We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Ranked #36 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's a great place. Nice, tidy and clean facilities in general. The reception area is very clean and nicely arranged with some local religious artifacts that make you feel in Nepal. Food is well prepared and schedules are the same as large hotels. Very close to the front desk there's another little desk where you can arrange trips or tours at your discretion that can be very helpful if you want to add a different activity (Be very specific about the guide's language of preference). It is one of the most famous hotels in Kathmandu and many social events take place in this hotel but they are not badly held and disturbances are not a common scenario in the rooms. The pool area is nice with some waiters and staff that serve food and drinks when anyone shows by the pool area. Most likely the best hotel in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Higher floor areas are nicer and less noisy than lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoniopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are very happy to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Your appreciation of the reception area, the food and the pool is very encouraging and we shall share the same with the team.

Thank you once again for your kind appreciation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived at the Hyatt Regency in Kathmandu and we were immediately blown away by the opulence of the amazing reception area. The staff here were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were really good, the food was also very good.
If you want to you can eat out on the veranda in the fresh air.
You get complimentary bottles of water and a selection of types of tea in the room.
The whole hotel was extremely clean and the grounds were well maintained. All in all it was the best hotel we stayed in during the holiday.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to receive your positive feedback about the décor, hotel facilities, cleanliness and caring attitude of our associates. Your appreciation is very motivating to us and this definitely helps us to achieve higher standards of excellence.
Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I and my wife had breakfast buffet here and it's probably the best I have had so far in my life. The food delighted my taste buds. It was so delicious that you will come back for sure. Price is very high but, the food quality is worth the price. Service was excellent. It's a beautyful hotel in prime location offering fab food. It is located a bit far away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Everest1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our food & beverage offering. We are glad to know that your wife and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet served at The Café Restaurant. We do try and incorporate an international spread to cater to our guests’ requirements and your comment about it being “probably the best” does motivate us to strive for more.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to stay with us and enjoy other aspects of the hotel.

Best regards

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for 2 nights at the start of our trip to Nepal and again for 2 nights at the end. It an excellent large hotel. The grounds are excellent. The food is really good, both the dinner buffet and the a la carte. The only downside was that there was a large wedding being held their on our second stay which restricted our use of parts of the hotel, including the pool area at times. It was also quite noisy on one night.
Staff were very helpful and facilities are fantastic.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to have you with us and delighted that you enjoyed our services . Kindly accept our personal apology for the inconvenience you encountered due to the wedding and we shall ensure we are managing the same more effectively in future prioritizing our guest’s need.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you in not too distant future.

Best regards

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hyatt Regency is the hotel to stay at Kathmandu! We stayed on arrival before we travelled to Pokhara and Chitwan. Very pleasant experience. With the hotel proximity to the Big Buddha, we first went with our guide in the car. Then, we actually "walked" back to the Big Buddha on our final day at Kathamandu. The staff & service are both very good too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, Director of Marketing at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. The hotel is well placed with it being in walking distance to the UNESCO heritage site of Boudhanath Stupa, which in itself is a great getaway for those visiting Nepal. Your words of appreciation about our associates encourages us to continue to strive for excellence and goodwill from guests such as yourself.

We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Best regards

Suman Shrestha
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

After my visit to Nepal in Feb here I am again at the Hyatt. This time the hotel is quite full with an Indian wedding going on (for days) and a movie shooting as well. The usual serenity is somewhat broken by the loud crowd sometimes obnoxious and oblivious to other guests needs to enjoy the hotel.

The staff is as pleasant as usual and the service is great despite the high occupancy rate. Breakfast at the Cafe is busy and not so peaceful.

Anyway the hotel service, staff and the comfy atmosphere never fails to deliver an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank ShanakaRSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We value the time you have taken out to write a review about our hotel , thank you very much indeed. Kindly accept my personal apology for the disturbance you encountered due to the film shooting and I shall ensure we are managing the same more effective shall the occasion arise again. I truly appreciate your honest comments and we will continue to focus our efforts to diminish the influence of such events to the minimum.

On a positive note, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the service rendered by our charming associates . Thank you once again and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,


Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt on the last night of my month long trip to Nepal, upon returning from a short visit to the Kathmandu Valley. We booked a standard room on Gold Passport points and was upgraded for a small charge to a Regency Club room, which provided views of the stupa, free internet and breakfast, access to the club lounge and a complimentary airport transfer, all good value in my opinion.

Rooms were of the usual high standard and the shower was one of the most powerful I have ever experienced, perfect for a post trek cleanse. Hotel facilities were also good, we used the pool to relax and have a few drinks by, the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and the club lounge to relax after checkout as our flight was not until late in the evening. The food was very good in the main restaurant, and the breakfast was the best that I had in Nepal, as well the staff were very friendly and hospitable.

The location has its plusses and minuses. On the plus side, it is within walking distance to the Boudhanath Stupa, via some delightful back alleys past monasteries and through a residential area, it is close to the airport (you can see the runway from the club lounge), and as it is on the outskirts of Kathmandu you can avoid a lot of traffic if you are visiting Bhaktapur or some of the other towns in the Kathmandu Valley. On the minus side though, it is quite some distance to Thamel, Durbar Square, Monkey Temple and some of the other main tourist attractions in Kathmandu, so I would not recommend the Hyatt as your main base for touring in Kathmandu, unless you have your own transport as walking to these places would take time. That being said, there were a lot of tour groups staying at the Hyatt, so it is a popular hotel.

My only real complaint is the USD$100 block they put on your credit card, reserving some to cover any incidental costs, while this is an annoying and shows a lack of trust towards guests, it is not uncommon, but what I found very annoying is that it is going to take 2 weeks to have the $100 refunded, and the refund slip I was given from the credit card machine, was issued by a different bank to that which took out the initial block, so fingers crossed the money is refunded. What would be good would be if the front desk advises you of the 2-week delay so you can have an option to give them a cash deposit and thereby avoid any possible issues dealing with Nepalese banks….

All in all, I would recommend the Hyatt Kathmandu, especially for the end of your trip as a nice luxury treat, to relax and feel pampered and clean up after a tough trek and prepare for a long flight home, but I would choose a more central hotel for the bulk of your sightseeing in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thzeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your experience. Indeed the hotel has its own charm and beauty and is a perfect place to unwind and relax after a tiring trek . The Regency Club with its additional service is a choice many of our guests enjoy while overlooking the Boudhanath Stupa. I am very happy to read that you had a great experience, enjoyed the food and found our service exemplary.

As a hotel we are fortunate to be located in close proximity to UNESCO heritage sites like Bouddhanath Stupa and Pashupatinath temple as it makes travel for our guests to explore Kathmandu more easy. Whereas for the major parts of city , we do offer complimentary shuttle service to major points in town such as Thamel , Durbarmarg , Kantipath and New Road to ease our guests. I truly can understand your concern regarding the amount blocked, kindly contact me at patrick.iserlohe@hyatt.com and I shall outline the procedure we follow. Please be rest assured that the amount is made available through the respective bank.

We do hope we can have the opportunity to welcoming you for your next trek to Nepal.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#97 of 210 in Kathmandu
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tibet International
Hotel Tibet International
#20 of 210 in Kathmandu
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: | Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 9609, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £93 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is a 5 star luxury hotel and resort in Kathmandu and is set on 37 acres of landscaped grounds, created in the traditional Newari style of Nepalese architecture. This beautiful hotel and resort is located on the road to the Boudhanath Stupa: the most holy of all Tibetan Buddhist shrines outside of Tibet, and a UNESCO World Heritage Site which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is just 4 km (2.4 miles) from the Tribhuvan International Airport and 6 km (3.7 miles) from the city center of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing