We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with lovely views and bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #31 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with lovely views and bathrooms”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having arrived from London via Doha, the room was overlooking the Stupa ( Room 549 on arrival and 519 on return a week later) with a large bathroom and one of the largest baths to luxuriate in I have ever seen in an hotel. We needed that after the long overnight flights. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the Café is open all the day for a la carte meals. This is useful if you do a full day sightseeing and come back at 3.15pm wondering if you can get a meal- the answer is yes. The swimming pool is unheated, but the Jacuzzi is nice and warm. it is 20 minutes from the airport ( potholes and traffic permitting).
Everyone told us that we could not check-in online with Qatar Airways in Kathmandu. This is not so and we did it from the hotel business centre in 4 minutes- including the Doha-London sector, and printed the boarding passes.
Food generally is expensive as there is a 10% service charge and a 13% Government tax on top- so when you look at the price of any food on a menu ad 25%. This is not just for the hotel here, but throughout Nepal.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Stupa- and with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback post your stay with us. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant experience with our facilities at the hotel. Do hope you had positive memories to take home and should you plan a return trip we would be happy to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    491
    159
    50
    31
See reviews for
280
428
149
347
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Kathmandu Hyatt at the end of a hectic tour of India and Nepal -- what a wonderful experience. The rooms were large, attractive and comfortable. The bathroom was enormous and comfy as well. The staff was wonderful -- attentive and efficient.
The hotel backs up to the Boudhanath Stupa, which makes for a lovely walk when you have some free time. We spent most days on excursions here and there, so the location was ideal -- far enough from the hubub of the central tourist area to let you relax, but near enough to visit on a whim. The free hotel shuttle will drop you off at the big tourist market, and you're on your way.
The breakfast buffet was great -- you can sample a variety of wonderful Indian and Nepali dishes, but a full American/European menu is available as well.
We were told this is the nicest hotel in Katmandu, and I believe it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and posting your comment on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to note that the hotel and its services were up to your expectations. With our location being within walking distance to Boudhanath Stupa, we do offer our hotel as being a retreat to guests visiting this area while it being nestled on 36 acres of landscaped gardens, it is truly an oasis to return to with the hustle and bustle that Kathmandu is.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited the hotel for a short break and were delighted with the reception, quality and cleanliness of the hotel. We had arranged to be picked up at the airport on arrival and were met on time and quickly transported to the hotel where we were checked in without fuss.
A great place to stay. The only negative is the selection of food in the main dining room, this was a little limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It gives me immense pleasure to note that the hotel and its services met your expectations.

We have noted your comment on the selection of food and will certainly look into our selection options and strive to continually improve on the services we offer to our guests. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Kathmandu and our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

From the picture you can tell that this is an amazing place to stay at. The staff is amazingly courteous (they provided us a free room upgrade since our room wasn't ready). The hotel is amazing, the happy hour the hotel throws for guests is great and the breakfast was always a welcomed way to start the morning. Check-in and check-out was a smooth process. The hotel is not far off from the airport and main tourist attractions. They even provided us comfortable and safe transportation to our bungee site which was an added bonus since we didn't know the language and how to get a full-day's transport.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank acabnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I've been to kathmandu few times. This is a really nice hotel with an amazing garden. But its a bit far from thamil which is the busiest area there. Its alright the lobby is amazing and the rooms are tired but its alright. The only disadvantage is we had to get a taxi to go everywhere.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Vaud, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

...but nothing like any other 5 star Hyatt I have visited! Staff are charming and helpful and want to be obliging. My room was spacious and the bed very comfortable with a new mattress (but furniture pretty shabby). The first "non-smoking" room I was offered literally stank of cigarettes but this was quickly rectified by a room change. This time I was given a wheelchair friendly room (bathroom adapted to accommodate this) which I didn't need but it was fresh smelling. Unfortunately the shower was curtained rather than glass screened (for aforesaid wheelchair use if required) but the curtain did not reach the floor so the entire floor became soaked after every shower. Lots of dust and cobwebs around at high level and much of the building would benefit from a bit of a facelift! There is a need for a chef with real international hotel/catering experience if this is what visitors require as the food was a poor imitation of western cuisine, although naturally local-style foods were better cooked. Not many shops or food outlets to explore in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but the grounds and pool area and a pleasant (although rather old and tired looking) spa compensated, plus the Boudhanath Stupa is just an easy walk away . Poor lighting meant an excursion on foot at night beyond the hotel grounds could be a bit of an unnerving experience (stray dogs etc.); so taxis necessary and wow that was an experience!

Room Tip: Higher floor towards Boudhanath Stupa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is on huge grounds with tennis and large swimming complex. The breakfast had good service with quality bacon and eggs. The pork sausage looked a little raw, but they knew how to fry an over easy egg. The room was ok, need flat screen tvs and a sink that can drain more quickly. I liked the lobby and sitting among the stone monuments. I had fish and chips three times from the restaurant overlooking pool, more fish than meets the eye. I did get Delhi belly but i don't think it was from the hotel. I did not confuse the casino from the ones in Vegas. Machines old and the card tables dated, not much of a draw for people there. I walked over to the stupa using the back gate, a short walk. Convenient, but the scooters zoom by you with little regard for safety, there are no scooters in the stupa circle which is a blessing. I do not think there is a better hotel in Katmandu that the Hyatt. Went to Baktapur and the Himalayas by travel van, a must.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the stupa, also faces the mts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cness67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,120 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,057 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#77 of 201 in Kathmandu
465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 201 in Kathmandu
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing