We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A western hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #62 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A western hotel experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is definitley a break from the bustle of Kathmandu, but sometimes you just need a break and this is the hotel (UNLESS YOU LOOK OUTSIDE) that will give you the luxury you have craved since you left the good ol' USA!

The funniest thing was that I happen to be there during Passover and the Israeli Embassy and Jewish religious groups were holding a huge seder (under extremely watchful Israeli security). I could not believe that there were that many Jews in Kathmandu (250-300). Mazel Tov!

Room Tip: Slum views from every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    477
    226
    56
    36
See reviews for
122
148
127
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our outfitter put us up at the Radisson and we had a very pleasant stay. The included breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day with both Western and Asian offerings. The staff was very helpful and the new wing has great modern bathrooms. The hotel is a bit away from the fray of Thamel but an easy walk away. If this level of hotel is your thing, the Radisson is a good option. the rooftop restaurant in the new wing is delightful on a starry night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing if having a deluxe bathroom is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and wife stayed at this hotel for a few days during our neap trip recently. Generally good quality. Good breakfast and service. Wifi is weak. Location is poor because the hotel is accessed through a narrow lane.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Radisson a lot. The hotel restaurant and breakfast was great, a lot to choose from. The hotel has great location, nearby to shopping and nice restaurants. Very close to the area of Thamel which was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful and also gave us complimentary tours of temples in the city. The pool and fitness area is very nice and we enjoyed that a lot. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We also enjoyed a nice view. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who has come to Katmandu to enjoy the city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thetroon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel reviews really need to balance what was received versus money paid. Given the average cost of a nightly stay in the Radisson, I would have to rate the hotel as average only. This is why I have rated the value as poor. The rooms were okay, pretty much like a hotel-chain room anywhere in the world. When we discovered that our electric kettle was broken however, it took well over an hour before any hotel staff could find a replacement. Staff were courteous, if a little aloof. Like many hotels that have come to rely on group bookings, a certain level of complacency has crept into the service.
As a large chain hotel, the Radisson was able to provide some services that other, smaller hotels may not have been able to provide, it therefore makes sense for travel groups to use it. Once you have left your travel group you will find that there are much more satisfying options available in Kathmandu, at a better price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busta62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel near to new road area ( 5 minutes drive) all the malls nearby ( civil mall , kathmandu mall,vishal bazaar) best thing is that u find all indian food chain like angan, rameshwaram,gulab all pure veg near to the hotel at the new road area.next to the hotel u have one departmantel store for your daily needs.try the old building as it has more facilities than the new one. nice breakfast. must stay perfect location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel room was not bad, the average American "business hotel" experience, but service at the hotel was much worst than my other Asia experiences. Coming to the reception you had to wait for someone to come and talk to you, even if you were the only one there. Also, they were inefficient.
Breakfast was ok, many options, but not very tasteful. The decoration was also bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#73 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#57 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat | PO Box 2269, Kathmandu 2269, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu which opened in 1998 is favorably situated in Lazimpat, a prime city center location. A 260 rooms' five star hotel is designed and built to meet the international standard and to provide quality service to the guest who value time and great service. Being in the capital city, it is adjacent to the Narayanhiti Palace Museum and conveniently nestled in the diplomatic proximity within easy walking distance to the popular tourist spots like Durbarmarg and Thamel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kathmandu
Kathmandu Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing