We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, in need of a re-vamp”
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Ranked #110 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, in need of a re-vamp”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

In a great location, but starting to look pretty shabby. The rooms could do with some re-decorating and the air con barely works. The breakfast is some of the worst food i've ever encountered in my life. Insects were clearly visible on the buffet food tables - there's no excuse for this.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    99
    80
    37
    22
See reviews for
73
69
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed here 2 years ago due to it being included in package and back again recently. Nothing has changed. Cold showers, noisy (but that is Kathmandu) hard hard bed and a disgusting breakfast. No swimming pool (under repair). Not a lot if anything going for this place. Look to stay else where.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank molly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We had a nice big room with a large, comfortable bed and a good-sized bathroom with a bath tub which felt luxurious to soak in after weeks on the trekking trail. We did not mind that the room was shabby by international three star standards. They serve a decent breakfast although it is more fun to eat at one of the nearby restaurants, as this hotel is well-located in the popular Thamel district.
Our experience of this hotel was marred when my wallet was rifled through while my wife was sleeping. When I returned I found it empty by the door, fortunately with my passport inside. The management point-blank refused to believe that any Nepalese person could be capable of such dishonesty. The lesson: never, ever leave valuables lying around, even when you are in the room!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbski-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We have just returned from Nepal and spent our first 3 nights at the Vaishali. The location was great, right in the centre of Thamel, the staff were lovely, the rooms were adequate, but the main reason that I booked this particular hotel was the promise of a swimming pool.! Unfortunately, the pool was not in action, was a filthy green colour and the surroundings were like a building site. Apparently it has not been in use for months and there do not seen to be any plans to renovate it in the near future. It was a shame as last week was very hot, and we could have done with relaxing around a pool after all our adventures and shopping!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poglette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Impressive looking hotel from the street & in the entry foyer. Rooms a bit dated though & the bathrooms could use a re-vamp. The rooms were large but the beds quite hard (nothing out of the ordinary in Nepal though!) Be sure to have a shower when the power is on or within 5 mins of it going out or its cold showers unfortunately.
The staff were really friendly & there was one young lady at reception who was great. She spoke English very well & was able to understand our questions more so than the others.
Breakfast was ok, not great but enough choice to get at least somethings that you like. The freshly made omlettes were my pick. Room service was good although expensive in terms of the shops close by in the street.
Location is fantastic if you want to be in the heart of Thamel. The Rum Doodle resturaunt is next door & there is endless shops of all kinds to look around in.
Little secret to the hotel, go up all the stairs & onto the roof for a 360 degree panorama of Kathmandu.
In terms of Western hotels it would probably make 3 stars, but in Nepalese culture its regarded as a well-to-do hotel. Whenever we wetre asked where we were staying & we said Vaishali, the locals would be most impressed. "Very expensive nice hotel" was the common feedback from the Nepalese.
Don't go expecting full Western 4 star hotel, but if you take it for what it is, especially considering the state of most housing in Kathmandu, it a nice hotel. Was like a 5 star hotel to us when we returned from our 14 day trek though!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Living Abroad in Azerbaijan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed at Hotel Vaishali for 5 nights after a trekking trip in the Everest Region. This hotel is great for a short stay (5 nights was a bit long, but our trekking trip was cut short). The rooms are big, clean and quiet. It is not 4 stars to Western Standards, but it is good value for the money. Not to mention it is a great and central location in Thamel and a short walk to many the sights around Kathmandu.

  • Liked — LOCATION!!!!!
  • Disliked — The hotel restaurants were not great, but that is okay because a lot of restaurants/cafes around the area.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henkk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Dear travellers,

I previously wrote a review regarding "do not send postcard
by the hotel" as I can't got my postcard for half an month.
Miracle thing is happened! I received my postcard on
28 Aug 08 which is almost a one month duration.
Somehow the postcard has stamped with "Japan
Osaka." Nevertheless, it is in my wife hand which
is the objective when I write it in Nepal. Thanks to
Vaishali! But I can't find slipper in room and this
needs improvement.

  • Liked — Great location near tourist area.
  • Disliked — No slippers
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whywhy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#72 of 202 in Kathmandu
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#49 of 202 in Kathmandu
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
Mirage Lords Inn, Kathmandu
#74 of 202 in Kathmandu
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 202 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#104 of 202 in Kathmandu
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 202 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Property: Hotel Vaishali
Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vaishali is situated in Thamel -The heart of kathmandus business cultural and shopping district,just 20 minutes from the airport. Vaishali offers guests a choice of 95 centrally air-conditioned elegant modern rooms including 8 splendid suites to cater the needs of the travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing