We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service .....bloody Cheaters”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #107 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service .....bloody Cheaters”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Guys m suggesting don't choose hotel VAISHALI for your stay ...it has very bad hotel service .....they talk very sweetly but they cheat you in your bill ...n atlast if u don't agree on bill ...they fight also...so giving my best review to you is don't you ever choose this hotel ...the service they is a/c rooms but in that also they cheat by saving that light is gone ...n in generator also they don't start the a/c n they have very roudly staff ...they are so cheap that they cheat foreigner by charging them different rates at bill .. N the room service is very slow by the time you order your food they say it's on its way ,I don't know from were they get from coz they take mostly 2 hours to get the food to you but by that time our hunger dies by waiting for food ...so my last suggestion is to you guys is don't choose this hotel ...they promise that they will give you discount in your bill but by the time of checking out they don't do that..."BLOODY CHEATER "the worst hotel I seen so far is "HOTEL VAISHALI"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are always looking to improve upon our guests' experiences and take your comments to heart.
I have already had a meeting with my managers and got a clear picture of exactly what went wrong.You were continuously followed up for payment by our manger and you were not willing to pay from the very first day ,however when your credit had reached above Npr.400000 you still said you will pay on check out.On your check out you totally denied and said you have nothing to pay and you tried to fled away from the hotel.Then the managers and the security tried to stop you and didn't let your car go out of the hotel . You had threatened that you will put false review in the trip advisor and tarnish our image .However your another room guest Mr. Chakravati who was staying in 5107 paid for your swami ji and his entire room bill also and he is still staying with us in this very hotel.You even told your other room members to write against the hotel or else swamiji will be dissatisfied.
I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and hope to have the opportunity to have you back so we can we make it right.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    99
    80
    37
    22
See reviews for
73
69
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we had a real presentable stay here all the staffs are very friendly. The service we had received during our stay are excellent. Good food, very clean and neat place, housekeeping is excellent. we will definitly recomand our friends about the hotel, and will request them to choose hotel vaishalli if ever they are planning to visit Nepal

Room Tip: newly renovated rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,
It is truly our pleasure to have welcomed you to the Hotel vaishali as our valued guest. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and i am glad to read we contributed to your positive experience.I appreciate you mentioning that the hard work of our housekeeping team is visible as they work tirelessly to keep both guest rooms and common areas spotless. We are in the process of a complete product improvement plan and this will include a complete refresh of our guest rooms . Once completed I know you will enjoy the updated, fresh new look of the guest rooms our design team is putting together for us.

Thank you and we appreciate you. Please let me know when your travels bring you back so I can welcome you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in this hotel! Fantastic and extremely substantial Breakfast and the mostly friendliest staff i have ever come across in my life! The room 3107 was incredibly comfortable and we will most definitely be back! I just wish it could be sooner.

The proximity of the shopping center and the array of restaurants around make it for an excellent stay. The staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. What a wonderful experience it was. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, it was a very pleasant experience indeed. Apologies for not knowing the name of the staffs. Our room was very well appointed and very comfortable indeed. The whole experience felt like we were encapsulated in our own little bubble. The staff are very nice, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Suite Room 3107 Is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles.

The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were happy with the location and found our team to be pleasant. All our team members are trained to give an exceptional level of service to all our guests.

We had a great time serving you and we hope you choose to stay at the Vaishali Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Have not been here for one year, in that time the restaurant has been reappointed ditto the hotel bedrooms and also the restaurant. The hotel is 17 years old i am amazed at how bold and innovative the hotel management are...... all the changes greattttttt. The staffs are good. we tried a couple of others for weekends but nothing came close to this hotel and its people care and attention to details especially Anupa the Guest Relations. This hotel comes 1st in Thamel bloody wonderful people and well maintained and perfect location. breakfast restaurant improved too and the suites are just marvelous. I recommend this hotel more than anyone willing to spend a little more to get excellent service and unforgetable stay. and i personally recommend to stay in Room number 3115.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms 3115 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was a pleasure to serve you during your recent visit..We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. We would love to welcome you again.
The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were happy with the location and found our team to be pleasant. All our team members are trained to give an exceptional level of service to all our guests.

The time of your stay, we were in the midst of a lot of renovation. The room you stayed in room number 3115 is recently renovated and one of the best suites we have.The led tv partition is also the new concept and it can be turned easily to the living room and also the bedroom.

We have made several changes to all our guest rooms and are pleased to confirm that we have installed complimentary in-room tea/coffee facilities.
All our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV that offers over 50 free view channels.

We have also installed ample power sockets in all our guests’ rooms as previous guests had mentioned that they did not have enough power outlets.



We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you to the Hotel Vaishali in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed there twice, while entering the country and while existing. Both of my experiences were not so great. We were group of 15 people 11 adults and 4 kids. In-spite of sharing the flight details in advance the room was not kept ready for us. due to poor air conditioning we were offer FAN in the room but even they were in effect. Breakfast is strictly okay nothing great. Room quality is very poor. Bath Towels are stained, Hard. Bath Tub does have a stopper. Hot water takes good 5 minutes to reach the tap :(. TV is very old. Front office team is very curt and not friendly. Will never recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: A/C is very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saket G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Vaishali it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our hotel and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards.
However please be informed that we are under going room renovation and will be ready soon. we are the only 3 star hotel in kathmandu to have a 32" lcd tv in all the rooms and recently been updated and three floors are already renovated.The breakfast ranges from indian to continental cuisine including bakery live cooking eggs,baked beans ,3 varieties of indian and continental each respectively.

Please email your booking details including your reservation number to info@hotelvaishali.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've been here 2011, 2012 and now 2014. Each time the experience has been good. And it's Kathmandu, Nepal, so don't expect a western 4 or 5 star hotel. This time we stayed in Vaishali one night when arriving to Kathmandu prior to our Mustang trek, and two more nights after returning from trek.

Location is excellent, in heart of Thamel. The hotel has a large pool outside, but so far I haven't tried it. Bellboy has been reliable with sending out postcards.

My only issue this time, as in 2012, was that the breakfast was in the basement. The place has no windows. Some other location would be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liljis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that we were able to provide you with accommodations and a memorable stay. We will share your kind words with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Overall, this hotel was not bad and was situated in a prime location. Kailash Journeys organised for us to stay at this hotel at the beginning and end of our tour.

On our first visit, we were allocated rooms in the fourth floor where the rooms were rather shabby and dirty (especially the bathroom/bathtub). There were no kettles provided and it left a bad impression on us.

However, when we returned at the end of our tour, we were given a nicely done up room located on the second floor. We were very happy with this room but the bathroom was still as run down as the first room's.

I was not happy with some of the porters' attitudes as they liked to stand around and wait for tips after delivering bags or attending to your room. After tipping, one of them sneered at us and made some sort of snide comment to his co-worker as if our tip was inadequate. This was not well received on our behalf.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivybloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the poor level of service and amenities you received while staying at our hotel. We understand your frustrations and we will be addressing the issues you had with our porter staff. Meanwhile the hotel is undergoing renovation and will be perfectly ready by the end of this month.We hope the next time you are in the area you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 198 in Kathmandu
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#74 of 198 in Kathmandu
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#50 of 198 in Kathmandu
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
370 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Amadablam Hotel
The Amadablam Hotel
#181 of 198 in Kathmandu
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#103 of 198 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Property: Hotel Vaishali
Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing