We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #31 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Serene and calm”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Hyatt has been the only hotel I have chosen to stay whenever I travel to Kathmandu and that being very frequent. In my recent stay I enjoyed the same consistent service and courteousness of the staff and the hotel offered the same calm and serene environment tone lax after stressful business meetings.

Hyatt never ceases to give its best to the guests and it makes a busy stay in Kathmandu enjoyable.

Thanks Hyatt for yet another wonderful experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShanakaRSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    486
    152
    48
    30
See reviews for
269
427
147
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Nepal, still a long way to go by Hyatt standards and international standards. I had a mixed experience though, with basic instructions on laundry being ignored, the staff finally handled this well.

Room Tip: Try for the executive club rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayushmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A wonderful entrance with a walkway between water filled pools - sadly one of our group fell in overawed - leading to a serene lobby area with musicians. The hotel was good with attentive service, impressive rooms and general facilities but the key cards for the rooms were idiosyncratic at best, the food whilst very good disappointingly lacked local emphasis/ specialities and what hotel of this class cannot provide tonic for G&T ... a major issue. (They o

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npgsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here on two occasions in November whilst travelling with a group on holiday. It was definitely the best hotel we stayed in, both in India and Nepal. First impressions - impressive! You enter via a huge double brass door into a huge foray with temples, quiet soothing music and calm. The rooms are fabulous, clean, spacious, fantastic comfortable beds, linen, towels all top quality. The bathrooms were all superior too with everything you could want for. Service top notch apart from one little hiccup which I'm not going to dwell on. The food, both a la carte and buffet, was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. I also booked myself in for a Hot Stones massage - wow! wonderfully relaxing and invigorating. Only bad thing .... its far to far to go for a weekend!

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, all overlooking the gardens, pool side, Bhoudanath Stupa and the hotel is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highleghlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. We are delighted to read your review , It gives us a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. I am happy to know that our team efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel has a stunning lobby and pool. It's a bit out of town though. The bathrooms were exceptional and the spa could not be better. My Everest flight was cancelled due to the weather so I decided to have a massage instead. It was the best I have ever had and in comparison to UK prices very cheap. The downside to this hotel is the pigeons! I was enjoying a lovely G&T on the terrace when plop! Right in my drink. A few minutes later another on the table. This hotel lacks the character of the Dwarikas in Kathmandu but is still a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback . It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the overall ambiance of the hotel and treatment received at our spa.

I regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the pigeons, we are aware of this issue and continuously trying to eradicate this problem with spikes being installed where possible, unfortunately we have not been achieve a 100% result due to the design of the hotel and this being a common problem amongst the hotels in Kathmandu valley. As a hotel our effort is to try create an experience which will make a guest happy – thank you once again for your feedback and we hope Hyatt Regency Kathmandu remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits.

Best regards,


Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here on two separate occasions recently. Magnificent edifice and spacious lobby. The first impression is that it smacks of quality. Clientele included a mixture of business, airline personnel, tour groups, individual holiday makers. Despite the activity, it was so quiet and calming inside the hotel. We ate it the Italian restaurant ( superb atmosphere and food), and in the buffet a couple of times for evening and breakfast. The quality and variety of food was top notch. Service was the best we've experienced for some time.
Rooms were large modern, well equipped. Attention to detail was amazing, even down to a spare toothbrush and paste - handy when your suitcase has been collected. Air conditioning and temperature well controlled and room was well insulated. Superb bed.
Service to the room was brilliant- very quick. A couple of issues with the door keys, safe not opening, and circuit breaker, were dealt with with speed and without fuss.
There is a pool outside in nice grounds, but a preferred activity was to take tea or 'sun-downers' on the magnificent terrace, marveling at the great views. Opposite the entrance of the hotel there is a large superstore, and in another direction it is a 10 minute stroll to the 'Stupa', and the local and tourist shops,as well as cafes. Making it a convenient place to stay,
Apart from the extortionate Wi-Fi rates, this is a brilliant hotel, and our stay was too short.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. It is indeed very heartening to know that you have had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed the overall service and the ambience of the hotel. As mentioned with the hotel overlooking Boudhnath Stupa and nestled on 37 acres of landscaped gardens, it truly exuberates a serene environment for your guests to enjoy.

Furthermore, we have also noted your inputs on the Internet facilities at the hotel. It is currently an outsourced service but we do hope we can review our rates in the near future, however we do offer complimentary internet facilities for our Regency Club and Suite guests.

We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jammu City, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu was very pleasant. Clean rooms, courteous management and staff, excellent food and service made our experience great. The vibrant, colourful garden enhances the resort experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishekindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#74 of 198 in Kathmandu
456 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 198 in Kathmandu
369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing