We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #68 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It is centrally located hotel in Kathmandu. The staffs are very friendly and caring. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is excellent. If you want to stay away from crowds, this is the best hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Namaste !!!!
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback and ratings mean a lot to us. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the service delivered by our team. We trust that we will be able to exceed your expectations on your future visits as well.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Annapurna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here for a week on business in September 2013. The hotel is clean and breakfast is good, with lots of variety and some different dishes each day; I ate here every morning for a week and didn't get too tired of the food. The location is central and within easy walking distance to Thamel (the 'tourist/backpacker district'). You can also walk to a few attractions such as Durbar Square in about 30 minutes through an interesting and very busy market area. The valets out front will arrange a taxi for you upon request and even help to negotiate the price - as always, confirm the address and price in advance. Drivers in Kathmandu will wait for you at your destination if you like - expect to pay a bit more.

The hotel restaurants are both good with a variety of options. If you're vegetarian you'll have no problem at the Indian restaurant.

The service is a little over the top for me where I am used to booking a room and only being disturbed if it's time for housekeeping to do their thing. Here, if you don't turn on your Do Not Disturb light, you will have staff knocking on the door several times a day just to check in and see if you need anything. Likewise, at the restaurants the servers are a bit overbearing will try to awkwardly serve your food for you and interrupt conversations to top up a water cup that is 7/8ths full. Some people may enjoy this level of attention, but I found it to be a bit much, although I suppose it's better than very little.

Overall I would say the rooms are 2.5* (by western standards); clean but basic. Airport pickup is a big plus, especially if you don't want to haggle for a taxi after a long flight. The drive is about 15mins each way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to know that you were impressed with the choice of breakfast at our “Coffee Shop” and also enjoyed your meals at our restaurants.
I would also like to apologize for the service issues you had to encounter; we do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. It was a pleasure having you with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My first stay at this property. Usually stay at the Hyatt but they were fully booked.

Ended up being very convenient given the great location.

I had a nice room on the new Club Floor with view over the pool. Very quiet.

What I liked:

Very functional room
Good lighting in room and bathroom
Friendly staff in club lounge
Evening drinks and snacks in lounge
Good choice of TV programs
Internet connection reasonably fast
Location
Bathroom amenities
Free snacks on minibar
Airport transit both ways

What I did not like

Frequent power cuts; not the hotel's mistake though. Their back-up gen set kicks in very quickly
Pillows a little too high for me
Breakfast; very small in lounge, choice not great at coffee shop

Room Tip: 3039 on Club floor, very close to lounge
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srhmmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!
Thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience at our Club Floor. We are delighted that you were happy with our facilities and services , We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services.
We do have a choice of pillows to offer and we are also looking into improving on our choice of breakfast both at the Club Lounge and the Coffee Shop.
Our entire team would like to thank you once again for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I truly hope to have this privilege again.
Thank you,
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is no more than Two star,with five star prices. Better to avoid. Rude management , uncaring service staff. I am sure there are other better options in katmandu ! Location is ok but everything else is bad - absolute waste of money ! For the same price raddisson or Hyatt or crowne plaza must be a thousand times better.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raspberry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!!
We truly value the opinions of our guests and we do apologize for the issues that you encountered while staying with us.I have addressed your entire comments with the senior members of the team. Your comments and suggestions have always helped us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements.
Once again I would like to apologies for causing you discomfort, and would like to personally invite you to contact me at - sampurna.pande@annapurna.com.np, to discuss this with you further, at a time that is convenient to you.

Thank you,
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were duped by the website, and the fact that the room rate is so expensive (we took this as a sign that it was indeed a proper hotel). The sad fact is that despite the location, the hotel fails on all counts - in fact our stay was a nightmare. From the run down and smelly room, the horribly musty towels to the non existent service, the hotel was a terrible experience. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!!
Please accept our sincere apologies; I am sorry to read of your disappointment in your recent experience with us. I wish to reassure you that our team is always dedicated to upholding and delivering the premium service expected of our hotel, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.

Please allow me to invite you to contact me personally, to discuss this with you further. (sampurna.pande@annapurna.com.np)

We will continue to work on improving our service, and your valuable feedback helps us in this respect.

Thank you,
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you are craving for good food, city view in the most happening place in Kathmandu, this is the place to be. With five star services and variety of cuisines available at single location you are bound to enjoy this place. Be it for quick cup of coffee to rejuvenate you or for quick bites during lunch or sensational dinner, sit through this wonderful place located near then Royal Palace and get a sense of Nepali culture, style and the best of services.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IseeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
Let me thank you for your feedback and your ratings really mean a lot to us.We are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with the food and services delivered by our team while you enjoyed your meals at our restaurants. We do appreciate hearing from our guest, and are happy that we were able to live up to your expectation.
I thank you once again and I wish we are able to exceed your expectation always.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was a plaseure to enjoy 2 night at Annapurna. I came from Madrid and all stay was great. Great trear from staff and good rooms.

1. Clean
2. Classic

Enough confortable to be happy while visiting KTM

I feel better there (cause great treatement from staff) than other better hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
Thank you very much for your review regarding your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the service delivered by our team. We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I truly hope that we may have the privilege of having you stay with us again.
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#25 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing