We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceded expectation”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #47 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exceded expectation”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Reception was good, welcome drink on arrival. Check in was a breeze. The location of the hotel is near Thamel but still in a quiet area, with plenty of new/modern shops. At night the walk to Thamel is a bit tricky.
The breakfast is excellent, though the waiters could be more attentive with serving coffee or tea. The rooms are nice. My room was in need of some updating, especially the power plugs; there was no easy access to a power point to charge my shaver or laptop etc. Bathroom need some updating too, but it was clean and comfortable. Very quiet at night and the king size bed was really comfortable. I would go there again; but I would look for a good offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    411
    234
    74
    38
See reviews for
150
224
123
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Yak and Yeti twice, one night each, during our trip in Nepal. The decor is very rich and distinctly Nepalese.

We stayed at rooms of different wings in the hotel. The first room quite aged - the decor makes the room quite cozy and warm, though my family thought it was too dark because of the wood and brick decor wall. However, the bathroom definitely need some renovation. That said, the bathroom is quite clean (considering the condition with the aged-ness of the bathroom, housekeeping has done a good job).

The second room we stayed in was more modern, similar to the average 3-4 star hotel elsewhere). The bathroom is a lot brighter and equipment much newer. However, I found the older, "shabbier" room had more tasteful and distinct decor.

Unfortunately, I don't remember which wing is which.

The breakfast buffet had a great selection, and there was even an omelette station. The coffee is quite good too - the aromas were nicely extracted.

All the staff are very courteous and helpful, expected of a 5-star hotel.

The hotel offers Nepalese rupee for exchange, but there is an exchange shop on the little street just outside the hotel at a more preferable rate.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Staying at these Hotel is the best thing you can do at Kathmandu.
- Clean
- Friendly Staff
- Nice and great Location for anything you are going to do in Kathmandu
- Big Room
- New Rooms
- Nice food (International Buffet )
- Quality Value are ok compering for other cheap hotel

I really liked the place and hardly recommended for any Business trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedBaghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here three nights – nice 3+ star hotel. The room was a bit dark (lots of wood), but large with a nice garden view. Décor was thoroughly Nepalese and Asian. Room and bathroom were clean, but bathroom showed wear (tile grout, tub caulk, fixtures). Lobby, Business Center, and common areas were very nice and well-kept. Had no problems with the reasonably-priced services in the Business Center. Extensive gardens behind hotel are very impressive – especially the large swimming pool (in a city with little potable water). Breakfasts were nicely served, with an impressive variety of Asian and “somewhat Western” choices – quality and quantity were well above average. Had absolutely no problems with currency, communications, or arrangements with hotel staff. Will probably stay again on next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrodinger Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The staff was more than helpful during my stay and the facilities are beautiful. I found an excellent price on the net, which made it an especially great deal. Also at the hotel, one can arrange for Mountain Flight, a chance to see Mount Everest, close-up. It's within walking distance to shopping.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsnmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have stayed at Yak & Yeti a few times. Like the location. It's close to Thamel and
everything, but also secluded. Love their garden. The regular restaurant has a great buffet
breakfast and lunch. Especially like the Chimney Room and their Russiian Borscht soup.
Rooms and service were good. Like the old royal atmosphere. One of my favorites.

Room Tip: Room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GorakShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel supposed to be 5 stars deluxe hotel but according to Europe standards i think it was 2 stars, maximum 3 stars, hotel. It was very well sited, near Thamel and the local market. The reception and the public spaces were impressive but the rooms and especially the bathrooms were insufficient. We stayed the first 2 days and the last day of our trip. Our 1st room was cold (the air-condition did not work and we used a fan heater) while the second one was quite hot. The breakfast was poor. In general, the hotel needs renovation. if I will ever visit Kathmandu again, i will search for a better hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella_ikonomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#71 of 198 in Kathmandu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Property: Hotel Yak & Yeti
Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing