We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel at affordable price”
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Ranked #55 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

it was really a nice hotel. the view from the hotel is really beautiful. hotel staff were very helpful and nice. breakfast is good. they charges really high price for wifi connectivity and there is no free wifi zone even in public area. otherwise its a good value for money hotel and the location is really good. there is a casino on the backside of the hotel.

Room Tip: alwayas go for gardenview rooms which is really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nskfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were on our own in Kathmandu and couldn't have felt safer at the Yak and Yeti and in it's immediate neighborhood (we're seniors). The decor was very old world eastern and we loved it. The bathrooms are due for an upgrade, but everything is spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The dining was excellent, and the garden was a lovely surprise. We'd go back any day.

Room Tip: ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandalf974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Each time we visit Kathmandu, we find a nice little hotel in Thamel (the heart of the tourist district) to stay in prior to, and after, our trek. Nothing fancy. But when we return to town, after our trek, we gather up our group and walk down to the Yak & Yeti for the dinner buffet. Last time we invited our Sherpa guide (who was visiting his children in school after the trek) and his wife to join us.
The buffet, which is around $20 USD (as I recall) was amazing! So many different dishes to sample! Everything was delicious. It seems that after a long trek in the mountains, we are always more concerned with hot water showers and good food (anything but fried eggs and french fries) than the nature of the room architecture or quality of the lighting. Having said that, the dining area and entrance area are very beautiful - lots of polished local wooden beams, big rugs, and a shiny black grand piano.
The Yak & Yeti is always the place we go for a well-earned semi-formal sit down meal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I liked the Yak and Yeti for lots of reasons.

It is a standard 4* sort of hotel with decent beds where you can sleep off your jet lag. There is a kettle and supplies so that you can brew your own tea and coffee when you wake up - and something really good that more hotels should consider – the Y and Y give you a couple of bottles of drinking water each day. Fantastic idea! How many times have I been gasping in some weird place where I have to tramp around bleary eyed, trying to find suitable drinking water that wont cost an arm and leg and wont poison me??

The bedrooms have clearly had a bit of a make over recently but the bathrooms could do with a refurb and show distinct signs of wear and tear. Having said that, everything works adequately and is clean

The food is not the most imaginative. On the other hand nor will it poison you and the staff are obliging and helpful. I especially enjoyed being saluted smartly by the doorman every time I came in and went out! It was like being transported back to the days of the Raj….and I loved it! The Chimney restaurant provides a delightful westernised meal for those who are missing their home cuisines. We ate there twice and it was good, well served, well balanced ect , if slightly pricey

I have seen other reviews about noise at this hotel and I took particular note with regards to this point. Yes, there is a loud disco that faces the front of the hotel and this is intrusive, especially over the weekends. I therefore requested a garden facing room as suggested by another review and was pleased that I had. However, being a country full of gentle people who live and let live, there was a real pigeon problem so don’t be surprised to find them roosting (and more…!) on your windowsill!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms will avoid the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Im not sure why this hotel is labelled as a 5 star resort? Definately is misleading as the hotel is very old now and it shows. The rooms are musky and in a lot of need of a makeover. The beds are a terrible sleep and could use with some new pillows, sheets, etc. Bathroom amenities too were out of the stone age. Everywhere we went on the hotel grounds looked as if it was dilapidated and old. The food downstairs was very average and lacked in variety and taste. I think on the top side, the location is quite good and staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Better places to choose in Kathmandu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philbert09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good service, great location, good property, rooms are clean & spcious - but not very modern. Great according to Kathmandu standards though.

Room Tip: They have great garden facing rooms - ask for one. its worth it @ no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayushmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Reception was good, welcome drink on arrival. Check in was a breeze. The location of the hotel is near Thamel but still in a quiet area, with plenty of new/modern shops. At night the walk to Thamel is a bit tricky.
The breakfast is excellent, though the waiters could be more attentive with serving coffee or tea. The rooms are nice. My room was in need of some updating, especially the power plugs; there was no easy access to a power point to charge my shaver or laptop etc. Bathroom need some updating too, but it was clean and comfortable. Very quiet at night and the king size bed was really comfortable. I would go there again; but I would look for a good offer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#36 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#64 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#99 of 210 in Kathmandu
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#22 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: £102 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing