We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel for Exploring Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel for Exploring Kathmandu”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent 10 days here while exploring the sights in the Kathmandu valley. We loved the location with easy walking access to the area surrounding the Boudhanath Stupa, the great food, and the peaceful atmosphere. The food at the buffets for breakfast and dinner are excellent with a wide range of choices - there is an exceptionally good variety of vegetarian options. The staff dote on you and are very receptive to your requests - they knew us by name after a few days. The hotel architecture is beautiful and it was always refreshing to return to the calm and peaceful quiet of the hotel after a day of sightseeing and riding through the crowded and bustling streets of Kathmandu. Wifi access was excellent and the power is always on - a real plus in Kathmandu where load sharing cuts electricity for a good portion of the day. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and would stay here on future trips to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonY400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for your encouraging and kind comments about the hotel and the facilities offered. Our chef takes special care when preparing our menus, and it is great to hear that you were pleased with the vegetarian choices available. Your words of appreciation for our staff encourages them to continue to strive for excellence.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends, we do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    495
    161
    50
    31
See reviews for
286
433
151
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is one of my personal favourites. There is very little you can complain about the hotel as it somehow gives you a very cozy feel. The hospitality is fantastic, food is great, the room quality for Nepal standards are exceptional. The ease of access to the city is good. The banquets are spacious enough to host large groups. Overall a complete package and by far the best hotel in Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yadush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind positive response and the appreciation of our hotel. I am glad to know that we are your personal preferred hotel in Nepal. Thank you. Guest satisfaction & service are our primary motive and hence, it is very gratifying to know that our valuable guests are well taken care of.

Thank you once again for your compliments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue Hill, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

After a great trek we all really appreciated and used the great facilities and service in this hotel.
I recommend the club rooms with dining floor, sauna, spa, steam room and gym & wifi included. After a crazy day in Kathmandu the hotel is a much appreciated retreat to pampered sanity. Also loved the tennis court and terrific massages - Saroj is a highly skilled masseur who fixed my back from the hard tennis court.
The food at the buffets for breakfast and dinner are very hard to resist - we failed to go al la cart when enticed by wide ranging foods and irristitable Himilayan French Cheese.
If you are thinking of staying at this hotel - just do it - you will not regret it - great professional service and style - a sanctuary.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank eccaberek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor. Your compliments about the hotel and the services offered is greatly appreciated. I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to Saroj.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

calm and peaceful
resonating the mountain music .
perfectly relaxing
staff courteous and eager to help
architectural beauty reflecting the structures of chaityas . very peaceful and serene. totally a place you would want to stay all day long. although in the heart of city but the hotel is surprisingly quiet .
in the evening the lobby is alive by the music of flute and the local musical instruments played by local artist . we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the music touched the heart.
food good and for an indian vegetarian traveller , decent vegetarian spread.

Rooms very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashishtravelouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel’s great services and associates. It is always our endeavor to extend the best hospitality and it is comments as yours which are most rewarding; to know that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your future visits.

Best regards,


Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Have been a regular visitor to Kathmandu for many years and have become a huge fan of this hotel for its consistency, great personalized service and ambience as while it has a great location once you are in the hotel it is supremely quiet with a fantastic bar and deck to sit at all day, fine dining in the ROX and just an altogether great feel. Super staff who have been there forever and a dynamic director of sales Sanjeev Thapa and a resident manager Suman.

Room Tip: Stay close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback about our hotel and service standards. We have noted your comments about the services and the facilities that you have enjoyed at our hotel. Also, your compliments will be passed onto Mr. Sanjeev and Mr. Suman and will be much appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Hyatt Regency is, simply, the most pampered, relaxing place you can stay in Nepal. You might think that you wouldn't feel "in Nepal"; but you do. You might think that a big chain hotel would not make you feel welcome: but it does, in many very personal ways. I would not want to spend all of a trip to Nepal in the Hyatt; and it's not very convenient for southern and western Kathmandu; but I would definitely stay there on arrival after a late flight, and for a few days of self-pampering at the end of a trip the Hyatt provides the ideal base for exploring Bouddhanath and the hills and ridges to the north.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate your kind words of compliments.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I visited Kathmandu, staying at the Hyatt. A wonderful oasis of green and calm in the midst of the hectic surroundings. We were treated so well by the staff that we hated to leave. Smiles abound as you walk around the property, a nice break after the busy city. Gorgeous pool and outside areas. Nice dining options with a very good wine list. We were upgraded to an incredible room with a nice view of the sunset. At night, the city is incredibly dark due to local power outages so make sure you are back by dark.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were treated so well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsueatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback . The hotel nestled on 37 acres of landscaped gardens does give the ambiance of peace and tranquility in a hustling and bustling Kathmandu and I am glad that you were able to enjoy the location. I appreciate your comment respective to our hotel and associates.

We look forward to your return visit to make it more memorable.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,140 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,064 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#23 of 203 in Kathmandu
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 203 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing