We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian restaurant excellent”
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Annapurna
Ranked #60 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant excellent”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I didn't stay here but used its main restaurant, which specializes in Indian fare. I enjoyed an excellent dinner here. Food was first-rate and the staff were all highly attentive and pleasant.

The wine list is a rip-off but nothing that one doesn't find in this class of hotel in this part of the world. But that still doesn't justify the prices charged!

If you want somewhere really good to eat, which is not excessively expensive (for food), this is it. If you are seeking guidance as to its strengths or weaknesses as an hotel, sorry - read someone else's comments.

Oh, by the way, the prices in the bar are ridiculous too - even for domestic beers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation, it is indeed a pleasure to read about your experience at Ghar e’ Kabab - it is Kathmandu’s favorite Indian Restaurant - famous for the aristocratic flavor of fabled Mugal Kitchens, as for the prices of the wine list we are pretty reasonably priced compared to our competition.
Thank you for your recommendation and hope we may have the privilege of having you dine with us again.

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    211
    99
    30
    21
See reviews for
72
80
45
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel bills itself as the 'Number One Address' in Kathmandu- a Five Star property. It does have a nice marble lobby. However, the rest of the property reminds me of something you'd find along old Route 66. Windows hang randomly open, curtains sailing in the breeze, allowing the smoke and dirt of the city directly inside. The rooms are small and dark, and adorned with garage sale quality furniture. The plumbing does not drain well, and most members of our travel group can't get water hotter than tepid. A few rooms report bugs. The location is ok - you're close to the Thamel district. The hotel charges $4/hour per device for Internet access, which is outrageous, considering download rates and the fact that most places include it.

Is this hotel unlivable? Certainly not. However, at best this is a two star hotel. Are there better in Kathmandu? There's the rub - I don't know. This is not an 'experience' or one-of-a-kind hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept our deepest apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us.

I wish to reassure you that we have taken steps to ensure that the issues highlighted by you have been resolved, our heritage rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities complimented by the heritage interior and the incident about the hot water is truly very rare and unfortunate, I am happy to be able to tell you that we have on-going product improvement program and will also be undergoing extensive development next year.

You have given us the chance to deal with issues that we were unaware of. For this I do sincerely thank you. I deeply regret what happened and hope we may have the privilege of having you stay with us again

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Hotel Annapurna is an old property with unassuming exteriors but endowed with a bit of old-world charm and warmth. I have stayed here many times and have enjoyed it always. Advantage is its location that is right in the center of the city, markets and malls. There are international chains like Pizza Hut and KFC and bustling city market right outside the entry gate to the property. Rooms are good sized though a bit dated. Furniture, carpet and upholstery look faded even stained with spots, and has perhaps not been changes in decades, though their upkeep is good. Hotel has only three floors and is well maintained in terms of cleanliness. One disappointing issue is that free Wi Fi is limited to one device. You cannot run your mobile and laptop together unless you buy additional Wi Fi connection. Or you must learn from the front desk how to log-off from one device and log-on to other.

Breakfast buffet in the Coffee Shop is superb, has a good variety of quality items and trays are quickly re-filled. I can check in this hotel just for the stuffed kachauri, Idly, Vada and Nariyal Chutney they prepare! Room service food however needs improvement. Hotel employees on front-desk and elsewhere are very polite in a genuine way that is very typical of Nepalese people in general. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajiv1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna!!!
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation in most of the attributes, it is indeed a pleasure to read about your positive comment about the food and the services offered at the buffet breakfast at our Coffee Shop.
Our hotel is very centrally located in the heart of the city, and our rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities complimented by the heritage interior, we have noted your comment about the Wi-Fi connection and will definitely work on it.
Thank you for your recommendation, your ratings and comments really mean a lot to us, to continue in improving our services.

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. The staff are nice enough but the hotel is no where near a 5 star hotel. I'd say 3 star. The location isn't too bad ( just a 5 minute walk to the popular tourist spot of Thamel ). The staff are friendly and can all speak good English. There is wifi at the hotel but not free. Which I was disappointed at as most hotels now provide free wifi in Nepal. They charged about £10 for 24 hour access. Although there is a ' buisness centre ' with a couple of PC's in which we used for free.
The breakfast was good. Nice selection of food available for all needs.
The rooms though were not what I expect for a 5 star hotel. The bed was comfy but that's about it. The bathroom was very poor and we hardly had any hot water. Luke warm at best. I wouldn't stay at the hotel again. We have another night booked in Kathmandu in a couple of weeks and we have decided to try somewhere else. This is a very expensive hotel and I don't think it's worth the money at all. I would spend it somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wozer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
I m glad that you have noted our positive sides and were happy with the services of our staff, let me reassure you that our team is dedicated to upholding and delivering the premium service expected of our hotel.
Unfortunately, it is clear from your feedback that we did not manage to meet your expectation and have failed to provide our usual standard of service, my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Our hotel is very centrally located in the heart of the city, and our heritage rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities complimented by the heritage interior and let me also inform you that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program .Our Wi-Fi is free for guests booked under our corporate packages, for other packages also we are working on the same.
The incident about the hot water is truly a very rare and unfortunate, we can assure you that the situation was one of its kind and does not represent our commitment towards guest satisfaction.

We will be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for a week on business in Kathmandu. It's supposed to be one of the nicest hotels in Kathmandu. The amenities are great but given the rooms it seemed overpriced to me. It is in a central area of the city, Durbar marg, near the Royal Palace and within walking distance of Thamel. There are also several restaurants and clothing shopping on the same street.

The hotel lobby and grounds are nice. There's a pool area with lounge chairs. The fitness center was basically a room w/ a treadmill and two weight machines. The loadshedding made it difficult to run bc the lights would go on and off.

There's also 3 restaurants -- the Coffee Shop, Ghar-e-Kebab, and a chinese one. The Coffee Shop breakfast had a good variety of American/European/Nepali food (omelettes, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, sausage, idli/sambar) but was very pricey ($10). Ghar-e-kebab was some of the best indian food I've ever eaten and the ambience is great with the singer/musicians.

The room was clean and sufficient for my needs but pretty lackluster for the price. The bed was comfortable. The desk and chairs were fine. The room wasn't very big... just large enough for the bed, an arm chair, coffee table, and desk. There was a flat screen tv w. a couple of English channels. The closets were large. The room decor was dated and felt a little worn. The bathroom was older as well with this wallpaper that looked like brown composition notebook paper. Housekeeping came every day and there was turn down service. Again, everything was clean but the room was just in need of an update.

Wi-fi was expensive ($12 for 24 hour period) and not included in the price. I did use the business center to print and wasn't charged.

One odd thing that kept happening was it sounded like someone was ringing the doorbell but no one was ever there.

Room Tip: My room faced the front entrance of the hotel and there was a large tree with what sounded like mill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor..
Our hotel is very centrally located in the heart of the city, and we are very happy to read that you had a great experience and enjoyed the food and ambience of our restaurant especially Ghar e’ Kabab, as for the prices we are pretty reasonably priced compared to our competition.
Our heritage rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities complimented by the heritage interior and we are also carrying out an on-going product improvement program and will also be undergoing extensive development of the fitness centre. Our Wi-Fi is free under our corporate packages but for other packages also we are working on the same
I m glad that you have noted our positive sides as well let me reassure you that our team is dedicated to upholding and delivering the premium service expected of our hotel. We will continue to work on improving our service and your valuable feedback helps us in this respect.

Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Once again I just have to write a few words about this wonderful hotel that has become our home every time we visit Kathmandu.
We have just returned home after a longer stay in Nepal due to my husbands work there.

This time I discovered that the hotel we love so much also supports the work of a wonderful organisation called Smile Nepal. This organisation takes care of homeless children in Kathmandu.

Hotel Annapurna provides the organisation with good food for a healthy meal every single day for the street children in the Thamel area. The children come to the hotel once a day, all year and get a good meal at no cost :-) thus providing them with the most basic of needs to survive. They also provide a health check about once a month for these kids.

I was also told that the hotel supports another organisation called Maiti nepal, an organisation which works to help protect Nepali girls and women from crimes like domestic violence, trafficking, child prostitution, child labor and various forms of exploitation and torture.The hotel helps by participating in the rehabilitation of some of these women, and teaching them a trade at the hotel, sometimes giving them employment when possible.

To me this speaks loudly about the generosity of this hotel, a hotel which gives something back to the weakest members of its society without bragging about it.

Thanks again to all the wonderful staff for another great stay at you hotel, and for showing me an entirely different and heartwarming side of your hotel :-)))))

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the first time and the experience was wonderful. The location of the Hotel is excellent with easy proximity to the important tourist locations. Mainly the Club room staff is very courteous and make you feel as privilege customer.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Club floor are excellent and the staff on the Club floor really make you feel speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sampurna P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Annapurna, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Annapurna !!!

Thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience of our Club Floor. We are delighted that you were happy with our facilities and services of our Club Floor, we do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us.

Our entire team would like to thank you once again for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I truly hope to have this privilege again.
Thank you,
Warm Regards,
Sampurna Pande
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#75 of 198 in Kathmandu
458 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Property: Hotel Annapurna
Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing