We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Hyatt for 3 nights. On arrival, they had a little surprise waiting for me in the room... we arrived a couple of days after my birthday, and they had a left a beautiful cake for me in my room. Our rooms overlooked the rose garden, with beautiful pink roses. Staffs are very informative and guiding us through in getting to places around Kathmandu. Kids loved the pool. Great hotel for family. . The back door leads Boudhanath Stupa. Spa services are great.Thank you for making the trip memorable. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your stay in our hotel and your experience in Nepal. We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the hotel.

We shall definitely share your feedback on your interaction with our hotel associates and how it assisted in your visit to places within Kathmandu. As a hotel we are located close to the airport and touristic sites like Boudhanath Stupa, a UNESCO world heritage site while offering guests the experience of a resort with our large pool, 37 acres of landscaped gardens and varied food & beverage options for a family on a holiday to enjoy.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we do look forward to welcoming you and family back next year. Please do feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to ensure we have your booking done.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

A clean and luxurious hotel, in a convenient location near Boudhanath Stupa. The calm atmosphere is a welcome respite from the hectic city.

The swimming pool is large, attractive, and clean. It doesn't seem to be heavily used.

The free breakfast buffet was, if you can believe it, a highlight of my time in Kathmandu. Tons of fresh, delicious, interesting food, including yak cheese!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback post your stay with us.

As mentioned we as a hotel do feel privileged to be overlooking the Boudhanath Stupa, one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal and have nearly 37 acres of landscaped gardens to offer to our guests. Thank you for your feedback on our swimming pool and yes especially on a good day it is a favorite spot for our guests. Also noted your input on our breakfast buffet and it being a highlight of your trip.

Once again thank you for all your positive inputs and we do feel proud to have served you and ensure you had a pleasant experience of Nepal and our hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I happened to stay here for one of my business conferences. The property is spread over a vast area, not very far from the Airport. The traditional welcome is a good experience.Most of the rooms have excellent views like either the swimming pool & garden view or the garden & water fountain view. Mine was on third floor with water fountain & pond view which was very soothing & relaxing especially in the morning. The hotel has got excellent swimming pool with a kids pool & an open Jacuzzi. The Rox bar on the ground floor is excellent. The staff of the hotel restaurant "The Cafe" was very courteous & helpful. The Room service was also quick & efficient.
Now few thing which took away the fifth star from my ratings: The carpets & the upholstery of the back rests in the rooms were looking old & unclean. Similarly the carpet in the lobby was also looking old. There was old style TV instead of LCD in the room with choice of limited channels. There were frequent power cuts & power back up was there but the change over was not smooth & it used to take few seconds to minutes for the changeover. The bed mattress quality was not that good, in fact I had backchat due to it. Could not visit the spa as could not get an appointment as there were no empty slots.
But overall our stay was a nice experience & will definitley stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remo2000in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback post your stay with us. We are happy to know how the facilities and the hotel surrounding appealed to your general well being. Furthermore your interaction with our staff will be shared with them and we are pleased to note that you found them courteous, helpful and efficient.

Coming to your inputs on the state of the hotel, TVs currently being used and spa slots, thank you for sharing these and we shall definitely look to them as areas of improvement and shall work on them. As for the power situation in the hotel and the city at large, unfortunately Kathmandu suffers from acute power shortage and we as a hotel have to heavily rely on generators to support our needs. Power cuts in Kathmandu are frequent and sometimes not planned thus our power back-up system usually takes between 8 to 12 seconds to come on. We do apologies for this in-convenience caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Have a family trip. It was really good for family holidays. The architecture of this hotel is beautiful. Traditional warm welcome make the trip memorable.
It's located in a nice place and far from the crowd. The communication with city center or Thames is not that good but the hotel has its own shuttle service to drop to Thames and few more places. One day we took it but when we return it was late and we had problem to reach there by taxi. Difficult to get a taxi driver at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamshad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to read how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel

I have noted your comments with regards to the taxi services and would like to highlight that in Kathmandu it is a challenge to find taxis late at night. Hence we do encourage our guest to make reservation with our concierge in advance.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for three nights following our trip to the Everest. The hotel is an oasis in the chaos of Kathmandu. Rooms are large and comfortable and I disagree with other reviewers that say that it looks tired. I found our room clean, well kept and comfortable. The lobby is impressive, the balcony overseeing the gardens and the pool is perfect for an evening drink. The swimming pool is a great place to relax. Breakfast is delicious with a wide selection of items and very good quality, particularly the Indian specialties which are changed daily
The hotel is located close to the Boudhanat Stupa, which means that there are several decent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel
We visited friends who were staying in one of the hotels ranked as top three by Trip Advisor and the Hyatt was clearly superior in everything from the room to the common areas
I don't understand how this hotel can rank 19 among the hotels in Kathmandu. It should be one of the top three

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Braziliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback post your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to make your visit to Nepal and Everest a memorable one. We as a hotel do pride ourselves in our service delivery and our product and such comments as yours does make the moment worthwhile – thank you very much!

The ranking of the hotel as you have stated is something which is ever changing and with your positive inputs we shall definitely strive to reach the top, however you considering us amongst the top three is a tremendous source of inspiration for us to be proud of and shall definitely share with the entire hotel.

We do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed three nights in August, 2013. Staff were a 10. Very attentive and helpful with every request. The 5th floor shows some wear but overall the hotel facilities and amenities exceeded our expectations. Will stay at this hotel in the future. Fifteen minutes from the airport in even difficult traffic. Do not miss the buffet. Excellent and broad selection of local and international cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and our associates who were instrumental in making your stay memorable . It is truly through such feedback that we strive to achieve a level of excellence which we as a hotel are proud of. Furthermore we have noted your feedback on our buffet selection and happy to know that you enjoyed it. Likewise your inputs on the hotel facilities needing up gradation will be looked into so that we are able to prove your words “exceed our guest’s expectations”.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This Hyatt is unlike any other Hyatt I visited, really built following the local religious architecture oof the Hindus. Tne service is really attentive, they provide all information one ask and much more sicne they can also arrange individual tours. Kathmandu is very interesting city but chaotic and tiring, I suggest to have someone expert planning all your logistics. Breakfast was really good and plentiful, the swimming pool area big and well laid out. A great stay all in all

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to know that you had a great stay with us and we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#88 of 207 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £121 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing