We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying with elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #66 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I spent the Nepali New Year (14 April) this year (2011) and spent some wonderful moments in Nepal around Kathmandu and Pokhara.

My stay in Kathmandu was made more comfortable due to my stay in Hotel Radisson at Lazimpat which seemed to close to all the hot and happening places in the capital. Apart from that,my room was vey comfortable with all the modern amenties that once could ask. I also spent a good deal of time at the SPA and the rooftop swimming pool. The buffet breakfast was really delicious and had lots of options. The only non-positive thing that comes to my mind was the temporary closure of the hotel casino. However, I learned that it was about to be opened shortly. Definitely, I will consider staying there once I go to Nepal once again.

Room Tip: Dont encash your currencies in the hotel lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Cannot comment on the cost of the hotel rooms as booked via travel agent.
Lovely hotel, out of town, but good walk to centre.
The entire staff who we were in contact with were polite, courteous and very helpul.
No complaints at all. We had a lovely clean room, very large bed.
The food we had was excellent and varied at both breakfast and evening meal. There is a main restaurant, Italian restaurant and 2 snack bars. Outside eating area, but not used generally during our stay. Lovely flowers outside and in reception, really add to the charm.
Rooftop swimming pool and fitness centre.
Would use this hotel again if ever in Kathmandu.
There is a World Expeditions desk which presume arrange trekking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stmeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The hotel is very well located, at the heart of the city, near by the Royal Palace, Thamel (tourists area) and Durbar Marg.
They offer nice restaurants options inside the property: The Fun Café (serving breakfast, lunch and dinner), Olive Garden (dinner), Corner Bar (like a pub) and Pool Restaurant (lunch and dinner). If you feel guilty after having all these options, you can exercise at their very well equipped gym. The pool and sauna are also nice relaxing options.
The front desk staff is very courteous, and will help you anytime you need. The business center has 2 computers available for guests.
Nepal as India, they have weddings season three times a year and if you are lucky during your stay, the restaurant (The Fun Café) has a glass wall to the Waterfall Garden Patio where all the parties happens. You will have a glance at their culture, and happens very frequently without any problems to the guest. They always finish before 11PM and even before that you can’t hear anything from the rooms!
They have very special attention for guests with Gluten Allergy, just let them know in advance.
The hair saloon is also very nice and offers good services for affordable price! You can also enjoy their pastry shop, at the front gate!
If you have the opportunity, try to meet their general manager, is a fantastic person as well all their team!
To get to the hotel, use the taxi pre-paid service from the airport for NRs 500,00 (U$ 8,00). Don’t be scared about cabs conditions, they will get you to the destination safe! Or try to request the transfer from the hotel.
Just an advise, always negotiate with the taxi during your stay in Kathmandu!
Don’t go expecting a brand new hotel, but you will definitely have a great service with very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduardoStruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The small things make the Radisson worth the money. They packed me a to-go breakfast when I checked out before the restaurant opened. They were there to arrange taxies and flights and happily answered my endless questions about directions. They gave me a voucher for a cup of tea or coffee at the Kathmandu airport which is more than it sounds like because it comes with a seat in the air conditioned restaurant and free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdolgaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed in the Radisson in early April 2011, while on business in Kathmandu.
The hotel is located a short distance from the Durbur Marg city centre, at the end of a lane off the main street in Lazimpat - the neighbouring suburb to the historic trekkers ghetto of Thamel. It would take about 15 minutes to walk to Thamel - although walking anywhere in Kathmandu is a bit of a mission and it is probably quicker and easier to take a taxi. There are inexpensive local taxis sitting directly outside the Radisson gates. Money changers, laundry, ATM machines, cafes, and gift and souvenir shops are also located in the lane directly approaching the hotel.
The Radisson is one of the better 4-5 star hotels offerings in Kathmandu - a city which has surprisingly few very good hotels at the high end of the market. Unfortunately, while it is satisfactory, it will disappoint if you are seeking something a little exotic or sophisticated. The hotel is a bit tired and in need of some refurbishing. The main lobby has a lounge area that is spacious and comfortable, and filled with foreign trekking groups meeting their guides. World Expeditions had a trekking desk in the lobby. Also in the lobby is the strangely named "Fun Cafe" - their bland and very ordinary lobby restaurant, where a rather average buffet breakfast is served each morning. The cafe does have a nice outside dining courtyard area however. There is also an Italian restaurant called the Olive Garden off the lobby, but I didn't see it open. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. There is also a very small business centre open 24 hours.
Outside in the carpark in seperate buildings were the Corner Bar, and a little pastry cafe. We drank there twice and found it extremely smoky from cigarettes on one occasion.
There is a Clark Hatch Fitness Centre in the hotel, although this is a public gym facility and not just for the guests. On the roof is a compact but nice pool area, and a rooftop BBQ restaurant and bar called Splash. It offers nice views across the city when the smog lifts on windy days.
Rooms are average sized, although dark and needing refurbishment. My bathroom smelt disgusting the entire time of the stay. I had a "Deluxe" room, but for some reason they provided shampoo, but not conditioner. The bed was one of the hardest I have ever slept on. Power in the room went off regularly, as is common in Kathmandu due to the national practice of load-shedding, but the secondary power generators always kicked in very promptly.
The hotel provides free wifi, but the complimentary service (especially in the rooms) is completely hopeless, continually crashing, and I ended up purchasing the "faster" wifi service out of complete frustration - although it was only marginally better.

We never ate dinner in the restaurant, prefering to taxi to the narrow crowded lanes of Thamel for shopping and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

it was a very terrible experience.The attitude is not satisfy the customer but to take them for a ride.Once you have booked through an agent then you are in the trap.We wanted to upgrade the rooms but to resolve ,the travel agency which had given sightseeing in the package is not at all responsible.The Casino coupons is just a mirage to take you in trap.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

When I travel one of my top criteria is a good hotel gym so I can get in early morning workouts before heading off to meetings. This hotel is misleading. While the website says it has a fully equipped gym, it doesn't mention that it is open to public membership. I don't have a problem with this, its quite common for many hotels. However, in this case there are not enough machines to meet the demand. The first morning I woke up really early due to jet lag and wandered down to the gym at 6:10, hoping to find it open before its scheduled opening at 6:30 am. Much to my surprise I found a long line of Nepali men and women, all lined up in a row,.They all rushed in as soon as the doors opened at 6:30 and claimed all the treadmills by putting their towels down. By the time the dust settled and I figured out what was going on there were no cardio machines left! This happens every single morning. Hotel guests always lost out on the chance to use good cardio machines. If a hotel wants to have open membership, they need to have more machines so that paying guests have a chance to use them! That was a big disappointment, not to mention very frustrating. The rest of the hotel was fine, average. Very strange smells in the elevator. The internet connection in rooms was slow and kept cutting out.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redskins70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#54 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#25 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £91 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing