We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,380)
Filter reviews
1,380 results
Traveller rating
421
526
291
91
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
526
291
91
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney restaurant casino royale durbar marg tennis courts swimming pool business center club floor breakfast buffet the heart of the city old palace business trip royal palace heritage hotel an oasis new wing rooms are comfortable beautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 1,380 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very welcoming and had good friendly staff rooms were clean and changed daily,i found the breakfast good enough.I have not had dinner there but my friends said it was good.My only complaint was that the bar had no athmosphere and you need to get receipts for your drinks as not to lead to problems later with change.Overall i liked it very central and i would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs at the back looking at the garden its quieter and larger suits.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgerardwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

All the rooms are old. The bathroom
Mainly, need a great renewal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

i have been to kathmandu before and yak and yeti was always my choice but this time the experience was very bad. we got a room which was smeeling badly and they gave us a twin bed for a couple when we had earlier asked for king bed.
food was ok but room service at the same time was very bad. casino was looking more of a local gambling place rather than a nice entertainment.only good thing was that its located at the best place near thamel and near market area where lot of restaurants are available.

Room Tip: take a room which is garden facing and not too far from the lift.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varunb_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We loved the location of this hotel, and in its day, it must have been a terrific property. Our room was very dated and smelled musty. When we checked other rooms, the same was true throughout. The bathrooms need some updating as the water comes out brown at times. The biggest issue we had was with the expense of wifi....$20 USD a day is ridiculous. In this day and age, that is unacceptable. It was also not available in our room, but the neighboring hotel had free internet, and we could get it from there. The staff worked hard, and we enjoyed working with them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

By global standards this place is nothing special, however, I found it to be a very comfortable and well run hotel.
It is in a central location, at the end of its own access road which is 200 m or so away from the crazy traffic on the main roads. It is therefore reasonably quiet (except for the wailing music coming from nearby 'dance clubs, none of which operates until very late).
The room was comfortable and well appointed. The TV worked and the hot water arrived when the tap was turned on. Internet was ok (although it cost USD 12.50 per day) and the room was wired with a multi-adapter socket which was good.
Breakfast (Indian and European) was ok without being exceptional. The bar is a little sterile. The atmosphere is not particularly helped by the friendly but not talented resident pianist.
The place was busy while I was there with groups of trekkers coming in and out all the time.
There is a 'club' floor on the 4th floor where breakfast and drinks/snacks (quite substantial) are put on every night. Service here is very attentive. This floor also has a pleasant boardroom which can be reserved if needed for meetings at no charge.
So whilst nothing really stands out all up it is a comfortable, reliable sort of place that I would definitely go back to.
PS
I do not recommend "The Chimney" restaurant which is attached to the hotel and is located near the Casino. Whatever claim to fame it may have had in the past has long since evaporated. There are plenty of better places to go.

Room Tip: Those with a Garden view (back of the hotel) will not hear the music from nearby clubs
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welwitschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews