We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveller rating
415
520
287
89
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
520
287
89
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chimney restaurant casino royale durbar marg tennis courts swimming pool business center club floor breakfast buffet the heart of the city old palace business trip royal palace heritage hotel garden view an oasis new wing rooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,039 - 1,044 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Yak and Yeti twice, one night each, during our trip in Nepal. The decor is very rich and distinctly Nepalese.

We stayed at rooms of different wings in the hotel. The first room quite aged - the decor makes the room quite cozy and warm, though my family thought it was too dark because of the wood and brick decor wall. However, the bathroom definitely need some renovation. That said, the bathroom is quite clean (considering the condition with the aged-ness of the bathroom, housekeeping has done a good job).

The second room we stayed in was more modern, similar to the average 3-4 star hotel elsewhere). The bathroom is a lot brighter and equipment much newer. However, I found the older, "shabbier" room had more tasteful and distinct decor.

Unfortunately, I don't remember which wing is which.

The breakfast buffet had a great selection, and there was even an omelette station. The coffee is quite good too - the aromas were nicely extracted.

All the staff are very courteous and helpful, expected of a 5-star hotel.

The hotel offers Nepalese rupee for exchange, but there is an exchange shop on the little street just outside the hotel at a more preferable rate.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Staying at these Hotel is the best thing you can do at Kathmandu.
- Clean
- Friendly Staff
- Nice and great Location for anything you are going to do in Kathmandu
- Big Room
- New Rooms
- Nice food (International Buffet )
- Quality Value are ok compering for other cheap hotel

I really liked the place and hardly recommended for any Business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhmedBaghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here three nights – nice 3+ star hotel. The room was a bit dark (lots of wood), but large with a nice garden view. Décor was thoroughly Nepalese and Asian. Room and bathroom were clean, but bathroom showed wear (tile grout, tub caulk, fixtures). Lobby, Business Center, and common areas were very nice and well-kept. Had no problems with the reasonably-priced services in the Business Center. Extensive gardens behind hotel are very impressive – especially the large swimming pool (in a city with little potable water). Breakfasts were nicely served, with an impressive variety of Asian and “somewhat Western” choices – quality and quantity were well above average. Had absolutely no problems with currency, communications, or arrangements with hotel staff. Will probably stay again on next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SchrodingerCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The staff was more than helpful during my stay and the facilities are beautiful. I found an excellent price on the net, which made it an especially great deal. Also at the hotel, one can arrange for Mountain Flight, a chance to see Mount Everest, close-up. It's within walking distance to shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsnmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have stayed at Yak & Yeti a few times. Like the location. It's close to Thamel and
everything, but also secluded. Love their garden. The regular restaurant has a great buffet
breakfast and lunch. Especially like the Chimney Room and their Russiian Borscht soup.
Rooms and service were good. Like the old royal atmosphere. One of my favorites.

Room Tip: Room facing the garden
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GorakShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews