We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel, Excellent Experience, Wonderful Managers"”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #107 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“"Great Hotel, Excellent Experience, Wonderful Managers"”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is our 8th stay at Vaishali Hotel and during this past two years, we can truly say that it is the best place to stay in Thamel Kathmandu. The rooms are impeccable, reservations were done quickly and well, the management are personable and inviting for a good vacation, the hotel is in a wonderful location, quiet and spotless so you can enjoy a pleasant time while resting and having a good peaceful time in the Thamel. The rooms are very clean and presentable and muffins and juice and tea or coffee with fruit get you on your way in the morning. We weer able to walk to everything. The inn staff are all friendly and very helpful with dinner, shopping & sightseeing suggestions

Room Tip: I will recommend it without hesitation, and my personnel suggestion to stay at Rooms Number 3115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!
Thank you for the glowing review, thank you for your kind words, but most of all thank you for your loyalty!! It is because of guests like you that we love what we do. We couldn't be happier that we continue to exceed your expectations and look forward "WOWing" you every time you come back.

All of us here are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to Kathmandu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    99
    80
    37
    22
See reviews for
73
69
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

stayed in Vaishali hotel in Thamel for 5 days, because of my traveler agency's contract with them. otherwise i would get out the first day. the pictures of the rooms are nothing close to what they actually are. old uncleaned with air conditioning not working more than half the time. very rude and inconsiderate stuff especially the front desk employees. would not recommend this hotel at all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. I assure you that this is not representative of the level of service we are known for, of which I truly apologise. . We are under renovation and three floors have already been completed.If possible can you kindly mail me your room number and local agent number so that i can mail you directly.Your comments have been communicated to each of the concerned departments, and we hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Pennsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

i am staying in this hotel about 10-20 nights per year, because of the warm and dedicated people and the perfect location.
Hotel Vaishali offers good value for money and if you need more restaurants, you can use those in thamel. All major shopping centers within 10 minutes walk.
The rooms are big and clean. The hotel itself is filled with friendly and helpful staff, the sswimming pool is small but convenient and the rooms are spacious and spotless.

Room Tip: Suite Room 3115 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room.
It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your friends back for a repeat visit.

Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Kathmandu. It would be my pleasure to personally welcome you back and ensure the second visit surpasses the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is very good
Its in middle of thamel
Receptionist (ranjita adhikari) help us lot
To discove Kathmandu ...!!!!!!!!!!!!
U must meet her....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but wifi not work properly! !!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Himanshu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Hotel Vaishali.. We appreciate you mentioning the hard work of Ranjita our Guest Relations Manager. Each works tirelessly to ensure you feel valued and respected.
We are also centrally located within walking distance of museum, restaurants and pubs,shops being on our doorstep.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit with your family and thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Guys m suggesting don't choose hotel VAISHALI for your stay ...it has very bad hotel service .....they talk very sweetly but they cheat you in your bill ...n atlast if u don't agree on bill ...they fight also...so giving my best review to you is don't you ever choose this hotel ...the service they is a/c rooms but in that also they cheat by saving that light is gone ...n in generator also they don't start the a/c n they have very roudly staff ...they are so cheap that they cheat foreigner by charging them different rates at bill .. N the room service is very slow by the time you order your food they say it's on its way ,I don't know from were they get from coz they take mostly 2 hours to get the food to you but by that time our hunger dies by waiting for food ...so my last suggestion is to you guys is don't choose this hotel ...they promise that they will give you discount in your bill but by the time of checking out they don't do that..."BLOODY CHEATER "the worst hotel I seen so far is "HOTEL VAISHALI"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sagar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are always looking to improve upon our guests' experiences and take your comments to heart.
I have already had a meeting with my managers and got a clear picture of exactly what went wrong.You were continuously followed up for payment by our manger and you were not willing to pay from the very first day ,however when your credit had reached above Npr.400000 you still said you will pay on check out.On your check out you totally denied and said you have nothing to pay and you tried to fled away from the hotel.Then the managers and the security tried to stop you and didn't let your car go out of the hotel . You had threatened that you will put false review in the trip advisor and tarnish our image .However your another room guest Mr. Chakravati who was staying in 5107 paid for your swami ji and his entire room bill also and he is still staying with us in this very hotel.You even told your other room members to write against the hotel or else swamiji will be dissatisfied.
I apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and hope to have the opportunity to have you back so we can we make it right.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

we had a real presentable stay here all the staffs are very friendly. The service we had received during our stay are excellent. Good food, very clean and neat place, housekeeping is excellent. we will definitly recomand our friends about the hotel, and will request them to choose hotel vaishalli if ever they are planning to visit Nepal

Room Tip: newly renovated rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guest,
It is truly our pleasure to have welcomed you to the Hotel vaishali as our valued guest. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and i am glad to read we contributed to your positive experience.I appreciate you mentioning that the hard work of our housekeeping team is visible as they work tirelessly to keep both guest rooms and common areas spotless. We are in the process of a complete product improvement plan and this will include a complete refresh of our guest rooms . Once completed I know you will enjoy the updated, fresh new look of the guest rooms our design team is putting together for us.

Thank you and we appreciate you. Please let me know when your travels bring you back so I can welcome you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in this hotel! Fantastic and extremely substantial Breakfast and the mostly friendliest staff i have ever come across in my life! The room 3107 was incredibly comfortable and we will most definitely be back! I just wish it could be sooner.

The proximity of the shopping center and the array of restaurants around make it for an excellent stay. The staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. What a wonderful experience it was. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, it was a very pleasant experience indeed. Apologies for not knowing the name of the staffs. Our room was very well appointed and very comfortable indeed. The whole experience felt like we were encapsulated in our own little bubble. The staff are very nice, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Suite Room 3107 Is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles.

The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were happy with the location and found our team to be pleasant. All our team members are trained to give an exceptional level of service to all our guests.

We had a great time serving you and we hope you choose to stay at the Vaishali Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#73 of 198 in Kathmandu
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#68 of 198 in Kathmandu
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#52 of 198 in Kathmandu
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#104 of 198 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Property: Hotel Vaishali
Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing