We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good service”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #54 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Very nice room, good service, nice setting, good location. In a big, generally dirty and overcrowded city, this was a very nice oasis. Our first room, a standard room on the ground floor, was a little musty. Upon complaint, we were cheerfully moved to a junior suite on the 6th floor at no additional cost. Breakfasts were included and good. I suspect this hotel has enjoyed grander days, but it is very nice and far better than most accommodations we encountered throughout Nepal, Tibet and Bhutan.

Room Tip: Our first room smelled a little musty. We asked to be moved and were quickly and cheerfully upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very welcoming and had good friendly staff rooms were clean and changed daily,i found the breakfast good enough.I have not had dinner there but my friends said it was good.My only complaint was that the bar had no athmosphere and you need to get receipts for your drinks as not to lead to problems later with change.Overall i liked it very central and i would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for room upstairs at the back looking at the garden its quieter and larger suits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgerardwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

All the rooms are old. The bathroom
Mainly, need a great renewal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

i have been to kathmandu before and yak and yeti was always my choice but this time the experience was very bad. we got a room which was smeeling badly and they gave us a twin bed for a couple when we had earlier asked for king bed.
food was ok but room service at the same time was very bad. casino was looking more of a local gambling place rather than a nice entertainment.only good thing was that its located at the best place near thamel and near market area where lot of restaurants are available.

Room Tip: take a room which is garden facing and not too far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varunb_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We loved the location of this hotel, and in its day, it must have been a terrific property. Our room was very dated and smelled musty. When we checked other rooms, the same was true throughout. The bathrooms need some updating as the water comes out brown at times. The biggest issue we had was with the expense of wifi....$20 USD a day is ridiculous. In this day and age, that is unacceptable. It was also not available in our room, but the neighboring hotel had free internet, and we could get it from there. The staff worked hard, and we enjoyed working with them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

By global standards this place is nothing special, however, I found it to be a very comfortable and well run hotel.
It is in a central location, at the end of its own access road which is 200 m or so away from the crazy traffic on the main roads. It is therefore reasonably quiet (except for the wailing music coming from nearby 'dance clubs, none of which operates until very late).
The room was comfortable and well appointed. The TV worked and the hot water arrived when the tap was turned on. Internet was ok (although it cost USD 12.50 per day) and the room was wired with a multi-adapter socket which was good.
Breakfast (Indian and European) was ok without being exceptional. The bar is a little sterile. The atmosphere is not particularly helped by the friendly but not talented resident pianist.
The place was busy while I was there with groups of trekkers coming in and out all the time.
There is a 'club' floor on the 4th floor where breakfast and drinks/snacks (quite substantial) are put on every night. Service here is very attentive. This floor also has a pleasant boardroom which can be reserved if needed for meetings at no charge.
So whilst nothing really stands out all up it is a comfortable, reliable sort of place that I would definitely go back to.
PS
I do not recommend "The Chimney" restaurant which is attached to the hotel and is located near the Casino. Whatever claim to fame it may have had in the past has long since evaporated. There are plenty of better places to go.

Room Tip: Those with a Garden view (back of the hotel) will not hear the music from nearby clubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welwitschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

If u wanna stay at the best place in kathmandu attached to a casino yak and yeti is a pretty decent place . Perhaps the most popular too. Amazing place and the very cheerful and efficent staff. Casino Royale definitely is the highlight of this place and is pretty good. Yak and yeti other wise is located right in the heart of the city and is quite a spcious and huge place. The restaurants have variety and business centres and banquets are pretty huge.
The place also has quite a royal and palatial feel to it. Makes it more fun.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#31 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#93 of 210 in Kathmandu
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £106 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing