We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Probably the only reason I didn't give it a 5 was that power would go out occassionally but come on soon, and also had lots of trouble getting the key card to work. The lobby is gorgeous with small stupas built replicating real stupas in Nepal. Nice terrace. A short walk to Boudhanadh Stupa. For some, the location might not be perfect, as it wasn't in the downtown area, but after being there, I prefer it. The air quality here seemed good, and it was nice to get away from the bustle.
The rooms and baths were nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztraveleroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    468
    145
    42
    28
See reviews for
246
404
138
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our stay here was the end of a long summer trip through India and Nepal. We use these hotels usually at the start and end of a long trip to either beat jet lag or rest up before returning home.

On arrival the hotel, in its expansive grounds really felt like an oasis in Kathmandu - a town we loved but is not always relaxing.

Our one problem was that having booked a 'non-smoking' room we checked in (seamlessly), the room absolutely stunk of cigarettes. To the hotels credit however within 10 minutes of asking for a change we had been not only swapped but significantly upgraded to a club suite. Their response was impressive.

Overall we had a short stay (1 night).

Pros:
- Quiet locale (due to large ground)
- Very close to the Boudha (walking distance)
- Very helpful staff
- Offered free airport transfers (not sure how standard this is though)
- Beds are very comfortable, rooms were impeccable (apart from issue above) with dated but still nice decor

Cons:
- The classic tradeoff - staying in such a nice place means you get to wash and sleep well, but also means you are missing the true experience of staying in and experiencing Nepal
- Smoking still occurs inside (evidence by our initial room)
- Western prices

Summary: we use these kind of hotels at the start and/or end of backpacking style holidays to beat jet lag and relax. For this I have no complaints with this hotel. Furthermore they dealt with our issue promptly, with a significant room upgrade so we were very happy with the service.

I would recommend this hotel if you need a little oasis for a night or two in Kathmandu, and was happy with the service we received. If you are travelling to Nepal to experience the country just don't spend too long here or you will miss the point of the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ommert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

It is certainly one of the better properties to stay in Kathmandu. Its close to Airport, Pashupatinath temple and Thamel.... International Food was average though Indian cuisine was nice. But what it lacks in international cuisine, it covers up in scenic view, pool, lush green parks and casino. The staff is very hospitable. We also played golf at Gokarna gold course which is also very close to Hyatt.

Its a perfect place for family vacation, we had elders and kids with us and everyone was entertained there. There are activities for all age groups. The swimming pool with the hot Jacuzzi was awesome. The SPA and the workout room were very hygienic and well maintained.

Room Tip: Should choose between 4th and 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saggirules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

5 stars by Nepali standards. Spoilt for choice at breakfast and dinner buffet. Rooms are comfortable with large beds, marble bathrooms, in room safe, wardrobes with hangers and bathrobes. Lovely pool and pleasant staff. Did not use the casino.

Room Tip: Personally I don't think the Stupa View rooms are worth the extra cost as it is nearly built out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermitage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a vacation with the family. To see the property it is very good. But services are very poor. Lower staff is very good and cordial but overall management is so poor that there is no co-ordination among the different departments. One department does not pass on the information to the other department causing problems to the guests. Dining experience was extremely poor, we found insects in the meals during breakfast. During dinner, chef at the live counter used red chilly powder while frying. Everybody in the dining hall started coughing due to excessive use of red chilly powder. Most of the guests left with having complete meals while children were crying due to effect of red chilly powder. Hotel is service very limited vegetarian food. Indian vegetarians shall avoid staying in the hotel. We found cracks in the room walls and spiders in the rooms. Overall this is a very good property but is being managed very poorly. We checked in the hotel twice in a week, but we were not provided welcome drink which is customery and we could just know about this when we were leaving and some guest was checking in. Similary, there was no information given to us regarding free sight seeing with the room and we came to know about free sight seeing, after we booked personal cab. Samething happened for Airport dropping. Breakfast timings as per service booklet kept in the room is upto 11.00 am but buffet is removed at 10.30 am.

Room Tip: Fourth level rooms are much better and clean than first level rooms. In the first we visit we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kawal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

First impressions of this hotel are 'Wow', the public areas are gorgeous and set within substantial gardens. However, I really think this hotel is too big for the current management to cope with.
We booked a non-smoking room but was given a room that resembled an ashtray, we were given another room but the TV, Kettle, air-conditioning didn't work. The wooden floor wasn't on familiar terms with a mop and there were cigarette burns in the upholstery.

The bathroom was a good size and nicely decorated, such a shame that the shower was dirty and took two people a good five minutes to turn off. The hairdryer (located under the sink in a drawer) was covered in a brown sticky substance.

On the forth floor we were surprised at how filthy the doors and walls were, there was even a swastika symbol painted on the door next to the elevator.

This hotel could be fantastic, but it fails as a 5 star and gives the Hyatt Regency a bad image.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aizanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a short vaccation.
Hotel is good,has a casino.
Stupa is walking distance.
Jogging track available besides pool.
There was a pickup limousine from airport
Hotel staff (reservation)was made from the hotel website ,but lack of coordination between the staff during reservation.
During the political issue in nepal ,They could have notified regarding the situation in the country,So the trip could have been postponded .
The check-inn process was just ok.
The restaurant is awesome and the staff,the POX bar and restaurant good and friendly staff.
Especially helpfull staff from the bell desk/concierge/travel desk.during the political issue.
Kept us informed regularly.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing room,In the hotel website you also have a pool facing and aswell as other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cukoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#7 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#42 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#58 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing