We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in mystic Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #67 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel has everything to satisfy your expectation and some more. That's why I put Excellent mark.
The oriental garden is really authentic and mysterious, and it creates the meditating atmosphere.
Breakfast is very nice. Service is ok. Rooms are very clean, everything is comfortable. It is very important that you can reach places of interest, including famous Stupa, by foots. Very close to this hotel there are some spa centres, with a very nice treatments, like scalp massage, etc.
In front of the hotel there always are a lot of taxi, and drivers are reliable, they take you to excursions, explaining some interesting facts. Normally, I don't use such an occasions, just I do not trust, but there it seems really normal.
Hotel has a very nice terrace and spa on the top, and I was spending more than an hour every day just overlooking city, with eagles in the sky and the lines of trees in the forests and mountains which starts just from the border of the city. It is really enjoyable to visit terrace in the morning,
Lobby area is very well decorated, everything is organised for guests' satisfaction. All staff is extremely polite and happy to make you feel better.
So - I enjoyed spending time there, and would definitely choose this place next time. Thank you to all the team.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarineMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I took the casino package which includes all meals(breakfast in hotel/ lunch and dinner was in casino), airport transfers and site seeing. Dont go by the name "Raddison"! It is one of the worst 5 stars i have ever stayed in.
Aircons dont cool in the rooms. Swimming pool is of the size of a billiards table. They have a casino in the hotel. Its shabby and dirty. Waiters dont like to serve unless you are playing in lakhs on the table. Airport pick and drop was provided in shabby, old and non ac vans.
The atmosphere in casino is like a B Grade Mumbai Dance Bar.
I complained about poor service at casin at the reception, but the manager said that although the casion is in premises of raddison they have no control over its affairs.
I Dont reccomend this property unless you are very tight on budget. This is worst than a 3 star.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chest8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Radisson was the tranist point for my Mt Everest Base Camp trek. On arrival I thought it was a bit basic but upon return it was a luxurious palace!
So seriously, it was pretty good. Rooms are a good size with most of the 4-5 star benefits. There is free wifi in room (just call for a code at front desk) and it is reasonably fast.
The restaurant did a very good breakfast and I also ate in the Italian restaurant which was OK but a touch expensive for what it was. There is a bar just a little bit away from the hotel in the front entrance (Corner Bar?), it has sport TV and one night even boasted a band.
The pool is average and it seemed to be full of people who couldn't swim properly - in any event, this made good viewing from their little gem of a bar, "Breeze". The bar has great views of the city and foothills, a fair selection of snacks and cocktails and is reasonably priced. The service is a bit average but who cares after a couple fo B52's whilst watching "locals" attempting to drown themselves!
I loved the salutes from the door attendants, they thought I was a retired General (small fib on my part) but I got loads of respect!
All in all, good fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank REK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Radisson is in downtown Kathmandu, several miles north of Durbar Square. The main hotel is traditional in nature and the upgraded room reflected this style with two twin beds, a sitting/work area, full closet, bath and a view of a rooftop. Booked at the lowest rate with breakfast, the room was clean and well-kept. Warning: The electricity goes off on a regular basis and there is a flashlight provided. In the restaurant, an outage occurred about every 10 minutes but emergency lighting kicked in that provided a dimmed setting. We had breakfast from the main floor buffet (mostly local dishes) and ala carte (local & western) for other meals. Outside of the compound is an annex that appears new. The staff was most helpful, especially during a taxi strike when they used the hotel van to take passengers to the airport. My opinion is that the staff is accustomed to the obstacles presented by the hotel and Kathmandu and manages to do whatever necessary to provide a pleasant experience for the traveler. The Radisson is a viable choice in downtown Kathmandu and the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new annex, across a narrow street from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our trip did'nt start too well,as when we landed into Kathmandu,there was no pick up from the hotel for us for over an hour...after contacting the hotel we waited for over an hour and a half before we were picked from the apt...given some story that coach had broken down....which we dont believe ...they just probably forgot to send the coach..Due to load shedding,the old wing has lots of problems with the airconditioning which is not effective at all...suffered until we insisted on a room change n we were shifted to the new wing which is so much better n the airconditioning was fine.........staff are helpful....The buffet brf is excellent n of a very good standard with lots of choice n variety....on the whole enjoyed our stay...would recommend staying here again........The gym facilities are not complimentary n you have to pay extra to use it,which is strange considering that it is part of the hotel n should be complimentary for guests staying in the hotel......

Room Tip: The old wing has issues with the airconditioning,due to load shedding,however the new wing is very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed at the Radisson on several occasions. Admittedly I have stayed there when travelling with a relatively large trekking/climbing organization. Needless to say this organization can book multiple rooms at very competitive prices. Despite this the Radisson is a very good hotel. I have never had a problem with the staff. They all seem to be happy and courteous bunch.
The rooms are more than adequate, and unlike a great man hotels in Kathmandu there is never a shortage of hot water.
Breakfast is included in the price, and it would be hard to fault the large array of food choices available.
The bar that is located on the top of the hotel is a great place to sip on a cold beer and while away an hour or so. It also affords great city and distant mountain views.
Note: Alcohol prices are considerably more expensive than in other lesser hotels.
I pop across the road and purchase a few beers and utilize the bar fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Little did we know that a Casino package tour to Nepal would be so much of a fun.We wanted to visit Nepal & enquired from many travel agents & settled for Antilog Vacations who gave us the best rates for 4 days nepal tour.Their services were also upto the standard and we did not faced any issues whatsoever during our stay or sightseeing programs.The tour was booked online 15 days prior to departure.

The hotel located in Lazimpat, adjacent to the Royal Palace and within walking distance of local attractions, such as Durbar Marg and Thamel.We arrived at the hotel in the wee hours of morning & our check in process was quite comfortable with a welcome drink and didn’t consumed much time, we were received well by the staff at the check in desk which boarded us to our room on top floor.

1. Our room was quite big and spacious, beds are of king size and are very comfortable, all the much needed amenities are up and in perfect working condition, bath room is also in good condition with a tub, over all rooms are maintained well and are clean all the time, it seems to be a new construction so maintained well
2. Staff is really an asset to this hotel they are willing to go to any extent in order to satisfy our needs, which is very impressive
3. Food at this hotel is very nice almost all the restaurants serves yummy food, and the range of offerings are also vast, even though we didn’t like the arrangements at the buffet other than that every thing is fine
4. The free wifi facility is good and does the job decently well
5. The outdoor swimming pool on the fourth floor is very impressive its maintained very well, and abundant space is available to hang out around
6. Steam room and sauna were both impeccably clean, staff assured that the steam from the water in the Jacuzzi is changed twice a day
7. The hair dressers at the hotel are good with nice cuts if u need one
8. The currency changing facility at the reception is of very great help as u don hv to roam around fr tht
9. The casino adjacent the hotel is fun visiting & the best part of the trip.Its amazing.go nd see
10. Final word will definitely advice a stay here as it serves the purpose and also fulfills what ever is claimed by the hotel .


It’s the Casino which is the major attraction and it is a must visit if you are visiting Kathmandu.We also got free 5000 Rs Casino coupons from Antilog as an incentive and made 8000 Rs out of it ..:).. so worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#43 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#89 of 207 in Kathmandu
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#24 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £102 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing