We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very centrally located place with lush green surrounding.
Easy to access to the city places and also easy to go to the airport.
The hotel has a very good friendly staff and very good choice of food
The pool is nice and if you are intersted in gambling they do have a small casino in the hotel
The ambience of the hotel gives the cultural touch of Nepal
The rooms are very cosy
Overall a very nice and comfortable stay in Kathmandu at the Hyatt Regency...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my first stay at the Hyatt, although I have visited it several times for meetings and meals. First things first - the food is superb, especially breakfast.

The stay was decent too. The quality of the chain hotels in Kathmandu isn't too fancy, but Hyatt was quite decent. Checkin was a breeze, and the staff were friendly and helpful (except for trying multiple times to make me sign up for the rewards program!). The rooms were pretty good too, except that some of them need to be renovated as they have started showing their age.

The hotel might seem to be located quite far from a lot of activities in Kathmandu, but if you step out the back exit and walk a few blocks, you come to a nice square with the temple and a bunch of very good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eLeCtRiKbLuEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

this hotel is a true oasis in the hussle and bussle of Kathmandu. It is very serene, the lobby is huge and fabulous. The rooms are quite roomy and updated. The grounds are expansive, there is a huge pool. There is even a backdoor you can get out of that leads to interesting streets that end up at the main Stupa. The restaurant is great and service is wonderful. Definitely THE must stay in hotel.

Room Tip: it is definitely worthwhile to stay in the club. They have free breakfast, higher floor rooms with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

By far the best hotel in Kathmandu. Was traditionally staying at the hotels in Darbar Marg area and found their service levels had deteriorated significantly hence decided to try out Hyatt. This hotel is located closer to the airport and is on a large property which is very well maintained. Truly enjoyed walking around the jogging trail which provides you with the privacy you need. You do not feel unsafe as hotel security does a good job of ensuring the place is safe and secure. Staff is courteous and professional and food is excellent. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and appreciate your positive inputs on our hotel and its facilities post your stay with us. As mentioned the hotel is located on 37 acres of landscaped gardens and even though it is only 5 km from the city centre of Durbar Marg, it does offer a serene and tranquil environment for our guests. Furthermore we are happy to note that you found our associates professional and enjoyed our food on offer.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Hyatt for 3 nights. On arrival, they had a little surprise waiting for me in the room... we arrived a couple of days after my birthday, and they had a left a beautiful cake for me in my room. Our rooms overlooked the rose garden, with beautiful pink roses. Staffs are very informative and guiding us through in getting to places around Kathmandu. Kids loved the pool. Great hotel for family. . The back door leads Boudhanath Stupa. Spa services are great.Thank you for making the trip memorable. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your stay in our hotel and your experience in Nepal. We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the hotel.

We shall definitely share your feedback on your interaction with our hotel associates and how it assisted in your visit to places within Kathmandu. As a hotel we are located close to the airport and touristic sites like Boudhanath Stupa, a UNESCO world heritage site while offering guests the experience of a resort with our large pool, 37 acres of landscaped gardens and varied food & beverage options for a family on a holiday to enjoy.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we do look forward to welcoming you and family back next year. Please do feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to ensure we have your booking done.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A clean and luxurious hotel, in a convenient location near Boudhanath Stupa. The calm atmosphere is a welcome respite from the hectic city.

The swimming pool is large, attractive, and clean. It doesn't seem to be heavily used.

The free breakfast buffet was, if you can believe it, a highlight of my time in Kathmandu. Tons of fresh, delicious, interesting food, including yak cheese!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback post your stay with us.

As mentioned we as a hotel do feel privileged to be overlooking the Boudhanath Stupa, one of the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal and have nearly 37 acres of landscaped gardens to offer to our guests. Thank you for your feedback on our swimming pool and yes especially on a good day it is a favorite spot for our guests. Also noted your input on our breakfast buffet and it being a highlight of your trip.

Once again thank you for all your positive inputs and we do feel proud to have served you and ensure you had a pleasant experience of Nepal and our hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I happened to stay here for one of my business conferences. The property is spread over a vast area, not very far from the Airport. The traditional welcome is a good experience.Most of the rooms have excellent views like either the swimming pool & garden view or the garden & water fountain view. Mine was on third floor with water fountain & pond view which was very soothing & relaxing especially in the morning. The hotel has got excellent swimming pool with a kids pool & an open Jacuzzi. The Rox bar on the ground floor is excellent. The staff of the hotel restaurant "The Cafe" was very courteous & helpful. The Room service was also quick & efficient.
Now few thing which took away the fifth star from my ratings: The carpets & the upholstery of the back rests in the rooms were looking old & unclean. Similarly the carpet in the lobby was also looking old. There was old style TV instead of LCD in the room with choice of limited channels. There were frequent power cuts & power back up was there but the change over was not smooth & it used to take few seconds to minutes for the changeover. The bed mattress quality was not that good, in fact I had backchat due to it. Could not visit the spa as could not get an appointment as there were no empty slots.
But overall our stay was a nice experience & will definitley stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remo2000in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback post your stay with us. We are happy to know how the facilities and the hotel surrounding appealed to your general well being. Furthermore your interaction with our staff will be shared with them and we are pleased to note that you found them courteous, helpful and efficient.

Coming to your inputs on the state of the hotel, TVs currently being used and spa slots, thank you for sharing these and we shall definitely look to them as areas of improvement and shall work on them. As for the power situation in the hotel and the city at large, unfortunately Kathmandu suffers from acute power shortage and we as a hotel have to heavily rely on generators to support our needs. Power cuts in Kathmandu are frequent and sometimes not planned thus our power back-up system usually takes between 8 to 12 seconds to come on. We do apologies for this in-convenience caused.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#67 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#88 of 207 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
460 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £121 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing