some very tasty food. They also had some very nice shops underneath the hotel and along the property (like a strip mall - if you are in to trinkets and jewerlty) I would definitely come back to the Crown Plaza on my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avettestingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very high levels of service - kudos to the training department. CPHKS has it nailed- the human touch and the personalised service are what give this prestigious property its soul.
- It is an old hotel, sprawled over lavish grounds, undergoing part by part renovation.
- unfortunately due to my busy KTM schedules, only spent time at the Bar having football dinner, and a meal at the very ethnic Kakori. wasn't able to swim or gym.
- Check-in was overall quick and efficient. So was checkout. And enjoyed all the namasteying and the small exchanges from the staff during my five day stay.
- I loved the executive room, with its attention to detail and the amenities, and its splendid view.. No request was small, insignificant or silly for the staff, whether room service or housekeeping. This hotel gives a whole new dimension to the phrase 'atithi devo bhav'!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just came back from our first trip to the Nepalese capital of Kathmandu where we stayed at the Crowne Plaza Soaltee. The 5 days experience was made all the more memorable by the ever smiling and ever helpful staff members. A very special mention to be made of Kashi and Narayan who worked at the main bar, Tek and Naresh at the Nepalese/Indian restaurant Kakori where the food was just exquisite and the service so quick and efficient, the attention to detail and the selection suggestions made the meal that much better. Also Saumitra and Bijay from the housekeeping department who used to turn down the rooms in the evening were just amazing - it really is the people and the personal touch that make a difference! Whether we wanted a pair of scissors and tape, disposable cups, immediate repair and maintenance of a fused bulb for e.g. - every member of staff made sure that these requests were accommodated to the best of their ability and at the quickest possible time. I also want to thank Ms. Mona Bhandari who was probably our main point of contact at the hotel who ensured that our stay was great and that we were looked after. We felt so comfortable as a result of experiencing true warmth and natural Nepalese hospitality.

An overview of the hotel : It is indeed a great hotel both for business/corporate or if you're going on a holiday. The foyer of the hotel with the unique chairs is a refreshing touch. Rooms are spacious, well equipped good facilities and nice decor/design - it does have everything that you need. They have a great spread of restaurant outlets to choose from. It might seem a bit far from the town (Thamel), main CBD but I feel that the hotel has so many plus points and benefits, with the diverse range of services that they offer, this is not a very significant point.

Room Tip: - Try and check if there are any functions that will take place/ overlap and go on during the period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalova,Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

İ stayed at this hotel with a group of friends.The hotel has a very big and nice garden.İt is a few miles away from the centre of Kathmandu but with cheap taxi rates,it is not a problem to get to the centre.The rooms are nicely decorated with moderate size.However,they could be improved with a bit of renovation.The staff are all very friendly and helpful.My room was on the side where there was noise coming from the air conditioning system and they changed my room when i complained.İt is very relaxing after a visit to the crowded streets of Kathmandu.İ would recommend this hotel both for business and leisure.

Room Tip: There is noise coming from the conditioning units.Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinanyalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!


It was our pleasure having you stay with us recently with your group of friends.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Being a frequent traveller to Nepal, I have tried various hotels from 7star to budget hotels in various parts of Kathmandu, few good things which I like bout this property were
1. Excellent rooms.
2. Excellent Ambiance in all restaurants and in lobby.
3. Greenery all around the hotel.
4. Very cooperative staff.
5. Awesome Indian food at kakori and coffee shop.
6. Excellent internet connectivity in entire hotel.

Restaurant Kakori served best Mughal food, as Lucknow being a place were you get best Mughal food, Kakori being a place very close to Lucknow 35 km. hence Kakori being most appropriate name for it, and chef is also from Lucknow, if you get same taste in Nepal, then what else you require.
I stayed for 9 days. And entire hotel made me feel like home special mention for few people Ms. Shristi Shresta, Ms. Muna Bhandari, and Chef of Kakori.

Excellent place for cooperates.

Thanks
Mohit Arya

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MohitArya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stay for 3 nights on 13, 14, 17-Jun-2014.

Here, the first impression was not the last one. A dirty & non-AC vehicle arrived to pick us up from Kathmandu airport. I thought I made a bad choice by choosing this hotel.

The ambience, maintenance, service, food and variety was excellent. It's classy affair.
Very neat rooms and linen. Excellent quality of toileteries were provided.
Complimentary room upgrade and wi-fi.

Suggestions: add a few more Indian dishes to you room service menu. Start providing complimentary pick / drop to Thamel.

I appreciate the personalised service provided by Front Office Mgr - Deepak Pandey and team.

Room Tip: A few rooms are being renovated hence noise in room on some floors throughout the day. To avoid disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panjain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathamandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. At the mean time we have noted your feedback on a Airport transportation and are addressing the same.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,547 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,067 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Property: Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing